Nothing to See Here… Just A Regular Day In My World…

I have absolutely no earthly clue why I persist on embarrassing myself on this here blog.  Most people would want to paint themselves as some demure Queenish specimen… instead I’m pretty sure I’ve painted a vivid picture of the overall-wearing, hay-chewing, gomer-looking dude from that old TV show, Hee Haw.  

I also have a big mouth and my brain-to-mouth filter broke down YEARS ago.  Instead, I just jabber endlessly and then think about it later… usually kicking myself for saying stupid things without thinking.  It’s a vicious cycle… I like to call it spewing stupidity.  So, now that I’ve prefaced this with a huge long thing about how I shouldn’t even be doling out this information about myself to peoples on the Interwebs, here’s what went down.

I went on a bike ride tonight.  It was like 80 degrees and pretty much beautiful… my dream temperature right there (it won’t last long).  While I was pedaling along, I came across a tree that I absolutely had to stop and get a picture of… forget you heart rate… there are photo ops to be had… it was a dagnabbed Kodak moment!  So, I stopped the ole bike and laid it down where the pavement met the curb.  Then, I jaunted across this grassy place to get a better picture angle, passed a bunch of folks lounging on the grassy area… a pregnant woman with her husband and 3 kids… some dude talking animatedly on a cell phone, a gaggle of teeny bopper girls gaggling… you know… the usual.

I got my pictures and ventured back to my bike, trying to look all like I was some professional biking star with my ugly bike helmet that makes me look like a walrus stuffed into a thimble.  So, I’m walking past all these people back to the curb where my bike sits; I pick up my bike, get on the sucker, and just as I’m bringing my foot from the curb to the pedal to start off, my foot misses the pedal and this HUGE gust of wind crops up and then this big hairy dude wearing an ape suit walks by and pushes me over before I know it I find myself lying on my side on the ground with my bike lying on top of me.  You know how when you do something incredibly stupid in front of a group of people and you’re already humiliated, so you just try to make it look like you did it on purpose?  As I was falling, all of these thoughts of how I was going to make this look cool raced through my head… I finally settled on the sneak shoelace tying, which would have been a great idea and all, but by the time I got my bearings, the bike off of me, and onto my knee so that I could tie my shoes, I realized I was wearing the shoes without laces… velcro.  So, instead I just pretended I was doing a Tim Tebow (aka Tebowing):

Because that’s how we bike stars roll…   Some random girl in the park with a bike lying on top of her always stops to Tebow.

Lessons learned:  I now know why bike helmets are beneficial… while most people use theirs in case they get hit by a car or run over by a train… Whitney uses hers for when she tips over and hits her head.

The scuffed up elbow will heal up… the pride, on the other hand… gonna take a few decades!  Call me when they get my adult-sized tricycle built, would ya’?

Question of the Day:  What’s the last embarrassing thing you did?

24 Comments

Filed under Exercise

24 responses to “Nothing to See Here… Just A Regular Day In My World…

  1. cl2

    Last? I fall all the time. One of these days I’m concerned as I’m not young anymore. I’ve broken both feet (one twice). That fall at the rest stop a few months ago was SOMETHING. But i’ve also fallen off my bike many years ago, but falling is one of those things that catches you totally by surprise.

    Oh–this was a good one. I was in Wal-Mart a few days ago. I was trying to get my wallet out of my purse. I keep ALL my stray change in my purse and there is A LOT of it. I tipped my purse wrong and most of that change ended up on the floor. People in the line moved to another line. The checker helped me pick it up. It took a while. I need to go empty out most of the change before I go to a store today!

    • Excuse those people who just changed lines and didn’t even bother to help you pick the change up! That is what is wrong with some people these days! Falling does totally catch you by surprise… and then it’s too late to do anything about it!

  2. Deanna

    We went to a BYU football game and instead of walking around a locked gate we try climbing over. well my pants get stuck on one of the top barbs and I can’t move. I’m just hanging there feet in the air and head down. My husband is laughing so hard he can’t even help me. By the time I finally get down there is a big rip in the crotch of my pants so the embarrassment doesn’t end as I have to walk back to the motel with this huge hole in my pants, EMBRASSING!

    • Oh my laws… I have so totally had the split pants problem and it is so embarrassing… but yours sounds extra brutal. Of course leave it to the Wade brothers to laugh instead of help!! That sounds exactly like something my dad would do!

  3. Karen

    Am brailn dead about most embarrassing moment, but I did laugh our load reading your blog this morning and that was refreshing. Hopfully I can laugh with you nor at you. Thanks for a great start to a day.

  4. christie

    If it helps, the tree pic is beautiful…totally worth it!

  5. Avster

    Ooh! That shot was definitely worth the embarrasment!

    Last embarrasing thing I did… er… nope, not sayin’… it has something to do with forgetting I have a male co-worker…

    • Avster

      About a week and a half a go while I was parking the car at grocery store I saw a mid-thirties looking lady trip and succeed in bring down her very full cart of groceries with her.
      By the time I was out of the car there were two other people helping her, so I walked by as I didn’t want to cause her further embarrassment by letting her know more than two people saw her fall…

    • OUCH!!!!!! I’m cringing for that poor lady with the grocery cart!! How nice that people rushed to help her, though…

      As for your embarrassing forgetting that you have a male co-worker story… um… maybe you need to wipe off your glasses… I’m just saying!

  6. dessawade

    The picture was totally worth the embarrassment Whit! Beautiful!

  7. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomToTwo

    Oooo pretty pic!
    Question of the Day: What’s the last embarrassing thing you did?

    Halloween night. Walking the kids down the street from door to door they stepped off the curb to cross over and go down the other side of the street. Have to make sure to hit every house, ya know!
    I was talking or thinking or something and stepped off the curb and missed. I went down on my one hip and my hands & forearm. My kids and husband glanced back and I was down so naturally they start laughing at me. Thanks a lot – that really helps. But by then I was laughing too b/c I didn’t know how it happened and they wanted to know…
    I know I was talking to my daughter. I know I stepped off the curb. I know it goes down and then goes back up where they resurfaced. I don’ t know but apparently I didn’t go back up and tripped. That is my best guess anyway. Clumsy is what it is…it happens.
    I stepped off a curb 2 summers ago after picking up my kids at the gym and stepped down wrong. It was a tall curb. I don’t have any idea why I stepped down on the side of my ankle – O U C H ! That was sore for a few days. Apparently, I can’t talk and walk or walk and chew gum at the same time….or someone is going to get hurt.

    • OUCH!!!!! The turned ankle thing is totally something that freaks me out because I’m always sure I’m going to break my ankle. As for your kids laughing at your clumsy misfortune… that sounds like something I would have done with my mother! But glad they laughed WITH you and not at you!

  8. Adrienne

    I swear I have the same bike as Calvin… http://www.fuccit.com/calvin-and-hobbes

  9. Too funny! I am sure you made it look graceful and purposeful 🙂
    The picture is amazing!!!!

  10. I’m late (as usual), but here is a really yummy muffin recipe (Sorry I don’t know how many calories it is, but I got the recipe from weight watchers and it is 3 points–so it is not too high in calories)

    Banana Muffins with Tart Lemon Icing
    ½ cup sugar 5 Tbsp. unsalted butter, softened
    1 large egg 1 tsp. vanilla
    2 cups flour 2 tsp. baking powder
    1 tsp. baking soda ¼ cup skim milk
    4 large bananas, ripe, mashed

    Icing
    1 cup powdered sugar
    1 Tbsp. butter, softened
    1 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice
    1 tsp. lemon zest strips, or more to taste
    1 tsp. vanilla

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 18 muffin holes with paper liners.

    Place sugar and butter in a large bowl: cream with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla; beat until thoroughly mixed.

    In another large bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and baking soda. Add half of flour mixture to butter mixture; beat well with mixer. Add milk and remaining flour mixture. Beat until batter is combined and then fold in mashed bananas.

    Spoon batter into muffin liners about ¾ full. Bake until muffins start to brown and a tester inserted in center of a muffin comes out clean, about 25 to 30 minutes. Allow muffins to cool in pan for about 2 minutes; remove to a wire rack and cool completely before icing.

    Meanwhile, combine icing ingredients in a medium bowl; beat with an electric mixer until creamy, about 1-2 minutes. Ice cooled muffins; cover and refrigerate any uneaten muffins.

    • Oh my laws… you are a rockstar!! Banana bread is like my favorite and add lemon on top of that… that’s pretty much a heavenly dish right there. Definitely going to have to give this one a go! Thank you, friend!

  11. Love the photo!

    Embarrassing moment:

    My husband’s boss invited several families to his lake house. We decided to join them. I’m funny about using people’s bathroom towels, since many people wipe their hands on them, so I prefer to wipe mine on a paper towel, or something I can toss. After using the restroom and washing my hands, I looked for something disposable to wipe off my hands. I resorted to using toilet paper. After that, I went upstairs to help out in the kitchen. The bosses wife greeted my kindly with my offer and handed me a stack of clean dishes to put in the cabinet. When I reached out to take them, there was wet toilet paper dangling from my finger. Although I noticed it right away and tried to hide that finger, I could tell by the mortified look on her face that she saw it. She thanked me for helping and told me she had the rest covered.

Leave a Reply

