Welp, I’m Gonna Do It Again… Shocking…

So, last week’s forray into showing my food day did not result in the world ending, nor did I break out into a pimple fest.  SCORE one for the pimples!  It’s summer, so I guess the super strict folk I was so used to criticizing my food diary are all living in the wilderness snacking on guava root and organic tree bark sandwiches… but no bread… good grief that’s a sin!  The spritely young preserative-free elves water that crap daily with the water from the mouth of a hygienic platypus.  It’s true… look it up… but only in your dreams.

I got a lot of feedback that some calorizing folks liked getting meal ideas… so here I am again with this week’s menu… in 3D!!  Okay, not really… but how cool would that be?  A grape tomater smacking you in the face.

Breakfast was the same as last time… protein pancakes and strawbs… that’s how the cool people refer to the fruit.  Look no further… I’m totes the definition of cool… if it was spelled G-E-E-K.

Meal #2:  Teriyaki-glazed pineapple burger and a small baked potato with broccoli and reduced fat cheese… 

This is for serious one of my favorite meals in a long time… delicious and filling!  The secret is there is no burger on that burger… it’s just 2 pineapple rounds cooked in a pan whilst being marinated with 1 Tbsp of Teriyaki sauce on top of a 100-calorie bun and loaded with veggies.  I always eat my sandwiches open-faced because it makes me slow down, makes me feel like I’m eating more… and it’s like 2 for the price of one amount of calories!

TOTAL Calories in Meal #2:  444

Meal #3:  Laughing cow cheese cucumber dill sandwich and grape tomaters!  

That’s the spreadable laughing cow cheese with cucumbers and dried dill weed… I’m sure it would taste even better if you had you some fresh dill weed!

TOTAL Calories in Meal #3:  207

Dinner:  Flatout Smoky Corn and Bean Pizza… 

I’m seriously in love with this pizza… for serious!!  So dang good and different than a regular, marinara-sauced pizza.  I made up the recipe because I’m just that talented (side note:  if talent includes unthawing frozen corn and opening a can of beans, I’m your girl!)  The recipe:

Smoky Bean and Corn Pizza 

1 multigrain flatout (or whatever flavor you prefer)
1/4 cup frozen or fresh corn
1/4 cup sodium-free pinto  beans (or black beans)
2 Tblsp. barbecue sauce
1 roma tomato
1/3 cup 2% mozzarella cheese  

I baked the flatout for 7 minutes on 350 degrees before I put any of the ingredients onto it… to crisp it up.  Then, I added all the toppings and put it back in the oven for 15 minutes or until the cheese melts.  

Seriously so good… I guess you could substitute chicken for the beans if you’re into eating feathery things.

TOTAL Calories for Dinner:  348

There she goes.  I love this week’s menu.  As a side note, if you don’t use reduced sodium/sodium-free ingredients this menu is a bit heavy on the sodium side… but you can’t always be perfect… live a little!

Question of the Day:  What are your favorite pizza toppings?  Any ideas for lower calorie crusts?  

18 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Food, Recipes

18 responses to “Welp, I’m Gonna Do It Again… Shocking…

  1. Natalie

    Your food pictures make people wish they were on YOUR diet! From the girl who didn’t want to let people see what she had because it was “bad” you are now the girl who people want to see what she eats because it’s so “good”. Judging away!!

  2. cl2

    I’ll be over for dinner each evening! Did you see the weight loss makeover last night on abc? (I was working until 10–so . . . ). It reminded me of you and the amazing journey you have made.

    • Come on over, Colleen! 😛 I didn’t see the one last night!! I should watch it, though. I watched one a couple of weeks ago and cried all the way through it. That girl reminded me so much of me it was scary!

  3. Deanna

    YUMMY! These all look so good! Thanks for the ideas girl! Pizza is definitely a favorite, but I barely eat it anymore. It’s a special treat now. I was just telling the hubby that we should make homemade pizza this upcoming weekend. I love the idea of putting them on flatouts like you did. I have been making a homemade whole wheat crust and then divide it for all of us to make our own personal pizzas.

    We all like something different. My son is simple – pepperoni and cheese. He’s come a long way though because he used to turn his nose up to anything but plain cheese. My husband is a pepperoni and veggie kind of guy. Me? I prefer chicken and anything else. I love a BBQ Chicken, or a Chicken Bacon Ranch, or Chicken Fajita style.

    • Yum!! I have to stay away from the pizza from the restaurants, except for special occasions… but I do healthier pizzas on occasions. I don’t think I could live without my pizza… and it’s good that we can healthify it up a bit! Yay for your son expanding his eating horizons!

  4. Avster

    huh… that’s an interesting idea to do a pizza on a tortilla type thing…

    My favorite pizza is chicken alfredo… BBQ chicken is good as well. 🙂

  5. jen

    Have you tried English muffin pizza? It’s easy and good.

  6. I’m so glad no one gave you flak for being brave and posting about your meals last time. The meals above look sooooo yummy! I’ve recently cut out bread and carbs because celiac runs in my family (I probably spelled that wrong, but I don’t care.), so I figure it can’t hurt to get used to doing without. But man, oh man, I love me a good cuke and cream cheese sandwich, and I would have NEVER thought of using laughing cow. Brilliant. And while I’m not eating bread, I’m thinking cucumber rounds spread with a little laughing cow would be scrummy. Thank you for the idea!

    • Ugh… celiac sounds miserable. I hope it stays away from you. Yes… I do laughing cow cheese with just cucumbers too… It is tastee. My favorite way is to hollow out a cucumber with an apple corer… or scoop out the top of it so it looks like a boat, and then put the cheese down into it that way. Fun and easy… and tastee!

  7. Wow Whit! Those meals look scrumptious! You are turning into a regular Betty Crocker!

  8. Can you be my personal chef Whitney? I’ve been doing horribly with my eating these days. I need someone else to take over for awhile (until I come to my senses) and it certainly looks like you’d do an awesome job 🙂

    • LOL, Taralee!! Come on over for dinner sometime. I think you’d kick me out of your house after one of my meal making adventures… cursing, dropping things, burning my arm… I’m a disaster in the kitchen! I still have the worst time reigning it in on the weekends! We’ll figure it out, I’m sure!

  9. Louisa

    Those meals look terrific, Whitney!
    The cream cheese and cucumber is one of my favorites. I spread cream cheese on a tortilla ( any kind – whole wheat / tomato or whatever ) and then thinly slice up the cucumber and drizzle with Italian zesty dressing. YUM! My Dh & kids like it too which was a surprise to me.
    I have added all kinds of things to it too to bulk it up ( I have added salsa, or fresh tomatoes, fresh raw spinach, even my 4 bean salad ).

Leave a Reply

