What Does 1500 Calories Look Like?

Put this in the record books and then immediately close those record books and seal them within a cement clump… this ain’t going to happen again… in the near future at least.  I’m about to unleash my diary for this week… put it out there in front of all the masses to be judged and criticized and picked apart and told I have too many phosphates and too much riboflavin and not enough folate and you shouldn’t be eating that… on a “die”t?  For crying outloud, Griselda!  All of those have happened and all of those are the reasons my diary on MFP is private.  It’s not to hide the fact that I only eat 500 calories… FAR from the truth.  It’s because I’m still not over my fear of being judged for what I eat.  It happened all the while I grew up… and that made things worse because I was constantly eating gross amounts of food in private… away from that judgmental eye.  I had made the call to not make my diary public so that I’d take that closet eating temptation off the table.  But, today, I’m stepping up to the plate and putting out what a day in my eating world looks like. I still won’t make my diary public… not worth the hassle… but this is one step in a more brave direction.

Those aren’t pancakes… they’re special protein pancakes invented by the Biggest Loser people… and I gotta say, I was skeptical, but these suckers are DEE-VINE, HALLELUJAH!  I never knew blending up egg whites, oats, and cottage cheese could turn out so tastee… and no, you can’t at all taste the cottage cheese!  Clickety click for the recipe!  I just made up the batter and then stored it in the frig…

Total Calories in Breakfast:  309  (3 protein pancakes, 2 Tblsp. lite syrup, strawberries)

Meal #2 includes Enlightened Egg Salad (minus the pita and I did a variation on this recipe adding different spices), baby tomatoes, carrots, and 1 reduced sodium dill pickle stacker.

Total Calories in Meal #2:  330 


Meal #3 included light Tangy Potato Salad and red pepper slices.

Total Calories in Meal #3:  213

Dinner included light mushroom stroganoff over eggless egg noodles and peas.

Total Calories in Dinner:  411

Dessert included an angel food cake topped with plain strawberries and blueberries, strawberry sauce, and lite cool whip.  Recipe!

Total Calories for Dessert:  237

TOTAL CALORIES FOR THE WHOLE DAY:  1500  


And that’s a lot of food.  It’s a myth that calorizing means you can’t eat anything.  You totally can… it just takes some planning in advance to get the most out of limited calories.  I’m like a magician… except with less skillz and no rabbits.  Judge away, my peeps… except don’t expect me to care too much this time!  😛

Question of the Day:  Do you think you get the most out of your daily allottment of calories?  

 

32 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Food, Recipes

32 responses to “What Does 1500 Calories Look Like?

  1. I’ve just started eating the protein pancakes – and I would swear you can hardly tell them apart. EXCEPT for the fact that you can actually digest these where as the others, though the were tasty going down, just laid in my stomach all morning long!

    Please visit our site: http://www.pierotucci.com or our blog http://pierotucci.wordpress.com

  2. Ash

    Those pancakes look amazing! Thanks for sharing!

  3. suziq1023

    I agree that it takes planning! I can blow 1000 calories in coffee drinks if I don’t focus. I try to hit 1200 a day and if I plan in advance and measure I can do it. I wonder if the day will come when I don’t have to research every decision. Thank you for being so open about your weight loss story, I appreciate the insight and inspiration.

    • AMEN on that!! Before I could be snacking around all day eating crap and be done with 1500 calories by lunchtime… and then I wondered what the heck I ate and I was always hungry! Thanks for sticking with me, hun!

  4. deannawade@gmail.com

    Thanks–I’m anxious to try your recipes.

  5. Avster

    I most definitely do not get the most out of my daily allotment… Sue me!

  6. Natalie

    Now i’ll judge: I want that food!

  7. Those pancakes look YUMMY! Awesome post!

  8. Nicole Mitchell

    I will have to try those pancakes, I just had a protein pancake for breakfast that was egg whites, oatmeal, water, muscle milk protein powder and cinnamon…1500 cals a day is a great goal, so many people think you have to eat under 1000 to lose, when in reality you have to EAT!!! Love your blog, thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • AMEN about that!! I cringe every time I look at a diary that’s below 1000 calories. I’m first wondering how they can survive on eating so little and second wondering, WHY!? Eat, people, EAT! 😛

  9. I’m sorry to hear that people judged you in the past. It’s a shame that anyone feels the need to do that. We are all on our own journey, and that means finding our own way.

    I think your food looks fan_freaking_tastic. I love the amount of fruit and vegetables you squeezed in, while still eating things that look filling and yummy. I have to admit, I tend to get myself into food ruts because it’s easy to find something I like eating that I know the calorie and points in (I’m doing weight watchers), and then I just eat that over and over because it doesn’t take any thought. I love some of your choices on this day – I will go check out the recipes.

    I have only had one person make a negative comment about my food diary, and it was about the amount of sodium I had one day. It was a day when I had to eat lunch out because I ran out of food and didn’t have time to get to the grocery store. I made the best choice I could, and it really ticked me off that someone picked THAT DAY to make a snarky comment. You just do what works for you, and don’t worry about what everyone else says.

    • Thank you, Kari! I am with you! I get in that rut sometimes where I eat the same thing over and over because I know the calorie count… but then I get so sick of it that I move onto something else and won’t go back to that meal for months!

      I just really think it’s unnecessary for ANYONE to comment about food diaries… unless someone is specifically asking for advice. We’re all learning and need to do it in our own way. Slow and steady!

  10. cl2

    You’ve made me hungry. I know what you can do on the side to earn extra money. Make these things and sell them! I’m rather lazy when it comes to cooking. If it ain’t easy to make, I don’t want to do it. Do you have the recipe for that mushroom stroganoff?

    • HA!! Colleen. That would be funny if I started cooking and selling my goods because my family is forever teasing me about my trials in the kitchen… SO IRONIC! The stroganoff I just made up off the top of my head… low sodium cream of mushroom soup, mushrooms, vegetarian crumbles (or beef), and 1 cup of fat free sour cream after you’ve cooked all of the above. Pretty easy!

  11. I seriously just tried those pancakes yesterday morning and they were delicious! With light syrup and light margarine, my breakfast was around 370 calories… I couldn’t believe it. I halved the recipe and made five small pancakes and ate every single last one!

    • Awesome! See… and you wouldn’t know how fantastic they were until you actually tried them. When I looked at the recipe, I wasn’t so excited about it, but then I tasted them!

  12. Deanna

    HA!!! That’s awesome! I just sent you this recipe the other day and here you have it – you’ve been making them all along! I love those pancakes! Your food all looks delicious and nobody should be criticizing you for your choices – even if they don’t agree. Good for you for taking this step that you maybe were a little reluctant to do.

    • I KNOW! It was so ironic. I think I had actually made the recipe on the day you emailed it to me! It is popular right now, I guess! I agree about folks criticizing food choices. No one is perfect… we will all find our own path!

  13. Katbaran

    I hate it when folks judge and make snarky comments! You have a wonderfully healthy looking day! You used your calories very wisely–much more so than I do and everything looks really tasty. Some folks just want to make themselves feel better about their own poor food choices by nit-picking others. Don’t let it bother you! You are doing awesome and if eating like you are is making it happen, then who’s to judge? Certainly not me! You inspire me all the time. You’ve come so far with such determination. You are who I strive to be–Strong and in control.

    • Thank you, Kat! And so true… no one can be perfect all the time… even the ones who are self-righteous. They need to work on themselves rather than nitpicking at anyone else!

  14. Adrienne

    I am really sorry you got judged on MFP regarding your diet. My diary is open to friends, but seriously, who comments on it?? That stinks. Amongst my very limited friends on MFP, several will post ‘not logging today’, and that’s totally cool.
    Yummers on your choices! Have you considered rewarding yourself with chef classes (veggie)? It would be an ironic food/non-food reward.

    • I’ve had some crazies in the past! If they go too far, I delete them from my list. I’m here to help myself… not feel bad about what I do! That is totally a great idea on the veggie cooking classes! I’m going to have to do some research to see if they have any of the sort around these parts!

  15. I really enjoy your great balance of fruits and veggies throughout EVERY single meal. Now if only I could enjoy them throughout my meals =P. I’m totes going to try the protein pancake recipe! Thanks for sharing =).

    • Haha!!! Enjoying the veggies and eating them to eat them are sometimes 2 separate things! Thankfully, I am enjoying vegetables the more I eat them. Not ALL veggies, but some! Definitely try the pancakes. So tastee!

  16. Louisa

    Wonderful food choices and pictures!

    Question of the Day: Do you think you get the most out of your daily allotment of calories?

    I love fruits, veggies, and protein.
    I am off white sugar, white flour, pasta, and white rice – doing a low carb thing.
    These recipes look great, Whitney and within my limits.
    I feel a LOT better being high protein and low carb.
    Even though I love the carbs…they don’t love me.

    When I have a busy day ( which is a lot of the time ), MFP gives me a lot of calories to eat and I have a hard time eating that much.
    I can look back at any weeks diary and see that I seem to keep it between 1500-1900 calories. I have a wide arrangement of fruits, veggies, and lots of protein each day. That still leaves me with anywhere from 500 – 800 calories still to eat and by the end of the day. I have a hard time eating much and I don’t like to eat anything heavy before bed anyway.
    I am a work in progress.
    I will have to make the pancakes, the stroganoff, and the angel food cake and see how the family likes them.

    Thanks!

  17. Pingback: Welp, I’m Gonna Do It Again… Shocking… « craving a life

Leave a Reply

