Giveaway… TWO Winners… Everyone is Happy… Unless You Lose…

I’ll get back to my boring part 2 story continuation of yesterday’s post before the end of the week.  Mark my words!  But, I just saw on the front page of Google that today is Julia Child’s 100th Birthday (if she was alive)… and it made me want to drink my way through Europe… instead I’ll just do a food post in her honor.  Part of the reason I now exclusively cook everything I eat is because of Julia.  Approximately 3 years back I saw that movie, Julie and Julia about the chic who cooked her way through Julia Child’s ENTIRE cookbook… something like 524 recipes in 365 days… and she blogged about it.  I would never want to take on such a task, but it did get my butt thinking about cooking actual real food.  Before then, the only thing I ate were things you could throw in the microwave.  Certainly nothing that would dirty a dish because that would require me to get actual exercise via washing dishes.  To most people washing dishes would not be considered exercise… but when you be hefting 530 pounds around, standing, moving the arms, and breathing like a clogged up leaf blower, it’s exercise.  I’d always break a sweat doing any sort of extra movement back in them days.  But, my most favorite staple back then… fast food.  The more oil and grease and fat blobules, the better.   I’ll take a lard burger with extra lard sauce and a side of lard sticks, please… make that 3.

I didn’t think about calories… I did not own a food scale… I did not measure anything in a measuring cup.  I had a brown paper bag or a square pizza-sized box… and I had TV dinners in the freezer for my “snacks.”  On occasion I’d make toast and eggs… but that was the extent to my cooking.  I guess when you have to exert so much energy to do anything, cooking every meal is a nonoption.

So, I started cooking… and most of the time I suck… a lot of my recipes turn out hideous… but I keep doing it because it is better for me and I can control what I put into my food.  I know calories inside and out.  I weigh almost everything that goes into my mouth on a food scale.  And measuring utensils are now my best friends.  I have to say that there are glimpses of times that I actually enjoy cooking now.  Not all the time, mind you… but I can eat more when I cook for myself… because I control the calorie amount… and I have always been about quantity of food.  I hate feeling deprived.  It makes me feel claustrophobic.  I still have a lot to learn in the cooking department, but Julia would be proud of my progress.  I just gotta start drinking!  😛

That said, no I’m not offering anything Julia Child related for the giveaway… but I am offering one of my favorite calorizing cookbooks… a book all about desserts.

I have my own copy, but I have TWO extras that I’m totes giving away to 2 of you lucky winners out there… a thank you from me to you for reading and sticking with this ole chic.  I may not always agree with the Biggest Loser’s methods, but these recipes (at least the ones I’ve tried) are mighty tastee… good on calorizing terms… and hit you in the sweet tooth!  That’s right!  What do you need to do to get one?  It will be by random draw, but there are 2 ways to enter:

1.  Leave a comment on this post with your favorite cookbook or famous TV cook/chef.
2.  Click on my Facebook page on the right side of this blog, like the page, and leave a comment.  If you’ve already liked it, just leave a comment.

You will get one name entry per thing you do… up to 2 entrants.  I will announce the winner on Monday, August 27th… yes, that’s a week and a half y’all!  I’m about to be gone next week… these things happen!

Question of the Day:  Do you enjoy cooking?  Have you seen Julie and Julia? 

28 Comments

Filed under Food, Giveaway

28 responses to “Giveaway… TWO Winners… Everyone is Happy… Unless You Lose…

  1. deannawade@gmail.com

    I’m pretty plain when it comes to my cooking. Over the years I have gathered recipes I like and I just keep using them. But I use a lot less salt and fat. Oh by the way, I thought that pictures of your Mom on yesterday’s blog was so good. I love reading your blog.

  2. Rachel Johnson

    I do enjoy cooking and yes I have seen the movie as well. The best part of the movie was Meryl Streep, I love her!! Anyhow, I really love to cook big huge meals for tons of family and friends and I bake too, I have a small cake business on the side (I know real great for losing weight, however I don’t typically eat cake and I have lost 40lbs in the last few months!) Back to topic, I really don’t know her name but I really like the lady that does the cooking spots on Extreme Makeover Weight Loss Edition because she is all about finding ways to still not feel deprived and reduce the calories of “normal” meals. By the way, I have been enjoying your blog, its refreshing to read a blog by someone who is real and not just blowing hype around! 🙂

  3. Hi there!

    Okay, so I originally discovered your blog through a post somewhere on MFP a while back and have been reading it ever since. Personally, I’m down 120 pounds in 14 months, and am almost half-way to goal to weight loss goal. I’ve enjoyed your posts! Nothing like a good old give-away to bring people out of just reading and into commenting, right? 🙂

    Okay, on to the cookbook…My favorite used to be the “Mitford Cookbook and Kitchen Reader”. After all, who doesn’t like ooey-gooey Southern-fried, sugar-filled, calorie-laden goodness? But…that was the old me. Now, that book is hidden away in the far reaching of my cabinetry, never to be used again, and I could use some new, non-artery-clogging recipes to work from!

    Keep up the good work and the fun posts!
    Blessings,
    Kimberly

    • 120 pounds is amazing! Go you!! I sometimes like to get my hands on those artery-clogging books just to see if I can work my magic on a recipe and make it calorizing friendly! It’s like a challenge now!

      • Thanks! Yeah, I haven’t gotten creative enough to try switch-ups with baking items yet. I’m not afraid to try it with stove-top type cooking things, because I can add stuff to it as I go along, but baking is a bit terrifying to me, because once it’s in the oven, there’s no going back! I actually tried making brownies once without the oil (I know, brilliant, right?!)…I had to throw it away, pan and all. Seems the oil is kind of necessary to get the finished item to release from the pan, and without it, the brownies and the pan become one! 🙂

  4. Avster

    You’re going to be gone next week? Whaaa?

    Love the photo!

    Are there any weight loss cook books you’d like to own? The used book store my mother volunteers at gets them in from time to time, so if there are any specific titles you’re looking for you could give them to me and I’ll let her know to look at them. 🙂

    Enjoy cooking? Ehh… I enjoy baking. 😉

    Nope, never seen Julie and Julia.

    • Think man in the basement! Ooooo… I may have to take her up on that one time. Let me look at my list… I’ll try to keep it brief. SHe doesn’t have to search all over for anything, but if she happens across something in her perusing that would rock!

  5. gail

    i think i like rachael ray the best

  6. gail

    liked you on fb

  7. dessawade

    Yes, I really enjoy cooking when I am not in a hurry. My mom was a great cook so I must have been influenced by her. Yes I saw Julie and Julia. Cute show!

  8. cl2

    Is that Bear Lake??? I’m not entirely sure. I did make it to Tony Grove on Saturday and hiked around the lake. Someday I hope to do White Pine again to see what it was like when I was 15 and carrying a back pack with sleeping bag, food, etc. You know–certifying for girl’s camp? Then went to Bear Lake and stayed overnight. Love Bear Lake! Always have.

    But I won’t be participating. I’m so weary of cooking. I cooked SO MUCH while raising the 2 kids myself and working 2 jobs. Mike cooks for me when he is around–he tends to like to be the ‘best cook’ and doesn’t want any competition, so I let him be.

    I hope you have a nice week off. I’ve seen Julie and Julia a few times. Oh–and part of my problem is I don’t like my own cooking. Most people really like my cooking. I can’t stand eating it until a day later (ask my kids). Usually by a day later, it is gone. So I keep looking for things I can eat without REALLY cooking–throw a turkey steak in the toaster oven, etc.

    • It’s not Bear Lake! It’s actually Mantua lake… I don’t know the name they call it. But the body of water in Mantua. I wanted to check out the trail they have around that thing. When it gets cooler, I’ll totally bring my bike back and ride around it! I’m glad you made it up to Tony Grove! I’ve only been to Bear Lake once this year… and it was a quick trip! I need to go back. I soooo need to get a toaster oven!

  9. Maureen

    I like Susan branch cookbooks. They are what started my love of baking and cooking.

    I have seen Julie and Julia once.

  10. Booksandbeaches

    I like Nigella Lawson’s cookbooks. She’s British and gorgeous in the way Sophia Loren is. She makes food that’s very tasty but also reasonably healthy. Plus, she has dishes from various ethnic traditions. I like that she goes beyond the Standard American Diet.

  11. Denise M

    I am a big fan of Rick Bayless, i loved him on Top Chef Masters and on his PBS show

  12. I have seen Julie and Julia and the part that most stuck with me is when she is making all the meat jello dishes—retch, ralph, puke!
    I like cooking okay (especially if I don’t have to do it everyday), but I LOVE baking (and eating baked goods–hmmm)
    My favorite TV chef is Guy Fieri, but I have to admit it is his Diners, Drive-ins and Dives that I love (I don’t even know if he has an actual cooking show these days or not–I don’t have cable). My favorite cookbook is Better Homes and Gardens (it explains the very basics, which I need).

    • AMEN in a bucket of nastiness Re: The meat jello crapola! That ain’t even right! And I am so with you on Guy Fieri! He rocks! I love his DDD show too. I always thought it might be fun to take a road trip and hit some of the places he goes to… I’m sure that road trip would cause me to gain 8 billion pounds!

  13. Louisa

    Favorite cookbook or famous TV cook/chef.

    I like watching the CreateTV show when I have a minute to myself….rarely. I really like all their cooking shows and some of them are things I would do and some are things I would never make but I still like to watch.

    Question of the Day: Do you enjoy cooking? Have you seen Julie and Julia?

    Yes, I have always loved to cook and bake.

    Yes, I have seen Julie and Julia. I liked it but I don’t think I will buy it.

  14. erica best

    Julia Child is my fave tv cook i love watching her as a kid

  15. Pingback: And The Heavens Opened… and We Were Sore Afraid… Part 2 « craving a life

  16. My favorite TV Chef is Alton Brown… I like the science behind the cooking. Also, I liked you on Face Book under my real name.

  17. Andrea

    Hi Whitney! It’s been awhile, but I thought I’d check in on you. Saw your picture in the art show at the fair! Nice shot. I love to just look at cookbooks, I collect them. I have made my own of my favorite recipes and a few I really want to try. After that, I go to the handy dandy ward cookbooks…I have my own ward plus my mom’s and my mother-in-law’s.

  18. Pingback: Fare Thee Well… « craving a life

  19. Deanna

    I LOVE to cook, try new recipes and especially bake. Baking has been a passion for me for years. Far longer than healthy eating. So, now my trick is trying to make those great baking treats healthier. This would be a fabulous treat for me to win! Not every recipe that I try works out either, especially the “calorizing” friendly ones.I’d say about 50% of them don’t work out. Either they don’t cook right, or I don’t cook them right, or they are just flat out lacking any sort of flavor/proper texture. Gotta keep on trying though, right?

Leave a Reply

