Flower Power…

Dang… now I have that annoying Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle theme song running circles through my brain-ium… don’t tell me you don’t know which song I’m talking about… Heroes in a half shell… Turtle Power!  I thought so.  If I go insane by the end of this post, you will know what to tell the officers… I done been braniumed to death by Turtle Power!!

Because I worked Saturday and Sunday last weekend, I had a day to take off this past week.  I chose Fridee since that’s the day both Madre and sister Lindsay have off every week… y’all, for seriously feel bad for them and their perma 3-day weekends… for seriously!  I have wanted to go to Salt Lake City to see the tulip festival for years now, but I’d never been able to make it, so now that I’m supposed to be all vibrant and life-like, I made it a point to get there this year!  No matter that we had a cold front pour in on Thursdee night and snow on Fridee morning… no matter that there was wind chill going on and Dorothy and Toto’s house almost dropped from the sky clear from Kansas… no matter… I was going!  Come helium balloons or high water!

The tulip festival is held at a place called Thanksgiving Point… which if you asked Lindsay is the point where the Pilgrims and the Indians meet each year to eat bird bones and pumpkin pie.  I think she was most shocked that there was not one giant dude dressed like a turkey walking around the Thanksgiving Point place.  Maybe next time, Lindser… maybe next time (ps… anyone have a turkey suit I could rent?).  We’ve all lived in Utah for many moons, but heck if we’d ever been to the Point before.  We prefer to live in our ignorance.  Turns out Thanksgiving Point has pretty much nothing to do with Thanksgiving or yams and much more to do with stuff that’s not that.  I still am not sure what the helium balloon the point is all about, but I do know they have some fabulous looking, manicured grounds and gardens.

I almost wore these to take the tour… I totes would have if they’d had the million dollars they said they’d give me if I wore them.  At the entrance to the gardens, you had the option of driving a golf cart around to view the stuff… it’s a long butt walk.  Lindsay was all gung ho for the golf cart… mostly because I’m sure she wanted to see if she could drive it into a waterway… sink or float?  200 plus pounds ago, that would have been my only option… that or sit in the car.  We decided against it and went for the walk, which was totally the way to do it… or you could have been like that one chick who nearly ran us over when she rented segways she didn’t know how to operate downhill.

Lindser chillin’ by some flower power…

Madre and her favorite lilacs!  I had to restrain her from stealing these things… and I missed her when she picked 2 pansies… because they would “die” soon.  Seriously y’all… for serious!

There were waterfalls…

There were flowers and vegetation pretty much everywhere you looked… and it totes looked good enough to eat, said the polka dotted-eared bunny rabbit!  Although, next time I am going earlier in the season.  We went the day before the last day and a lot of the tulips were either dead, blown off from the wind and rain the previous night, or rough looking… there was still a lot to look at, though!

There were approximately 8 bajillion kids wearing red shirts… obviously some sort of school field trip.  Either that or field trip day at the juvenile detention center!  They obviously also did not get the memo that it was frigid… no coats and shirt sleeves?  When Madre was wearing 2 shirts, a cardigan, and 2 winter coats?  Sacrilege!?!?!  😛  They acted like they’d never been out of doors before, running around and causing ruckus amongst the tulip people.

Madre and Lindsay at the entrance to the vine-covered walkway.

I need to go back to these gardens when it’s warmer… I’d totally spend more time sitting on benches and taking in the beauty rather than trying to rush through it to get to the warmth.  I’m not sure that Lindsay and Madre enjoyed it as much as I did, but a day in the beauty of nature is always at the top of my list… always!

Part 2 of 3:  Lunch at the Trellis Cafe in tomorrow’s post!

Question of the Day:  What is your favorite flower?  Utahans/Idahoans… have you ever been to the tulip festival?

14 Comments

Filed under Family, Getting A Life

14 responses to “Flower Power…

  1. Favorite flower… the purple water lily. Not only is it gorgeous, it grows in very dirty, or polluted waters. They convert pollution into something reusable by nature and humans.The purple water lily is an example of how powerful God’s nature is – to grow from dirty soil in dirty polluted water and to produce beauty.

  2. Natalie

    That looks fun! You are looking cuter and cuter.

  3. cl2

    Haven’t been there–I have an old roommate who lives right by there and has invited me to come down, but haven’t been. I like hibiscus and just recently–hydrangeas. I’m going to see if I can get one to grow here. They are all over in Colorado with HUGE flowers (not yet, but in the summer). Beautiful.

    • I love hydrangeas!! I used to work at the K-Mart garden department in the summers for years and we always had a couple of those… but no one would dare buy them, afraid that they couldn’t make them grow in this climate. You will have to let me know if it works out!

  4. Avster

    I’m not certain I can choose a favorite flower… I like a lot of them. I do love gladiolis… and pansies… and cosmos… and zinnias… and nasturtiums… and lupine… and clematis… and hydrangas…

    Remind me to never let your mother visit when my lilacs are blooming.

  5. Beautiful! I have never been to the gardens at Thanksgiving Point, I’ve thought about it a few times though. Maybe someday 🙂
    I have to say tulips are one of my very favorite flowers! I love a good daisy too.

  6. deannawade@gmail.com

    I havent been there but its on my list. If you love flowers and what can be done with them you need to “pop” over to Belarus. HaHa But seriously they used flowers everywhere, in everything, and in fantastic designs. I love tulips, lilacs, and of course roses.

    • Haha… I’d love to pop over to Belarus, but obviously I’m going to need a couple of tour guides to take me on the flower tour… I may have a couple of relations in mind! 😛

  7. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomToTwo

    Looks like a really nice time. Something I would totally do!

    Question of the Day: What is your favorite flower?

    Oh gosh, I don’t think I could pick just one flower.
    Love my daffodils and lilacs.
    Love my iris and peony.
    I am picky about roses and only like tea roses and blue roses.
    Crepe Myrtle blooms, Zinnia, snapdragons, petunia, begonia, daisies, and black-eyed susan are also among my favorites.

  8. Pingback: Persistence… It’s What’s For Dinner… « craving a life

Leave a Reply

