Dessert For Breakfast? Why, Yes I Will…

Oh my laws in a basket of compression stockings!!  My dream has come true!  I’ve found a way to have my cake and eat it too… for breakfast… but more healthified like!  This is seriously my favorite breakfast in a long time and I’m aiming to make me up another batch next week.  You bet your sweet bippy!  1500-Calorie food menu time!

Breakfast (Peach Breakfast Bake and a 100-calorie Thomas English muffin with cinnamon… TOTAL Calories:  315)

Look away from the burnt English muffin… totally a toaster malfunction… aka I like mine crispy and kept pressing it back down every time it would pop up!  Looks like peach cobbler with whipped topping, right?  RIGHT?  Negative.  I’ve linked the recipe above, but basically the topping is Rice Chex smashed up (or some other kind of cereal).  There’s a way to make this sucker sugar-free too.  I used sugar substitute and it was still tastee!  The “whipped” cream on top?  Only Oikos peach Greek yogurt… which tasted dee-vine with my breakfast cobbler!  For serious!   I’m sure I could substitute other fruits for the peaches, which makes me three kinds of geeky excited!  Raspberry bake, strawberry bake, apple bake, pear bake… stop it!!

Meal #2 (Homemade Freezer Bean Burrito, lettuce, 1 Tblsp Greek yogurt dressing, and grape tomatoes… TOTAL Calories:  326):

I promise you there will be one day where I don’t eat grape tomatoes… that won’t be in the near future, but I’ll be sure to make it a National Holiday when it happens.  I LOVE these burriters!  They are easy and tastee… Spanish brown rice, beans, corn, greek yogurt mixed with salsa… what’s not to like… plus you can make a big batch and freeze them for future use… way more healthy and less preservatives than the ones you buy in the freezer section at Walrus World.  Another recipe keeper!

Meal #3 (Pineapple Cashew Fried Rice (except not fried)… TOTAL Calories:  408):

Once again, I cut out all the oil by just spraying my pan with Pam.  I think I cooked my snow peas for too long… next time I’m adding them in halfway through the rice add… stupid snow peas!  Other than that… purty tastee!

Dinner (Revolutionary Stove-Top Mac and Cheese, Peas, and you guessed it… grape tomaters… TOTAL Calories:  443)

Why so revolutionary?  Usually mac and cheese requires creams and 52 pounds of cheese and more cream… blah, blah, blah.  This one is creamy because the noodles are boiled in milk… and then only 1 cup of cheese (for 4 servings) is added after the milk has been absorbed.  My mistake this time… using fat free cheese.  Next time I’ll be less chincy and use the real stuff because it melts better and would taste much creamier.  It was still good… even if I accidentally put in way more than a “generous dash” of nutmeg.  Stop it with your generous dash talk… give me some dagnabbed measurements!

TOTAL CALORIES FOR THE WHOLE DAY:  1492

It’s rare I get a day where it’s 4 for 4…  plus I’m pretty psyched that I came in so low on the sodium scale this week.  I’m more confident in staying on my meal plan when I actually like what I’ve made.  If I dread having to eat it, I usually try to find something else… less calorie restricted and a lot more fattening!  Bring me all the good recipes… leave out the duds!

Question of the Day:  Which brand and flavor of Greek Yogurt is your favorite?  

14 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Food

14 responses to “Dessert For Breakfast? Why, Yes I Will…

  1. cl2

    I haven’t tried greek yogurt as I detest yogurt. I guess I should try it just to see. What kind would you suggest?

    • Oikos with the fruit on the bottom… either blueberry or peach! I haven’t tried the other flavors. Chobani is good too! I’m not a huge plain yogurt fan… but if you get the right kind of Greek yogurt it is tastee!

  2. Deanna

    O…M….G! ALL of this looks AMAZING! I gotta try me every last one of these!

  3. Avster

    I’ve never tried Greek yogurt so I don’t know. I think I could eat your breakfast and the minus the peas the mac and cheese looks mighty tasty.

    You must have read my mind though… the breakfast for ol’ Avster today was a cinnamon roll. 🙂

  4. dessawade

    Oikos blueberry yogurt and it has to be the one with the fruit on the bottom. Hands down my favorite yogurt and then I add about a tablespoon of granola and it makes it even better.

  5. jen

    We like Zoi Greek yogurt. Love when u share good recipes!

  6. Blythe S. Berger

    I love Chobani. Another lady and I were emptying the Fred Meyer shelves of it this morning. The passion fruit, blood orange, and pineapple are my favs, but they’re all good.

    • Haha… that’s the best when they’re on sale and you can clear the shelves in one fell swoop, Katie! Those flavors sound divine! I have not branched out to many of the other Chobani flavors besides peach and strawberry. Will definitely have to try it!

  7. Natalie

    mmmm….. mmmmm…. mmmmm….. I need to get braver and use greek yogurt like you do, too. Mmmmm….

  8. Louisa

    I haven’t ever tried Greek yogurt.
    I just buy my vanilla flavored yogurt at Aldis and use it in my fruit smoothies since I can’t get my family to eat yogurt any other way.
    YUM

Leave a Reply

