One Of These Things Is Not Like The Other!

There is pretty much absolutely no reason why I should have had the 90s craze, the Macarena complete with lame line dance looping through my head space for the last 3 days… absolutely NO REASON!  But it has been.  I find myself humming the tune and attempting to remember the dance steps at every turn… except I have no clue of the words since they’re in Spanish, so it’s more like… La dun dun dun dun dun Macarena… do do dah dee do dah Macarena… fa la la la la la Macarena… HEY MACARENA… and then I automatically jump 90 degrees and start all over again.  It only got really awkward when I jumped into a person next to the cumquats the other day… now that was weird.  I’d like my room with the padded walls to be next to the bathroom, please…

Meanwhile… you all must know Sesame Street, right?  It’s been on since the invention of the television set back in 1775 (give or take 200 years).  So, y’all must remember that sketch they used to do, One of these things is not like the other?  If not, here’s a refresher course, brought to you courtesy of Grover.  It took him WAY too long to figure it out… and he’s like 50… I’m just saying.

We’re going to play a modified version of that game right now…

I’m going to give you 10 seconds and half of a guess to pick which one of these suckers I made and which one someone competent made.  FYI:  They are the same exact recipe… Baked Apple Pie Egg Rolls… something like 50 to 80 calories each (depending on if you put all the sugar the recipe calls for in… I halved the sugar, thus the reason mine were 60 calories).

TIME’S UP!

Obvs, the 2nd one is my masterpiece and it only took me 12 hours to figure out why they look absolutely nothing like the original picture… FALSE ADVERTISING!  My egg roll wrappers turned out really rubbery and hard to cut through and chew.  I’m thinking it’s because I couldn’t stand the thought of wasting a perfectly good egg I had beaten to use to help glue the wrappers together and so when all was said and done and I still had 2/3 of a beaten egg left, I just started pouring it over the tops.  YOU LOSE!  It was a great idea while it lasted… now instead of throwing away 2/3 of an egg, I’m throwing away 8 baked apple pie egg rolls!  Smart move, Sherwin!

Question of the Day:  What’s the last “treat” you made successfully? 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Food

3 responses to “One Of These Things Is Not Like The Other!

  1. Avster

    That’s okay, Whit, my stuff never looks like what’s in the photo.

    Is that a hint of a rainbow in that photo? Very cool!

    Last treat I successfully made… well… yesterday I made a peach pie and rum sauce… oh, and chicken and rice soup… I made a cheesecake last week and hot fudge sauce…

  2. Louisa

    Question of the Day: What’s the last “treat” you made successfully?

    LOL – don’t feel bad, Whitney. Egg roll wrapping takes some trial and error.
    Next time you will know to use the egg wash and wrap them a bit tighter too.

    I modified the vegan pumpkin spice muffins with chocolate chips just this AM. Matter of fact, I am waiting for the last batch to come out of the oven.
    I decided to put dried mixed berries and slivered almonds in the batter in stead of the chocolate chips.

    Let me try one of the cooled ones that came out earlier so I can tell you how I like it.
    …YUM! WIN WIN!!
    I will definitely be making them like this again.

  3. Lindsay

    Not to be rude but your version looks absolutely disgusting!!!
    I do the same and end up throwing away everything I made…it happens more often than not!

Leave a Reply

