The Muffin of Oz…

I’m addicted… addicted to leafing through magazines and cookbooks and tearing out recipes… ADDICTED!  It’s an illness, really… pretty sure of it.  I think they call it GETALIFE-ITIS!  Most nights you’ll find me looking through at least one magazine/cookbook… except with the cookbooks I don’t feel it’s right to tear out the recipe, so instead I dogear the page.  I know what you book snobs are going to say… QUIT DOGEARRING THE PAGES, YOU SCHMUCK!  And I’d totes agree, except that I don’t.  Basically by the time I’m done looking through the cookbook I’ve dogeared at LEAST every other page, which when you think about it, is just as stupid as stupid can be… why the crimeny pants did I need to dogear all them pages when every frigging page is dogeared!?!?!?!?!?  Wouldn’t it have just been easier to write down the page number of the recipe I wanted to try and stuck it in my recipe folder or you know… use that handy dandy index they got going on in the back of the book?  I rarely use my brainium holder for things other than keeping my skull from caving in on itself.

There’s also the fact that recipes from magazines and cookbooks is so 1993.  There’s this little thing called the Internet… and they have a TON of recipes hanging out on this sucker… but it just ain’t the same to browse the internet for recipes.  Plus, when my computer broke, they reinstalled Windows and now for the life of me I cannot find my dagnabbed printer installation disc, so I can’t install my printer and it’s purpose these days is basically a very large paper weight… stupid printer disc!

The latest recipe I tried was courtesy of Dr. Oz and Good Housekeeping magazine… because when you think of Dr. Oz you immediately think about housekeeping.  I LOVE muffins!!!!!!!  Especially those muffins you can buy at the grocery store that are the size of your whole entire head!  Oh my laws, those things are delicious… but they are also approximately 8 billion calories for one muffin, which is great every once in a while… but for breakfast on most normal days?  Forget about it!  I came across this Dr. Oz muffin and it was filled with all this healthy wealthy stuff and so I bit and made them… or a variation of them.  They were originally supposed to be cranberry-lemon muffins… but do you have any idea how hard it is to find fresh or frozen cranberries this time of year!?!?!?!?  They don’t exist… and I’m pretty sure the delectable jellied cranberries they have in the can would not be an appropriate substitute.  Instead, I made them raspberry-lemon muffins.

  • 1 cup(s) old-fashioned oats
  • 3/4 cup(s) cranberries (raspberries)
  • 1/4 cup(s) agave syrup
  • 1 1/2 cup(s) white whole-wheat flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoon(s) baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon(s) salt
  • 1 cup(s) almond milk
  • 1/4 cup(s) canola oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon(s) freshly grated lemon peel

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Lightly coat 12-cup muffin tin with nonstick baking spray.
  2. In food processor or blender, pulse oats until finely ground. Transfer to large bowl. In same processor, pulse cranberries and 1 tablespoon agave syrup until chopped.
  3. Into bowl with oats, whisk flour, baking powder, and salt. In medium bowl, whisk almond milk, oil, egg, lemon peel, and remaining 3 tablespoons agave until well blended. Add almond-milk mixture to flour mixture and stir until just mixed. Fold in cranberry mixture.
  4. Divide batter among muffin cups. Bake 25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan on wire rack 5 minutes, then remove from pan. Serve warm or at room temperature. Muffins can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 days or frozen for up to 1 month. Reheat in toaster oven or microwave.

Each muffin came out to approximately 150 calories… no sugar (just the agave syrup).  They were okay… a little on the dry side after day one… but I don’t think I’d ever crave these suckers like I do those 8-billion calorie muffins!  Back to the muffin drawing board… sorry, Dr. Oz… you won’t get a brain, a heart, or a courage from these here muffins!

Question of the Day:  What’s your favorite muffin flavor?  Anyone have any good lower calorie muffin recipes (preferrably under 150 calories per muffin)?  

7 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

7 responses to “The Muffin of Oz…

  1. cl2

    I like banana nut muffins probably the most. Can’t stand chunks of blueberries in muffins. Chop them fruit up enough. I actually do like muffins, but usually don’t eat them because they make such a mess. Is that crazy? Trying to get that last part out of the muffin paper. Just more of pain than anything. I used to make some bran muffins that everyone liked (my kids and ex especially liked eating the batter)–but they have a lot of oil in them.

    Oh–and you asked what we are going to do daily to improve our lives–yesterday–that overwhelmed me. I keep trying to get out to walk. I at least did yard work yesterday.

  2. Avster

    Yup, I can atest to your addiction to magazines and ripping out pages as I have been the recipient of one of the torn out pages! 😉

    I’m not a huge muffin eater…

  3. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomToTwo

    Another gorgeous photo, Whitney.

    Question of the Day: What’s your favorite muffin flavor? Anyone have any good lower calorie muffin recipes (preferrably under 150 calories per muffin)?

    I love muffins too but I am on low carbs right now so I haven’t been having any. I still make them for my family – they like most any kinds ( blueberry, mixed berry, banana, choc chip, cranberry – lemon, cinnamon swirl…etc..).
    I do make them healthier than I used to by substituting the oil for applesauce and I do sneak in some golden flax seed as well. They can’t tell the difference but I know they are healthier.
    I even made them lemon cupcakes yesterday and I haven’t been tempted to have one. There are still 7 left on the plate on the table ( which won’t last long around here ) but I haven’t had any.
    I really like the Spice Cake Pumpkin Muffins that are popular right now on MFP and Pinterest but I haven’t made them in awhile.

    When I need a muffin fix I make a recipe a friend gave me for Flax Meal Muffin In A Minute.
    Spray a coffee cup/mug and pour in 1 egg ( lightly mixed ), 1/4 cup flaxmeal
    ( which is flax seed blended up fine), 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. real butter, 1/2 tsp. baking soda, and a packet of Splenda ( optional).
    * for me – I use regular flax seed and don’t bother with the flax meal ( it is just another step in my opinion )
    * I don’t use artificial sweeteners like Splenda so I leave that part out and substitute fruit or dried fruit or even semi-sweet chocolate chips
    ** If you add fruit etc you will have to cook it a little bit longer.
    ~~ It isn’t exactly like a muffin but it helps to curb the cravings and doesn’t ruin my days worth of carbs.

  4. YUM! Oh that sounds so good! I love muffins, and cakes, and cookies… and pie…. Don’t know about a good low-cal recipe though. 😦

  5. Deanna

    My name is Deanna and I am addicted to recipe collecting too…. HAHAA!!! We should start a support group. In which all members best show up with a new recipe to share with the group. Make copies for everyone please!

    That looks delicious. Saving for future reference now! I have a lot of good recipes that I could send ya! Muffins – yep! How about a Rhubarb Lemon muffin? Are you a Greek Yogurt fan? How about a healthy oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe that utilizes greek yogurt? OH! I have a healthy zucchini nut muffin recipe under 150 cals. Oh good grief…I could just keep on going!

  6. Froggy1976

    On a side note and I know I’m late but you can usually download the printer drivers for free from the manufacturers website. Didn’t know if you knew, maybe it will help?

Leave a Reply

