Greek Yogurt and Blueberries and Agave Nectar, Oh My!

My quest to find a delicious, healthified muffin majig continues.  Okay, it doesn’t really continue… this is only the 2nd time I’ve made muffins in a 12-month timeframe… sue me… I’m not a very devoted quester.  Usually I get distracted by bright shiny things… and cake.  But, I saw these on Pinterest a while back and decided I just HAD to try them.  By the by… I don’t pin anything on Pinterest besides recipes so I look like one of them cave dwellers drooling at her computer screen… but holy land of recipes galore.  There’s pretty much a recipe for anything on Pinterest. I do have to wade through a lot of not-calorizing approved recipes, but a girl’s gotta live sometimes.  I swear to you there was this one recipe I saw where someone decided it would be a good idea to deep fry a piece of pepperoni pizza to put on TOP of their double bacon cheeseburger… ON TOP… because one or the other wasn’t enough calories, I suppose.  Let’s face it… dude or dudette who invented that recipe probably weighs 130 pounds soaking wet and when they eat above-mentioned burger it travels from their mouth to a convenient receptacle in Zimbabwe.  Stupid people with excellent metabolisms.  Meanwhile, I’m over here eating rabbit food and bloating up by the millisecond.

When I first read the recipe, I was pretty sure it was going to suck… there’s no freaking SUGAR in it.  By hell and high water that ain’t right, Gertrude, but I got over myself and gave it a go anyway.  The recipe has plenty of “sweet” things with the agave nectar, banana, greek yogurt, and blueberries to give it a sweetish taste…   The recipe is from this blog:

Greek Yogurt Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups of wheat pastry flour + 3 Tbsp
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/3 cup Xagave, agave nectar (or substitute 1/2 cup loosely packed brown sugar)
  • 1 large ripe banana
  • 2 eggs
  • 6oz. Chobani Blueberry Greek Yogurt
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Start by combining flour, baking podwer, and salt in a mixing bowl.
  2. In a separate bowl, mash bananas with a fork until they are gooey and liquid-like.
  3. Add Xagave, greek yogurt, and eggs.  Blend until there are no lumps.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and mix until just combined.  Fold in blueberries.
  5. Pour the batter into cups in a greased muffin tin.
  6. Put into the oven and bake for 35 minutes, (or more) until the muffins are golden brown and a knife comes out clean.
  7. Serve warm with butter and additional blueberries.

Sorry you have to look at my nastified rusted-out muffin pan!  I am SO going to buy a new one this week… I’m on a digdabbed quest here… it’s probably the muffin tin’s fault that I haven’t quested more often.   I’m going to be honest here… these are in no way the same as those delectable fluffy muffins the size of your head.  They are obviously a lower calorie/sugarless/lower fat version, but for what they are… definitely tastee!  The same blog has a recipe for greek yogurt strawberry banana muffins that I’m gonna try real soon like!   You bet your sweet bippy!

Question of the Day:  Have you ever used Agave nectar as a substitute for sugar?  Any good results?  

 

 

13 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Recipes

13 responses to “Greek Yogurt and Blueberries and Agave Nectar, Oh My!

  1. I love Agave! Yes, I use it when making desserts a lot. I’ve made a lot of sauces for on top of ice cream or pancakes, or drizzling over Angel Food cake, by heating up a mixture of fruit (like blueberries, strawberries, or raspberries) and Agave.

  2. Avster

    I’ve only ever used Splenda for a sugar substitute… obviously I’m one of those annoying people with a good metabolism. 😉

  3. Deanna

    I had recently purchased some agave, but haven’t used it for anything but sweetening oatmeal or greek yogurt so far. I want to bake with it, but haven’t ventured that far yet. This recipe looks great! I am going to have to try it out!

  4. Marie

    I love Agave!

  5. I loved reading your blogpost and am soooo glad you liked the muffins 🙂 I love your writing style/voice, especially the part about “that ain’t right Gertrude!!” PS. I totally bought a new muffin pan too after I started taking pictures of muffins for my blog. I splurged for the $12 one this time, so hopefully it will hold up better, ha!

    • Thanks so much for the comment and for your awesome recipe. I’m definitely going to be perusing your recipes further! Gotta love calorizing-approved recipes! 😀

  6. Those muffins look yummy (and your muffin pan looks about like mine–Why do they make them so hard to clean anyway?!?)

  7. Louisa

    I love the pic of the water lilies…so pretty.

    Question of the Day: Have you ever used Agave nectar as a substitute for sugar? Any good results?

    I haven’t ever tried the Agave nectar in anything. I have seen it in the country store. I will have to pick some up and then give them a try in oatmeal and yogurt and as a sauce like Deanna and Julie mentioned. Then I will have to try this muffin recipe for sure.
    Thanks for the link and the recipe!

    ~Louisa

Leave a Reply

