Oh My Laws… Chocolate Chili!!!!!

Hammer time.  You all remember MC Hammer… named after a hammer, I presume.  I always wondered if MC meant marginally creepy.  No?  Okay… moving on.  It’s this week’s menu picture time.  This menu, I’ll have you know, is under the calorie goal, carbohydrate goal, fat goal, and sodium goal… and it’s above the fiber goal (a good thing that fiber) and protein goal (another good thing that protein).  It’s a teensy bit high in sugar, but that’s only from the natural sugars in the fruit I ate.  MFP’s sugar goal will never be met if I continue to eat fruit… which is stupid because fruit is not a bad thing… unless you triple deep fry it and then dip it in a lard sauce.

Once again, I made most everything in the following photos on Sunday night and stored it in the refrigeration system… I love stuff I can just grab and go.  It really helps out when you work all day too.

Breakfast: (2 breakfast burritos, 1 tbsp Natural Directions salsa, and a medium-sized peach) TOTAL CALORIES:  426

I bet you were expecting to see protein pancakes!  Nice try… not this time, senor and senoritas!  Instead, I found this great idea to make like 8 billion breakfast tortillas… ones that you can freeze and then get out and warm up in the micro oven in a matter of seconds.  I’m all about easy!!  I modified the recipe from this site…  The trick because I’m all about maximum quantity for minimum calories was in finding the correct tortillas.  These may look like plain ole white flour tortillas… but they’re not.  They’re called Maya’s Tortillas and they have fiberous stuff in them and ring in at 80 calories per tortilla!

Meal #2:  (5.3-oz microwaved potato with 1 cup broccoli, reduced fat cheese, grape tomatoes, and greek yogurt, lemon, dill cucumbers) TOTAL CALORIES:  314

Did I mention I am addicted to baby tomatoes yet?  Oh my glorious invention, batgirl!  I like to go to Sam’s Club and buy the gargantuan package of Nature Sweet Cherubs… I usually finish it off in a week.  Sue me… at least I don’t by the gargantuan bag of tortilla chips and finish that off in a day.  I was not a fan of the greek yogurt/lemon/dill cucumber mix.  I think it was because when I stored it in the refrigeration system overnight, the cucumbers got wilty… and then there was wayyyyyy too much lemon on it.  Next time I’ll try it with just the dill and greek yogurt.

Meal #3:  (2.5 ounces of Ranier cherries and macaroni salad) TOTAL CALORIES:  282

This is seriously my favorite macaroni salad recipe in a long time.  I guess you wouldn’t like it if you don’t like the flavor of mustard… but seriously, get a taste bud transplant then!  I once again modified the recipe from this site… and by modified I mean I made it more calorizing friendly… like by a lot…  It’s so tastee though… grated carrots, cucumbers, celery, grape tomatoes (stop it) and cheese… with a nice tangy dressing!  Since the salad seems to dry out if I put the dressing on it before I eat it, I make the pasta part and store it separately in the frig.  Then, I just measure out a serving.  I freaking love my food scale for these kinds of things.  So much more accurate!

Dinner: (Rich and Spicy Chocolate Chili and mozzarella cheese toast) TOTAL CALORIES:  508

I came upon this recipe by accident when I was looking up how many fresh tomatoes I could substitute for canned tomatoes in chili.  Goodness knows the salt in the canned tomatoes is enough to bloat my head to Good Year Blimp status.  I came across this recipe that used 1 square of unsweetened baking chocolate and I flipped my lid… I don’t know exactly where my lid is, but I done flipped the thing.  CHOCOLATE!!!!!!!!  I had to try it… Period… end of story… slap a stamp on that sucker and call it a slam dunk.  The mozzarella cheese toast, all I did was grab a 100-calorie slice of Spelt bread (all the nuts and grainy stuff in that there bread), put some shredded mozzarella on that and then put it under the broiler until the cheese melted… then I topped it with tomato slices and white onion slices.  For the life of me, I cannot find the dagblasted chili recipe on the Internet… but I modified it so much it won’t matter if I give credit… recipe for chocolate chili is as follows:

Rich and Spicy Kidney Bean Chili

– 1 large raw onion
– 6 medium garlic cloves
– 1 medium green bell pepper
– 1 medium carrot
– 1 large stalk of celery

Dice all those things up and throw them in a pot.  It said to sautee them in 2 tblsp of olive oil, but I am not a fan of empty calories when I can do it for zero calories.  What I do is spray down the pot with Pam before I put the veggies in and then throw in 1/8 cup of water with the veggies… plus, the veggies will sweat off their own liquid, so if you keep them moving it shouldn’t stick to the pan or burn.   It says to sautee them until they’re tender… but I like my veggies more crunchy… so decide how long you want to do that for and leave me alone!  😛  Then, add in:

– 2 Tblsp. chili powder… NOT cayenne pepper… chili powder
– 1-1/2 tsp. paprika
– 1/2 tsp. onion powder
– 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
– 1/2 tsp. oregano

Stir that until the veggies are coated in the spices.  Then add in the following:

– 8 medium tomatoes coarsely chopped
– 1 bay leaf
– half of a chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, chopped (If you add more than half a pepper, say goodbye to your tongue)
– 2 Tblsp. brown sugar
– 1 square unsweetened Baker’s chocolate
– Salt and Pepper to taste… I used my favorite salt substitute to lessen the sodium.  

Simmer all of that together for approximately 20 to 30 minutes.  Then add:

– 1 can of reduced sodium Kidney Beans (rinsed and drained)
– 3/4 cup frozen corn

Cook for a few more minutes to warm those up and voila.  You’re done.  Of course, it tastes better when it sits in the frig overnight, so that all the flavors have time to make friends and par-tay it up in the adobo sauce.  It seriously was so good… rich, spicy, crunchy because of all of the vegetables… and I will never use canned tomatoes to make chili again.  Fresh tomatoes give it such a lovely texture!  For sure.

TOTAL CALORIES FOR THE ENTIRE DAY:  1530

Now that I’m done courting my food menu… have a great day y’all and to all a good night!

Question of the Day:  Do you have a favorite chili recipe?  What makes it awesome?  

22 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Recipes

22 responses to “Oh My Laws… Chocolate Chili!!!!!

  1. What a beautiful menu! I so enjoy reading your blog and the food ideas are just the “icing” on the proverbial “cake.” I think your chili recipe may be my new favorite as mine is not that fabulous and does not have as many vegetables. Thank you!

  2. Mandy

    I love that you are sharing your menu ideas. I am a big fan of the protein pancake now, thanks to you! Where did you find those tortillas? I cannot get my kids on board with eating whole wheat ones so maybe I can trick them into it with those!

    • Who know blended cottage cheese would be tasty? I found the Maya Tortillas at Wal-Mart… yes, I know… everyone’s favorite store. They had 3 sizes in the white… 80 cals, 90 cals, and a bigger one. Not that your kids would care about calories, but I thought I’d throw that out there. They only have 3 grams of fiber, but compared to the regular white ones who have 1 or less, that’s a step up! Good luck in your fiber quest!

  3. Louisa

    Lovely looking menu and the pics too!
    Great job making adjustments !!
    I still haven’t tried the protein pancakes …I need to though.
    Great job finding low cal tortillas.
    I love any kind of soft tortilla ( tomato, wheat, guacamole, or flour ) but I haven’t seen any of these Maya tortillas. What a great idea to have them have more fiber and fewer calories!
    I will keep looking for them…

    • You should for sure try out the pancakes. So yummy! Good luck trying to find the tortillas, Louisa. They have both the white ones and then they have whole wheat ones too. Low calories in both!

  4. Avster

    Chili is already gross and you made it even grosser by adding chocolate! :b

  5. Natalie

    oh yum!!!! You know you can reduce the sodium and the cost by soaking dry beans ahead of time. And the “no salt added” tomato products are like a witch hunt in the store. They have them, but you have to look for an hour and it’s not a reliable adventure. Half the time you can find it in the paste, or the sauce, or whatever, but never the same brand or place. They hide them!!! Having your own tomatoes and stewing the down has got to be way healthier. Chocolate chili? I donno!!!! I’d add some cumin to that. I’m not brave enough for chocolate chili. That food looks sooo good!!!

    • AMEN on the witch hunt for tomato products comment. And then just because you find them one time at one store doesn’t mean they’ll be there the next time you go looking. So frustrating. Totally why I wanted to just use real tomatoes. I soooo need to get over my lazy butt and try soaking some beans sometime. I have pretty good luck finding no salt/reduced sodium beans, but I need to try the real suckers sometime!

  6. Natalie

    I know a lady who soaks the beans, cooks them, then freezes them in portions so she has them ready.

  7. Diana Davidson

    I’ve got the chili recipe copied and can’t wait to try it. I’ve just recently considered using fresh tomatoes in recipes instead of the canned stuff. Thanks!

  8. Deanna

    Looks delicious!!! Any chance you could share your healthy version of the macaroni? That looks delicious too!

    • Sure, Deanna! I will email you too, but basically it was just 1/2 cup of light Miracle Whip (I may try half greek yogurt and half MW in the future), 1/4 cup yellow mustard, 1 Tblsp. apple cider vinegar, and 1/2 tsp. celery seed. Then I threw in some salt substitute and pepper to taste.

  9. jen

    Those meals look delicious and I can’t believe the low calorie count. PS you should be the next food network star with all those cooking tips you give your followers.

  10. Wow! Delicious! I am very impressed! I never even thought of putting chocolate in chili 🙂

  11. Whitney, each and every one of these recipes sounds amazing! Somehow you manage to make even the healthiest of dishes look delicious. Thanks so much for sharing and for shopping at Sam’s Club! – Ramona from Sam’s Club

  12. Susan

    Hey awesome calorizing chick: where did you buy your tortillas? The only lower fat/lower carb tortillas I could find yesterday still have 120 cals each, so my burritos are 220 calories each (eggs/egg beaters, turkey sausage, low fat cheese). Would love to cut the cals on the tortillas.

Leave a Reply

