Crochety Old Chic…

I recently blogged about the fact that despite having just taken a 6-week beginning knitting course, I forgot how to do half of the necessary knitting techniques… like casting on… and if you can’t cast on, you might as well be a chic holding a ball of yarn and 2 sticks… ain’t gonna be making anything without that.  So, instead of getting all verklempt to death, I just taught myself how to crochet.  Same difference, except now I only have one stick, which means I’ve just halfed the chance of poking both of my eyeballs out in a deadly yarning accident.  It was really because I couldn’t think of ANYTHING to get Madre for her birthday, so I decided that part of my present whilst I was thinking of the other part would be to knit her something.  When I couldn’t figure out how to read the knitting chart on the pattern I’d picked out, I just crocheted it instead… because I’m cool like that!

Here she is in all her glory… my first crotcheting (purposely spelled that wrong, yo) project… what the flim flam polly wolly doodle all the day is it?  Your guess is as good as mine!  😛  JOKES.  It’s a lop-sided owl iPAD cover/protector majigger.

Stick your iPAD in there and then I’m pretty sure you can drop it off a 25-story building and it will still be smooshed to smithereens… but folks will think it’s an owl… and that’s all that counts in this world!

I’m not sure Madre was exactly thrilled with her newly acquired lopsided crotcheting project… but heck if I almost pinned it to the frigeration system.  You bet your sweet bippy!

Question of the Day:  Do you crotchet?  Any fun patterns? 

Happy weekend friends and relations!  

9 Comments

Filed under Little Things

9 responses to “Crochety Old Chic…

  1. Avster

    It looks cute, Whit! If you’d just hush no one would know that the owl didn’t grow correctly.

    Yup, I crochet, but I don’t use patterns… I just use the ol’ noggin.

  2. Karen

    That is actually pretty cute. Your mother does like owls, so good job.

  3. cl2

    You did a really good job! First time???? I crochet afghans–I’ve done several different types, but I now only make one type–which is a shell stitch. I’ve made dozens of them as I like to crochet. I supposedly crochet backwards–and I think that I’ve said that before on this blog–and I crochet really loose–but afghans work well.

  4. cl2

    I take note that you have lost 2 pounds since the other day. My weight was actually 235 the other day–so I was like “wow–she’s lost me.” I was much bigger some years ago. I am 233 today (but we all know that can disappear)–I’m just surprised I haven’t gained a bunch of weight back this past year.

  5. Natalie

    It looks great! It needs a strap to hold it on your shoulder! Go to you tube and you can find plenty of visual how to cast on knitting videos.

  6. Awesome! There is a great site at http://www.crochet patterncentral.com that I go to. Maybe you already found it? It has tons of free patterns and lots of tutorials on stitches and things. Youtube is awesome for crochet as well as knitting videos. It turned out very nicely 🙂 Great job!

  7. Louisa

    I think it turned out cute – great job.

  8. Oh my goodness–that is darling! Way to go!

  9. Deanna

    You did great!!! That is super cute!

Leave a Reply

