Biking Man-a-way…

You know you’re from Northern Utah when you can pronounce this city correctly:  Mantua.  Nice try foreigners… you said it wrong.  It’s pronounced Man-a-way (great name right… men away) and it’s nestled in Sardine Canyon between Logan and Brigham City.  Totes a blink-and-you’ll-miss-it city, but it has a lake/hole with water poured into it.  I’d heard that there was a trail all the way around the lake that one could ride a bike/walk on… and I’d wanted to take the bike out there for months and months to do it, but never found the time.  Having come back from Vegas to discover that I needed to stay around town to situate my schooling, I decided to make a day trip of it one day and headed out.

One problem… the day I picked to go, my dad hadn’t come home with his pickup truck, but his work bus instead… and sadly Beulah the Buick’s trunk space had room for a tricycle and a Barbie car… not a bike or two.  I didn’t let that issue derail me and instead begged my dad into driving the bikes in his bus to Brigham City where Madre and I would drive out, meet him, and steal his truck.  Using the ole noggin for something other than keeping my head from caving in… THUMBS UP!

The trail was more of a hard-packed gravely thing… but it was a pretty nice trail.  Madre complained that the scenery wasn’t pretty enough.  What did she expect from a town with no men… I JOKE!  It wasn’t as pretty as my Tony Grove or Bear Lake would have been, but there were some nice parts.  I can find beauty anywhere these days… unless it’s a gas station bathroom stall… ain’t nothing bee-u-teeful about those places… no sir!

The bike/walking trail is actually that smaller one to the left of the road.

Madre growling about the scenery on her Gramsy Bike with a pair of aviators in hand.  Who says biking don’t mean you can be a fashionista too!

For those of you unfamiliar… them there are trees… and that other stuff is polluted sewage stores.  😛

The beach portion… there were some dudes water skiing… or more like belly flopping every 5 seconds.  Better than the 0 seconds I could have been up.

Check out my pal, Mr. Bee… we had to become pals on account of the fact that I’m allergic to bee stings.  Back off… I ain’t afraid to use this mace!

I’d do it again.  Just need to rent me a bus of some kind… oh, and note to self:  Invest in bee mace!

Question of the Day:  Do you have a favorite walking/biking path/trail?  Where is it?

9 Comments

Filed under Exercise

9 responses to “Biking Man-a-way…

  1. Avster

    I don’t know…. the scenery looks okay to me. 🙂

    If I were a guy I’d say that my favorite trail is the trail to the kitchen… or the bathroom. ~rolls eyes~

    However… since I’m not male… I’ll tell ya that I don’t have a favorite place… but there are tons of trails around my neck of the woods. ~wink wink nudge nudge~

  2. dessawade

    I have two favorite trails that are close to home and can be done in an hour before I have to go to work. Green Canyon has a sweet little trail starting at the King Nature Park and the River Walk Trail up Logan canyon follows the Logan River. Both very refreshing and envigorating workouts. I need to remember to put my car keys in a safe place though because today was the second time they fell out of my jacket pocket and I had to backtrack to find them. 🙂

  3. LOUISA

    Looks like it was a beautiful day! Love the pics

    Question of the Day: Do you have a favorite walking/biking path/trail? Where is it?
    I get bored going around and around our local park trail even though the lake is pretty.
    I don’t have a scenic trail but I do like to do my 4 mile loop ( walking, biking, or running ). Sometimes, like today, I do it backwards just to mix it up.

  4. I can’t believe I lived most of my life in cache valley and never knew there was a trail there! 🙂 (Okay, I can believe it–I’m the type of person, who after living 18 yrs in a house can say, “What! I didn’t know there was a light switch there!”)
    I have a favorite place to walk here called the Red Cedar Trail. It is surrounded by trees and bordering a river. When you are on it, you can almost forget that there aren’t any mountains here 🙂

    • LOL!! Yet another thing we have in common! I hadn’t even stepped foot in Mantua until I was in college and the institute choir sang at a church there. Patheticness! Red Cedar Trail sounds like a keeper… You should just buy sunglasses and tape pictures of mountains on the insides… it will be like one of those view master majigs! Totes styling!

Leave a Reply

