Y’all… Hamburger Meat Minus the Cow Parts…

For anyone who has been a long-time follower of this blog, you may or may not (I blabber A LOT!) remember how I’d been craving sloppy joes… so much so that I tried to invent a new vegetarian-friendly sloppy joe recipe, which included mashing up a bag of frozen carrots/broccoli/cauliflower and stirring the sauce into it.  Needless to say, I ate some of that weird butt concoction and had that convulsing reaction where you want to spit it out but you want to be an adult and eat it anyway, so your face contorts into these weird shapes and stays that way for at least 15 minutes after you’ve swallowed?  You know what I’m talking about.

It was horrible!  It gives me shivers just thinking about it.  I’ve attempted it using beans… not so much better… and so I stopped trying to invent things that make me convulse and went about my daily life of drooling and walking in circles.

The craving came up again last week… so I went searching for recipes online… obviously I’m not a recipe inventor… girl who invented mushing up vegetables… OBVIOUSLY!  The online searching is where I discovered the wonder of Morningstar Farm’s Meal Starters Crumbles…

It basically looks like ground up hamburger… except minus the cow parts… same texture for the most part too.  It’s made out of soy products and vegetable products and it works splendidly as a sloppy joe for a vegetarian weirdo!  Craving satiated…   Although, I have this bad habit with food that is new/unusual in that I overthink it when I eat it and then usually end up hating it and never eating again.

I had to fight the urge to think about what I was eating… every once in a while a thought would come into my head about soy and mushed up vegetables, but then I hit myself in the head with the book I keep by for such occasions and kept eating.  By the 2nd time I ate it, much better… and the 3rd time… no problem whatsoever!

I’m becoming like a mature person or something… the NERVE!  It made me vow to try at least one new food a month… whether I like it or not.  Tofu is next up.  I’ve tried it a few times YEARS ago and hated it… this time I’m gonna love it.  Just you wait and see!

Question of the Day:  What is the last new food you tried?  Did you like it?

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Y’all… Hamburger Meat Minus the Cow Parts…

  1. kittywampus!

    Morningstar veggie burger patties are good too. Not really a new food, but I recently discovered that chinese potstickers (sui mai) taste really good dipped in McDonalds sweet & sour sauce. Not culinary purity, but I didn’t care.

    • I’m just trying to figure out how you got potstickers and McDonald’s sweet & sour sauce in the same room at the same time!

      I bought a package of the veggie burgers… definitely going to give those a whirl!

  2. Avster

    I like what you do in your daily life. :b Thanks for the laugh!

    I don’t recall the last new food I tried… I’m not very adventurous when it comes to food.

  3. HollyH

    The last new food I tried was sushi. I thought I was going to hurl. Seriously, as I was trying to force myself to swallow I was trying to figure out where the bathroom in the restraunt was. I was able to get it down without any incident. My 7 year old daughter and 5 year old son had no problem eating the sushi. It’s a sad day when your children have more mature taste buds than you do.

    • Oh laws, Holly… your kids and their taste buds must have been having issues that day because I sooooooo agree with your view of sushi! My motto is… if they aren’t going to bother to cook the food… I’m not going to bother to pay for it!

  4. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomToTwo

    I am glad you found something that helped with the cravings.

    Question of the Day: What is the last new food you tried? Did you like it?

    I have been experimenting with couscous and quinoa and flax seed.
    Yes, so far so good.

  5. Great! My husband doesn’t like meat, so that type idea is really helpful. I usually get a stomach ache when I eat red meat… It’s just hard for me to digest, so I prefer veggie burgers.

    • Another thing we have in common… even when I ate meat, I never enjoyed red meat like steaks or roast beef. Something about the blood oozing out of it and the chewiness.

  6. macantrell

    If you are not a meat eater I totally understand having Morning Star as an option, however I take one look at the ingredients and cringe! I would rather have ground chicken or turkey than put all those mysterious ingredients in my body or eat a smaller portion of beef.

Leave a Reply

