Persistence… It’s What’s For Dinner…

Y’all MUST remember that beef commercial… beef, it’s what’s for dinner!  Excuse you… this is a vegetarian blog… take your steer talk elsewhere!  That had nothing to do with anything, except to explain where I got this blog title and it really makes no sense at all, but y’all I’ve been writing this blog for over a year now and have yet to make much sense… why start now?

A few months back, we went to the tulip festival in SLC… I blogged about it here.  We were driving around trying to find where this shindig was, thought we’d found it, parked, and went into a gift shop to ask where we’d buy tickets.  The lady at the counter just stared at us like we’d pulled up in a covered wagon complete with buffalo chips hanging out our bonnets.  Obviously this was not anywhere near the right place.  No matter… Lindsay had to use the lady’s room and so I poked around the gift shop acting like I was interested in buying smelly sachets for my dresser drawer and classical music CDs.  HIGH BROW!  Little did front desk lady know how low brow I could go!

While I was perusing, I came across this plaque and I knew why I’d happened to come here.  Of all the wrong places I could have ended up, it needed to be here… right in this high brow gift shop… just to read this plaque… I’m confident of that.  It summed up in just a few short sentences what I’ve been saying all along for the last 2-1/2 years now.  Persistence, not perfection has ALWAYS been my biggest motto… and here it was staring me in the face… buffalo chipped bonnet and all!

THANK YOU!!!!!!  No words have ever given me more comfort than those on this here plaque.  Success, no matter what it is you’re trying to succeed in, has nothing to do with talent, smarts, riches, etc., but everything to do with persisting until you get what it is you’re working toward.  PERIOD.  End. Of. Story.  I was too cheap to purchase this sucker… it was like 8 billion dollars… but they’d throw in a free smelly sachet!!!  Instead, cheap wadder over here is going to make her own dang sign.  This thing needs to be hung up and reread… over and over and over.

Question of the Day:  Do you have a favorite quote that keeps you persisting?  

 

13 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Motivation

13 responses to “Persistence… It’s What’s For Dinner…

  1. Thomas

    Yoda – “Do or do not. There is no try.”

  2. Make Action a Habit. Be persistent. Great post. http://www.sethdcohen.com

  3. Avster

    I never buy those signs either as they’re ridiculously over priced.

    Favorite quote to give me persistence… naw… just eight brothers… that’s enough to give me persistence.

  4. dessawade

    Well said!

  5. You are so funny! I love the image of you pulling up in a covered wagon with buffalo chips hanging from your bonnet. Lol!
    Great quote!

  6. Louisa

    Speaking of persistence…
    Hey Whitney, remember that ol’ Bucket List?
    I do and here is one I have been wanting to do for the past year.
    Read on….

    I have been wanting to do this for some time now….and I have been off and on looking for the right opportunity. Well, I DID IT! I just registered my family to take kayaking lessons at a Missouri State Park in July. My kids are going to be absolutely thrilled beyond words. My daughter has kayaked before in an Adventure Camp she took with Parks & Rec a couple of yrs ago. She has been itching to do it again ever since.
    My son will be really excited to be big enough, old enough, and responsible enough to operate his own craft.
    My husband ( ever the canoe – man ) will be less than thrilled but I think he will love them once he tries them. We will have to drive a couple hours but I think it will be a wonderful adventure.
    I am also looking into a Nature Photography course, also at a MO State Park, for my kids & I that will take place in Oct. It will be even a little farther to go but I imagine the sights will be well worth it.
    Imagine the exercise I will get too!!

    • Aw yay! Go, Louisa and family! Sounds like a bunch of fun things about to go down this summer… and you can mark them all off of your bucket list! You’ll have to let us know how you liked the kayak!

  7. Phil

    Play golf, go fishing or pick huckleberries whenever you can…and be persistent.

  8. Deanna

    Fabulous saying! I love it!

    A recent good find that rang true for me….

    “The more I run, the more I love my body. Not because it’s perfect, far from it, but because with every mile it’s proving to me that I am capable of more than I ever thought possible.”

  9. Adrienne

    “Trying to lose 412879832 pounds. Expecting results by tomorrow.” Funny, but also pokes at my actual thoughts, and how unrealistic they are.
    I balance it out with: “A year from now, you’ll be sorry you didn’t start today.”

    • LOL!! Love that… and it’s so true. I’m sure that’s the reason I quit on every diet I ever went on when growing up… the pounds didn’t shed after my first exercise routine!

Leave a Reply

