Open Your Eyes and Shut Your Mouth!

I like to think I’m fairly in the know about pop culture… some embarrassingly so and some reallllllyyyy beneficial.  For example, on the reallllllyyyy beneficial side, I totes know that Snooki is pregnant.  I haven’t watched a single episode of her reality show, but it’s been pretty much plastered all over the news, so now that’s taking up valuable realty in my noggin.  I also happen to know that the movie, The Artist won the Best Picture Oscar this year.  I also know that it is a black and white, silent film… in the year 2012… something that I’m sure everyone was dying to run out and see.  I wouldn’t have wanted to see it had it not won the top movie prize of the year… it sounded boring to me… boring and old… but because it won, I needed to see it just to see what all the hype was about.  You know that saying curiosity killed the cat?  Replace Whitney with the word cat and you’ll know the reason I’m going to die one day… a cat will probably eat me.  This past Saturday evening, I did just that… errrr… went to the movie, not got eaten by a cat.

Things I Learned from The Artist:

– I need to shut up 50% more than I do.  Who wants to watch a movie where no one talks?  In this time of cell phones and iPads and computing systems and robotic aliens… no one in their right mind ever shuts the heck up for more than 20 minutes at a time.  Even when sleeping, you have your sleep talkers and your snorers.  We’ll all jabber until they shut us up by throwing us down a 6-foot hole and shoveling dirt into our pie holes!  I’m already talking to myself at the age of 33.  Watch out nursing homes!  This movie had 2 short lines of dialogue… period… and yet it was just as effective as a “talkie.”

– Pride can be the downfall of the best of us.  It’s not worth it.  Drop it and move on!

– Some dogs are cute… Sue me… I’m a cat person.  Talk to the many dogs who bit me when I had a paper route years ago!   Rabies shots were my norm!  Uggy, the dog, was super cute though!

–  Pencil-thin mustaches creep me out.  Shave, for goodness sakes!

– Never pretend you’re hugging a man’s suit coat… he will inevitably walk in on you… egg on your face!

– Tap dancing makes me happy.

It was a charming movie.  There were some in the group who did not like the movie… AT ALL… coughcoughDadcoughcough.  But, I think that’s mostly because there were no machine guns, dudes driving sports cars, and not once did John Wayne show up on his trusty steed.  I, however, found it quite enjoyable.  Old-fashioned and quaint and clean (no swear words… y’all… IMAGINE!) and did I mention charming?  It totes brought me back to simpler times… and we could all use a little bit of that!

Question of the Day:  Have you seen The Artist?  What was your favorite movie this year? 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Little Things

5 responses to “Open Your Eyes and Shut Your Mouth!

  1. Avster

    That is kind of a creepy mustache. He doesn’t look good with it.

    ha ha ha! Your dad’s reaction brought back the memory of my quiet uncle going on a tirade on a tirade about Pride and Prejudice.
    “I shall forever more be known as Mr. Darcy. Oh, Mr. Darcy, Mr. Darcy! All that movie needed in it was Clint Eastwood to ride through and have a good gun fight.”

  2. cl2

    Haven’t seen it–don’t plan to. I saw A LOT of movies this year–more than I usually see–so I can’t really pick. I can’t even remember all the ones I saw. The King’s Speech was excellent. My daughter was so happy they made a PG13 one. I did like I believe it was Larry Crowne with Tom Hanks–one of my favs was “Tinker, Tailor, Solider, Spy.” The Help–How could I forget The Help!

    Talking of John Wayne–what is it with men and John Wayne, but I love him, too. My dad looked almost identical to John Wayne. My kids informed me of that. My dad loved John Wayne. When we were young, before he had a rremote control, he’d call us in to turn the channel for him and he’d always say, “Find me a John Wayne movie.” This was before cable.

  3. Natalie

    Exactly, thats why I can’t go see it until it’s on DVD at my house. No aliens, no zombies, not falling out of a burning car over a skyscraper during the apocalypse. I still want to see it. Just because it won awards. So it’s good to hear a review from someone that wanted to see it for the same reason and liked it.

  4. I haven’t seen it, but I just might have to now. I am a little afraid that the no dialogue bit might put me to sleep (you know me and movies 🙂 ) However, “Shaun the Sheep” doesn’t have any words and it is totally a hit around here. Next time you are watching little ones, you should try it out 🙂

  5. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: Have you seen The Artist? What was your favorite movie this year?

    I have not seen The Artist.

    Favorite movie so far this year…?
    Hmmm….
    Not sure.
    I really like a lot of movies but they are the family friendly kind.

Leave a Reply

