Chili Powder and Cayenne Pepper Are Not the Same Thing…

… just trust me on that front.  I dagnabbed know what I’m talking about.  They’re both red… they’re both spices… they both have heat to them… but they are NOT the same thing.  I made this fantastic-looking salad with homemade dressing for one of my mini meals this week… all good things in this here salad… except when it came time to make the dressing I couldn’t for the life of me find the chili powder, so I grabbed the next spice that was red, which just so happened to be cayenne pepper and because I’m suddenly macho woman, I’m like all… I’m totally going to up the heat in this sucker!  The recipe called for 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder, but I misread that as 1 teaspoon, and then because I’m all Hulk up in this here palace, I added 2 teaspoons.  Teaspoons are small… what harm could that do?

Probably going to need surgery to remove my tongue from my mouth hole.  Just whack it off with a rusty steak knife and leave me in peace, officer.  I may possibly have 5th degree burns on it… but you want to know how hulkish I really am?  I ate every last bite of that salad… yelping all along the way… on account of the heat, you see.  Next time I’m going to HALF the CHILI powder… because y’all… the starving guinea pigs in Lithuania deserve better.   When you take out the heat factor, I really liked the salad with the dressing… both totes low calorie, full of flavor, and plain delish!  For anyone interested, here’s the recipe, followed by nutrition information.

Santa Fe Salad with Chile-Lime Dressing
8 Servings

6 Tbsp reduced-calorie mayonnaise   
3 Tbsp cilantro, fresh, finely chopped   
3 Tbsp water   
1 medium uncooked scallion(s), minced   
1 1/2 Tbsp fresh lime juice   
2 tsp sugar (or Splenda)
1/2 tsp chili powder   
15 oz canned black beans, rinsed and drained  (I used no-sodium beans)
1 1/2 cup(s) cooked corn kernels, fresh or frozen   
2 cup(s) grape tomatoes  
1 medium sweet red pepper(s), cut into thin strips (about 1 1/2 cups)   
8 cup(s) romaine lettuce, cut into thick shreds (about 2 hearts)   

  • To make dressing, in a small bowl, whisk together mayonnaise, cilantro, water, scallion, lime juice, sugar and chili powder until smooth. Transfer to a jar or a plastic container with a tight-fitting lid and refrigerate until ready to use.
  • In a large bowl or food storage container, layer remaining ingredients in order listed; cover and refrigerate.
  • To serve, spoon salad ingredients into a bowl. Shake dressing and then drizzle dressing over salad; toss well to coat. Yields about 2 cups of salad and 1 1/2 tablespoons of dressing per serving.
  • Storing this salad in layers (instead of tossing it immediately) and keeping the dressing separate, helps to keep the salad fresh. It can be stored up to 4 days in the refrigerator.

Calories per serving, including dressing:  120 

This picture happens to be AFTER I hogged down on half of the salad… it’s a pretty good-sized bowl of salad for your calorie spendage… and the dressing (using the right ingredients) is fresh-tasting and delicious!  It’s a keeper!

Question of the Day:  Are you a fan of hot and spicy foods?  Why or why not? 

 

17 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Food

17 responses to “Chili Powder and Cayenne Pepper Are Not the Same Thing…

  1. cl2

    Depends on how hot. Some friends gave me some authentic Mexican food (that his worker had given him)–with some hot sauce. They were eating it like no big deal–and I couldn’t breathe. They were talking about how good it was and I was like, “You can taste it?” Salad looks good–but i’m just too lazy to make it!

    • LOL!!! That’s the problem with hot… it overtakes the WHOLE dish and it’s hard to get any other flavors out of it. I’m sure I’d be exactly like you with the too hot dish!

  2. Avster

    I like the food to be flavorful, but not super hot or super spicey.

    What happened brought to mind a cooking incident one of my brothers had. He was making shrewberry cookies and the clove bottle was almost empty… so he just turned the bottle upside down and shook the remaining contents into the batter. No one was able to gag the cookies down. :b

  3. Natalie

    Oh lordie! Thats a mistake I might have made! Even though I know they aren’t the same! Utah is so pretty. I’d have never known without seeing all your pictures. I always pictured it like the bottom of a dried up salt lake.

    • A lot of people have that misconception. Utah is, for all intents and purposes, a desert… what’s pretty about a desert? It should be sand and tumbleweeds. There are some parts like that, but others that take your breath away!

  4. Deanna

    Hahaha! Too funny! I like a little spice. Enough to give some good flavor, but not numb my tounge. This salad recipe looks delicious! I am going to have to try it! Thanks for sharing!

  5. dessawade

    I like mildly spicy food but why would anyone want to burn their mouth whilst eating such wonderful food.

  6. kittywampus

    i used to eat spicy foods a lot in college. We’d make late night trips to Tommy’s Burgers in LA & since they had jalapeno peppers as free condiments we would have pepper eating contests. Imagine eating a chili burger, a dozen jalapeños, then fittinIg into an old VW for the ride back to the dorms. But alas those days are over & I can’t eat many hot foods anymore. I like the flavor but my stomach hates me later. Even Taco Bell mild sauce is off limits. The only sauce i can take is Crystal, which is cayenne-based, or sriracha which also uses cayenne. Tobasco & Tapatia, no way.

    • LAWS, Kit! I’m just picturing the VW full of jalapeno breathed people… add the onion and the chili and I will WALK home thank you very much! I think I may need to follow your lead to stay away from the hot hot hot stuff!

  7. Love spicy foods! Great way to clear the sinuses and feel energized… and I eat less if I can’t shovel it in. 🙂

  8. Louisa

    Gorgeous picture!

    Question of the Day: Are you a fan of hot and spicy foods? Why or why not? I used to eat hot and spicy things when I was younger ( like high school & college ).
    I don’t tolerate them so much any more.

    Mild salsa is enough for me.

  9. Mmm! Sounds good! I LOVE spicy food! 🙂

Leave a Reply

