You’re Gonna Win Or You’re Gonna Lose…

… Either way the sun will still come up tomorrow morning.  And so it goes.  Day one of Mindful Eating SuCkEd!  (No, I’m not 12… why do you ask?)   Firstly, how does one forget to be mindful when you just remembered 30 seconds before that you needed to be mindful?  Secondly, how do I get all the things done I need to get done if I don’t multitask whilst I eat?  Thirdly, ADD alert!  I was supposed to be concentrating on my food, but instead my mind wandered to Britney Spears landing a 15 million-dollar deal to judge a SINGING competition… SINGING!!!!!  Do we see the irony in that there word?  And then because I was thinking about singing, I obviously had to have an annoying tune run through my cranium holder.  This one was that stupid song by LMFAO, Party Rockin’ in the house tonight…  Then, I got to thinking about how one party rocks?  Like, is it a party with rocks as guests?  And then I got to thinking about the formation of rocks and how I was watching 20/20 Friday night and some chic actually enjoyed eating rocks.  She’d go shopping for rocks in the road, bring them home, smash them with a hammer, and store them in an empty medication bottle for easy snacking ability.  And then I got to thinking about her teeth and how they must be totally whittled down to the roots… and then I got to thinking about how I still haven’t had a crown put on my root canaled tooth from nearly 2 years ago and how I should probably go get it done before I end up looking like the cast of The Beverly Hillbillies.  By that time my food was gone and I was wondering what I just ate.

Y’all… in case you hadn’t discovered this by now, I’m a mental case!

Moving on to day 2… mindful, Whitney… mindful!

Meanwhile… new favorite sandwich alert… and I ain’t just saying it to say it.  This one is a post-prison Martha Stewart specialty I found through Pinterest.  By the by… I apologize to anyone who has to follow me on Pinterest… I had a Pinterest account for quite a while but never used it, but I just discovered the joy of hoarding recipes on Pinterest last week and now I look like a pig in a parka pinning recipes to try!  Back to the sandwich… Cheddar Sandwiches with Quick Pickles and Honey-Mustard Spread… it sounds like a boringly normal sandwich, but something about all the ingredients coming together make this thing one of the tastiest sandwiches I’ve had in a while.  Honey mixed with grainy mustard spread on a whole wheat roll, a piece of sharp cheddar on top of that, and then lavish it with the homemade mustardy pickles and onions.  And the pickles… low sodium since I used my salt substitute instead of real salt.  I want some right now… but I’ll mindfully shut up and just go to bed instead!  Good plans, Whitney!

Martha’s roll is obviously a lot bigger than mine, I picked a small 100-calorie mini wheat hoagie roll and ate it open-faced because then it was like eating 2 sandwiches instead of one, but for 1 sandwich calories!  The recipe for anyone interested:  Cheddar Sandwiches with Quick Pickles and Honey-Mustard Spread.  Note to future Whitney… you don’t need as much dried ginger as fresh ginger… just… trust me!  LOL… I just looked at the one review of the recipe at that link… ironically the dude hated the sandwich.  You can’t please everyone said Martha from prison!

Question of the Day:   What’s your favorite sandwich?  

 

 

 

19 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Diet

19 responses to “You’re Gonna Win Or You’re Gonna Lose…

  1. deannawade@gmail.com

    What do you use for salt substitute? Haven’t found one I like yet. I love where you mind goes. Its just so fun to read–probably because I associate with my mind wandering from one randon point to another.

    • I use the Morton’s salt substitute. I don’t mind it in recipes and such but sometimes when I put it on top of tomatoes, etc., it has a weird flavor. Random mind wanderers unite!

  2. cl2

    Cheese, black olive, and tomato. I’ve posted it before. You put a slice of cheese on white bread (white just is better for this–a good white bread), sliced tomatoes, and sliced olives, another slice of cheese, bread, and grill. It also is one of those that the combined tastes do something. I’ve loved these for years. I’m going to have to try those sandwiches!

  3. Avster

    Favorite sandwich… hmm… maybe a tuna quesadilla with a bit of parmesan and a bit of alfredo sauce. Yum! Reuben quesadillas are pretty good too.

    I don’t follow anyone on Pinterest… Pinterest is just bookmarks on steroids…

  4. Deanna

    Chicken salad. Or egg salad. Or tuna salad. Hmmmm. I see a pattern here.

    Interesting sounding sandwich though, Whitney! I might have to check that out!

  5. Karen

    when you ask favorite sandwich, my mind waundered many years back when visiting with a member of a very high class tennis club in Florida. The favorite sandwich was peanut butter and jam. Interesting

  6. dessawade

    Marinated cucumber and fresh tomatoes on toasted bread. So good!
    You must have gotten the mind wandering from your mother. That’s what my mind does at 4 in the morning.

  7. Louisa

    There is ANOTHER pretty picture!
    You do have a good eye, Whitney.

    Question of the Day: What’s your favorite sandwich?

    Probably Smoked Turkey BLT — YUM!

  8. Phil

    Favorite sandwich: yellow mustard and Miricle Whip on white Wonder Bread.

  9. You are so funny! Love the picture!

  10. Louisa

    Thought I would put this here since we are talking about sandwiches.
    Maybe someone will want to give it a try.
    http://www.mrfood.com/Sandwiches/Open-Faced-Avocado-Sandwiches-5874/ml/1

    Talk about a fresh ‘n’ tasty meal! Doesn’t get any easier than our Open-Faced Avocado Sandwiches.

    Serves: 4

    Preparation Time: 12 min
    Ingredients

    * 1 avocado peeled and cut into thin slices
    * 1/4 cup Italian dressing
    * 1 tablespoon mayonnaise
    * 4 oatmeal or whole wheat bread slices, toasted
    * 4 (1-ounce) American cheese slices
    * 8 thin tomato slices
    * 1 cup coarsely shredded iceberg lettuce (see Note)

    Instructions

    1. Toss avocado slices gently with Italian dressing; drain avocado well, reserving dressing.

    2. Spread mayonnaise evenly over 1 side of each bread slice. Top bread slices with avocado, cheese slices, tomato slices, and lettuce.

    3. Drizzle sandwiches evenly with reserved Italian dressing, and serve immediately.

    Notes

    For crisp iceberg lettuce, discard the outer leaves, and rinse and core the lettuce as soon as you get home from the supermarket. Whirl it in a salad spinner and chill it, wrapped in paper towels in a resealable plastic bag, until ready to use- at least an hour or up to 5 days.

Leave a Reply

