Kind of Looks Like Someone Puked Up In This Joint…

It is NOT August 1st.  It’s not!  I say it’s not and so it’s not!  I’m sad my summer is coming to an end without having done anything… but I’m going to shut up and just go with the flow because the flow told the voices in my head that’s what I should do.  There’s still some time left… do something!

Meanwhile, let’s get up this week’s menu in this here joint!   There was only one meal fail this week… I consider that a success.  I had made the batter for calorizing pumpkin pancakes that I got from the health guru on the Today Show, Joy Bauer.  I bought her book and it was in there.  I don’t know why, but they really didn’t have much flavor… so I tossed them.  Maybe I bought a bad can of pumpkin puree… maybe they needed more cinnamon?  Maybe I should just move on.  I had to improvise a new breakfast…

Breakfast (Fibery/Wheaty toast with simply fruit spread, one egg, and a large peach… Calories:  371)

I bought the peaches at Sam’s Club on Saturday… BIG beaut-ee-ful peaches.  They weren’t ripe then, but a few days on the counter they ripened up nicely… so juicee too!

Look at them good-looking suckers… I tell you what!

Meal #2: (Crockpot Dutch Oven Potaters with reduced fat cheese and grape tomatoes… Calories:  321)

Cuzzin Jen-Jen gave me this recipe and I modified it to fit my vegetarian ways… plus it cooks in the crockpot… totes the easiest!

Crockpot Dutch Oven Potatoes

– 4 Potatoes – chopped
– 1 can Cream of Mushroom Soup (I used Healthy Request to cut down on fat and sodium some)
– 1 can of green chilies (I left these out of mine)
– 1/3 cup chopped Onion
– Bacon (I left this out too and substituted it for some reduced fat cheese on the top after it cooked)

Throw that all into a crockpot and cook on high for 3 to 4 hours.  Voila… done!

Meal #3 (Salad and 5 Ritz Crackers… Calories:  340)

My salad ingredients were:  1 hard-boiled egg, 1/4 cup of cold peas, 1/4 cup of pineapple tidbits, 1.5 oz grape tomatoes (duh), 1-1/2 cups of romaine lettuce blend with carrot and red cabbage, and my favorite new dressing… Bolthouse Classic Ranch Yogurt Dressing… made with Greek yogurt, so at least half the calories of regular dressing… this stuff is only 45 calories for 2 Tblsp… and it is yummified!   I always say… there ain’t nothing worse than a bad Ranch dressing… I don’t care what anyone says… NOTHING WORSE!

Dinner ( Homemade Veggie Bean Burger and Corn/Tomato Balsamic Salad… Calories:  491):

My first homemade veggie bean burger… and when I got finished making the mashed up bean part, I was seriously not excited to try it… done looked like the cat somehow got up on the counter and spewed all over my bowl.  I even offered my dad one and after one look at them, he declined… even if Madre is at girl’s camp this week and can’t cook him dinner!   Your loss, dad!

What was in my veggie bean burgers?  Mushrooms, celery, onion, mashed kidney beans, egg whites, italian-seasoned bread crumbs, and garlic.  Once I got done cooking them through, and then put all the toppings on, it was tastee!!  I’d totally eat them again… even if they did take too long to make!

TOTAL CALORIES FOR THE DAY:  1523

Whitney’s taste buds are getting more adult these days.  You bet your sweet bippy.  I’ve moved from 5-year-old taste buds to at least 12.  Watch out, 21… here I come!

Question of the Day:  What are your favorite salad toppings?  Favorite dressing?  

13 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Food

13 responses to “Kind of Looks Like Someone Puked Up In This Joint…

  1. Faith

    August counts as a summer month, so there’s still 1/3 left of the summer! (Thou really I feel the same way you do; the summer is slipping away. My cup is always half empty and it’s hard to change that way of thinking.)

    Btw, kudos to you for making so many delicious looking meals in one day!

    • Oh for sure… still the month of August and then it’s usually nice here for the first part of September… get up and do something… I’ll just keep telling myself that!

  2. cl2

    The potatoes looked wonderful. Other things did, too, but I so love potatoes–you always make me so hungry with these posts!

  3. Avster

    I don’t think that canned pumpkin is anything like what it used to be. Adding more cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger…
    I actually prefer to cook sweet potatoes, mash them, and use them instead of pumpkin. It tastes *so* much better and most people can’t tell the difference between sweet potato pie and pumpkin pie… plus it’s probably better too as there’s way less processing.

    Favorite salad toppings… probably sunflower seeds…. definitely ranch for dressing.

    • See… I never thought about switching the sweet taters for pumpkin… but that’s because I don’t like sweet taters! Maybe if they were in a pie, I would, though because I love me some pumpkin pie and pumpkin cookies with chocolate chips in them!

  4. Louisa

    Question of the Day: What are your favorite salad toppings? Favorite dressing?
    I get a bit crazy with my salad toppings.
    I go all out with hard boiled eggs, sunflower seeds, croutons if I have them, fresh peas, and my 3bean salad mixture ( black beans, diced spicy tomatoes, fresh corn, and onion ) all dumped on top of my salad greens and topped with either Ranch or Italian. I like Thousand Island too but usually only get that when we go out somewhere.

  5. Natalie

    Wow that all looks great!

  6. Wow! You could totally start your own cooking show! Those peaches are making my mouth water!!! I love pickled beets on my salad (and a whole bunch of not so healthy stuff as well)

    • I hope they have good peaches in WI because then I’d have to ship you some Utah peaches… ask the cheese people! It was super fun to see you on Sunday… Thank you for carving some time out of your busy schedule because I know you didn’t have to. Also, it looks like you guys made it home in the 2-day time period? Go you guys… and go kids and the bathroom break issue!

Leave a Reply

