One Year After…

As promised, this post is for my pals who have been emailing me lately, struggling with diabetes and/or prediabetes.  A little bit of hope, if you will.  It’s been approximately 1 year (give or take a few months) since I’ve “cured” my type 2 diabetes through getting the heck up off my patookus and doing something about it.  The real test once you’ve been off of diabetic medications, though, is being able to maintain that control so that you don’t end up right back at diabetic hole square one.  This past Friday I had my quarterly doctor appointment… and the vampire doctor took approximately 89 gallons of my blood to do pretty much every test in the book and also to make some blood pudding for a shindig later that night… don’t quote me on that part.  I’ve always wondered why in the world medical folks think it’s a smart idea to take so much dagnabbed blood from an anemic person… for serious!?!?  Aren’t you adding to my problem?  Here’s an idea… go get a male… any male will do… take 89 gallons of his blood and call me with the results in the morning.  Tangent… moving on.

So, he took half of my body’s supply of blood and then called me yesterday with the results.  Here’s a little comparison of before numbers and one year later numbers:

Hemoglobin A1c (a measurement of your blood sugar over a 3-month period of time):  Normal range in a person with no trace of diabetes:  4.5 to 6.
Before:  11 on 4 kinds of insulin and 5 kinds of oral pills    Friday:  5.0  on no medications

Blood pressure:  Normal range is equal to or less than 120/80
Before:  160/110    Friday:  110/69

Resting heart rate:  Normal range 60 to 100 bpm
Before:  110 to 120 bpm    Friday:  61 bpm

Total Cholesterol:  Normal range less than 200
Before:  280    Friday:  165

I’m definitely not throwing these numbers out there to be all LOOK AT ME AND MY BURGEONING EYEBALLS!!!!!  I’m putting these out there to show my pals who are on 8000 medications and in the depths of despair that it is possible to turn it all around… and you don’t have to be at what society deems as a normal weight to do it.  Just some hard work (it IS hard work… put down that magazine telling you there’s an easier way… NOPE… there’s not!) and persistence and you got yourself a dagnabbed page of laboratory values worthy for some refrigerator hanging time.  Tell your kids to move one of their sloppily drawn masterpieces… you got something to hang up… preferrably NOT with the free Pizza Hut magnet.  As if!  Do it, my pals!  You got this!

Question of the Day:  How have your lab values changed since losing/gaining weight?  

 

 

17 Comments

Filed under Nonscale Victories

17 responses to “One Year After…

  1. jen

    Those are some awesome numbers Whit! You’re right that it’s hard work and their are no shortcuts, but I am sure you feel your effort is totally paying off.

  2. Natalie

    Thats more than wonderful! How amazing are you? Wow!

  3. Wonderful numbers! Yippee for you!!

  4. Dorothy Dingman

    Congrats! All your hard work is paying off in the ways that matter most. You are such an inspiration to others and I am so glad to have met you. Keep up the great work!

  5. Avster

    Yay! I always knew you rocked, Whit! 🙂

  6. Karen

    I am impressed! Congratulations for sticking with the hard work!

  7. Louisa

    Question of the Day: How have your lab values changed since losing/gaining weight?

    WOW Whitney – that’s some amazing number changes!!

    Huge congrats on your transformation inside & out.

    I didn’t go to the doctor and get a pre-weight loss physical so I don’t know what my numbers were.
    I know the weight number was and is still too high. Working on that.
    My HR and blood pressure have always been good but I can tell my HR is even better since I started really working out.
    I test it once in awhile when we are at the pharmacy at that machine there and it is in normal range.
    My total cholesterol HAS to have come down. I am eating cleaner now than ever before so that would have to reflect that. I don’t know my numbers though.

  8. dessawade

    Wow Whit! Those are awesome numbers but why did I have to read your blog to hear about them?!?!?!? Proud of you for keeping up with the keeping up.

  9. Whit, That is awesome!!!! Way to go! Talk about a huge success right there!

  10. Deanna

    That is amazing Whitney! What an inspiration to so many!

  11. kittywampus!

    I think you pulled those numbers out of a random number generator because I can’t imagine any part of you falling under “normal” ranges. But regardless, congratulations for your improvement.

    • You do know what normal spells backwards, right? Lamron… so basically Lamron and I got together and tried to make it look like we were pals with Normal. Fooled you, right? 😛

  12. Adrienne

    Thanks for posting this. THIS is the difference between healthy and ‘skinny’. (BTW, every time I see your head shot on your profile, I’m so impressed by how far you’ve come!) It is hard to get out of the mind set of ‘get skinny’, and focus on ‘get healthy’. Kudos for continuing to make healthy choices!

  13. Misty

    Thanks for this, I needed to read it. I get bummed about the 2 meds I am on. It could be worse and I am working on changing my lofe so i can get off them!

Leave a Reply

