Fare Thee Well…

I tried a new dessert this week… strawberry pie… except instead of 8 bajillion calories per slice there were 51 calories per slice.  I pretty much rebelled and had 2 slices for a total of 102 calories… PORKER and proud of it… and then I went and added 4 tablespoons of lite Cool Whip for a total of 142 calories.

Oh, it was glorious!  Definitely a keeper… and next time I may try peach pie while the peaches are in season and all!  Why are there so few calories in a pie?  There’s no crust for one thing (although, next time I may branch out and crush up some graham crackers to sprinkle on the top).  The recipe?

Ingredients:
4-5 cups sliced strawberries
2 cups water
1 package fat-free sugar-free vanilla cook and serve pudding mix, Not Instant pudding (small box)
1 package Jell-O Sugar-Free Strawberry (small box)

Instructions:
– Spray a pie pan with PAM.
– Cut up fresh strawberries, enough to fill the pie pan, about 4-5 cups. Put into the pie pan.
– Mix together 2 cups of water with 1 pkg of Vanilla Fat Free/Sugar Free Cook and Serve Pudding- not instant!
– When it begins to boil and thickens, remove from heat and add 1 pkg of sugar free strawberry jello- stir until dissolved. Pour over the strawberries and refrigerate until set.

Glorious hallelujah!  I ain’t even lying, Vern!  Move over Village Inn…

—  As an FYI for anyone who cares…  I won’t be blogging next week since I’m going to be par-taying it up for a whole week… my first time off in 2012.  It’s a really bad time for me to leave… especially for my poor overworked QA co-workers, but then if I sit around waiting for the perfect time, I’ll be sitting around until forever.  There will always be something to make it bad timing… sometimes you just gotta jump.  I’m jumping.  The guilt will go away by the end of the week, right?    I’ll be back to announce the TWO winners of my prestigious giveaway on Monday, August 27th.  Don’t you forget it!  This would also be the time to remind you that if you haven’t entered, you have all next week to do so.  Did I mention all the cool kids were doing it?

Where am I headed?  I have possibly the weirdest plans on the planet.  It’s summer and it’s hot… so I’ve decided for the first part of the week, I’m headed to the extreme desert to toast up a stinking storm… Vegas Baby… 110 degrees in the shade!  What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas… except I’m an old grandma by heart so the likelihood of anything aside from face planting in the middle of the Vegas Strip happening is pretty much null and void.  I’ll be sure to let you know if anything scandalous goes down, though… like boiling an egg on my forehead or forgetting to take my morning multivitamin.  For the end part of the week, I’ll be headed to Jackson Hole, Wyoming.  Polar opposite cities… but both within a stone’s throw of where I live.  I’ve also been to both cities on several occasions throughout my life.  Quick trips… busy days… and I hope to come home in at least 2 manageable pieces!!

Have a fabulous weekend and next week, friends!  Take care and don’t do anything I wouldn’t do in Vegas… multivitamins will not be forgotten!  😛

Question of the Day:  Have you ever been to Las Vegas?  Any last minute, out of the way recommendations for things I need to do there?

 

9 Comments

Filed under Food, Getting A Life

9 responses to “Fare Thee Well…

  1. Avster

    What’s the man in the basement got to do with this? Well… except for maybe no one would take him unless one won him in the lottery… and even then that might be pushing it a bit.

    Nope, never been to that thar Vegas.

  2. cl2

    Yep–been to Vegas. Hate the place. Jackson–another story. I love the Jackson area–not necessarily the town. Tetons, Yellowstone. I hope you have a great time–and week off!!

  3. Susan

    Hope you have a fabulous time on vacation! I’ve never been to Vegas (I’m showing you my sad face).

  4. The pie looks yummy-I will have to give it a try. Have a fabulous vacation! I hope you return relaxed, rejuvenated and guilt free. (Whit, it is okay to think about yourself every once in a while, okay?) I hear there is a great chocolate factory tour that you can do in Vegas.

  5. Louisa

    I love strawberry stuff but can’t choke it down if it has Jello in it. I just can’t do Jello…ick.
    I could make it for my family though – they love strawberry AND Jello.

    Wow – sounds like quite the trip, Whitney.
    I hope you have safe travels and a terrific time.
    Take bunches of pictures.
    You deserve the trip, the break, and the time away. No guilty. Work will manage itself and still be there when you get back all refreshed and rejuvenated.
    You know you have filled in while others went away and the world did not end – it got handled. The same thing will happen while you are away – it will get handled.

    Question of the Day: Have you ever been to Las Vegas? Any last minute, out of the way recommendations for things I need to do there?

    I haven’t ever been to Vegas. Can’t say I have ever been tempted to go there either.
    I can think of LOTS of other places in Nevada I would rather go.
    Here is a link to Nevada Tourism in case you want to check out places along your route to visit.
    http://travelnevada.com
    The top tab has THINGS TO DO / DESTINATIONS / TRAVEL GUIDES / and EVENTS & SHOWS

    Have a safe trip sweetie!

  6. Zumanity is a good show in Vegas…sexy but still cirque(y)….The neon museum & old Vegas downtown is also cool & a little different from the pretentious Strip scene…Also, if you are mobile, Springs Preserve, Mt. Charleston, & Red Rock Canyon are nice changes of pace here…

  7. Or, you could course just bar hop, & potentially become a subject of my blog 🙂

  8. Natalie

    Wow, that picture doesn’t even look real! Enjoy the hell out of Vegas!

  9. Deanna

    That strawberry pie looks divine! I am going to try that out! Thanks for sharing.

    I have been to Vegas twice. The first time, I partied like a rockstar (this was YEARS ago) and the second time I was pregnant but had won a weekend trip all expenses paid – so that was less crazy. MUCH less. In fact, since I don’t gamble, this was really not much of a trip at all. LOL! Personally, I don’t care much for Vegas but that’s just me. It could be that I missed out on some great stuff to do there though.

    Have a great time! I just returned from vacation yesterday, so I have to go catch up on all of your blog entries and enter that there contest!

Leave a Reply

