Extreme Fajiters…

Go Tell Aunt Rhody.  Go Tell Rhody.  Go Tell Aunt Rhody, the old gray goose is dead.  What a depressing song… and it’s for kids?  Hey Rhody… your dagnabbed gray goose is road kill… let’s sing an upbeat happy song about it and then we’ll roast her up for dinner with some fingerling potatoes and a nice green salad.  Meanwhile, back here in the land where my gray goose is alive and well, but imaginary, here are a few of my favorite meals from last week!

This happens to be my new most favoritest-est-est-est-est way to make scrambled eggs/egg beaters/egg whites.  Add one more -est to that word!  It gives the eggs so much flavor.  Cook up the scrambled egg/egg beaters/egg whites in the pan as usual.  When they are done, keep the pan on and add some salsa (I used 1 Tblsp. here, but go crazy).  Then, mix the salsa into the egg/egg beater/egg white and let it cook until the salsa is warm and it gets a bit crusty on the bottom.  HOT DOGS IN A CONVENT that’s good… and I ain’t just saying that to suck up to the convent hot dogs.

I bawled my way through a few episodes of Extreme Makeover:  Weight Loss Edition a few weeks back… like ugly bawled… not just regular bawled.  I may or may not have been PMSing at the time.  Through my ugly bawling spree, the healthy chef lady from the fat farm was teaching us how to make shrimp fajitas, healthily.  Darn tootin’.  I decided I was going to jump on the fajita train and make the special Whitney version of the recipe.  It’s special on account of the fact that I didn’t follow anything her recipe said because I had zero of the ingredients she wanted me to have, so I invented this here recipe… and I gotta say… not to toot my own horn or anything, it was the best plate of fajitas I’d had… heatlhy or not so healthy.  The trick was in marinating the vegetables for an hour or 2 before cooking them.  For anyone interested, allow me to type up my Extreme Fajiter recipe!

Whitney’s Extreme Fajitas

1/2 cup unsweetened pineapple juice
1/8 cup lemon juice
1 medium onion peeled and cut into strips
1 red bell pepper cut into strips
1 green bell pepper (or yellow or orange) cut into strips
1/2 cup pineapple tidbits
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 tsp. cumin powder
2 tsp. chili powder
salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients.  Let sit in fridge to marinate for at least 1 hour.  Remove vegetables and place in bowl.  Add reserved marinade to saucepan and heat until boiling. Then reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes, set aside.  Add drained vegetables to pan.  Cook until onions are translucent, about 5 minutes.  Toss with reserved marinade and heat through.  Serve with warmed tortillas and cheese and tomatoes and pinto beans and corn or whatever other toppings your precious heart desires!  For serious!

The reason it was yummy?  The sweet mixed with the heat mixed with the vegetables… and the marinading portion.  Glorious!  I’m sure you could just as easily add chicken or beef or shrimp to this… no problemo at all!

What did I say about fall bringing the pumpkin to the forefront?  It’s squash… squash is a vegetable… I hate the texture of squash… unless you add delectabilities to it!  This here is a low-calorie single-serving pumpkin pie!!  Under 150 calories per serving and it isn’t even Thanksgiving yet!  I didn’t have all the stuff they wanted for the crust, so I just used crushed up graham crackers and it turned out fine.  I also didn’t make the topping they suggested and just plopped some lite cool whip on the top.  Maybe I’ll make this for Thanksgiving at the old folks home!  They’ll thank me later for adding 2 hours to their life span!

Question of the Day:  What is your favorite Mexican food?  

PS – Thank you all sweet people for the great advice and replies to yesterday’s post.  You all sure know how to put a gal at ease… and you can be sure I’m going to look into each and every piece of that advice! 

6 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Food, Recipes

6 responses to “Extreme Fajiters…

  1. Avster

    You’re welcome, but I don’t think my advice is what you’re thank you-ing. 😉

    Favorite Mexican food? Eh, not much a fan of Mexican. Too many strong spices… too many peppers…

  2. Deanna

    This looks delicious! Fajitas are my favorite too! I also have been making Fajita Bowls. Some rice with cilantro and lime juice, topped with sauteed peppers and onions, diced chicken (for meat eaters) guacamole and salsa. YUM!

  3. LOUISA

    In case you were wanting to make your own fajita bowls…don’t go and buy the new ones on the infomercials! All you have to do is turn over your muffin pan and put the flour tortilla in between the bumps ( this works better with the smaller tortillas ).
    If you want to see what it looks like – go here:
    http://lifehacker.com/5885277/make-your-own-taco-bowls-by-flipping-over-a-muffin-tin
    You just bake them in the oven so it is healthier than frying.

    Question of the Day: What is your favorite Mexican food?

    My favorite Mexican dish is probably the taco salads in the tortilla bowls. I love them!
    I love fajitas too but prefer the ones I make here at home.
    I even use my own fajita seasoning ( that I got off Pinterest) because my daughter is allergic to something in the pre-packaged season packets you buy at the store.
    Here is the link: http://www.imperfecthomemaking.com/search/label/thrifty
    ( scroll down past the Lentil & Brown Rice Tacos to see the fajita seasoning recipe.
    You might like the Lentil & Brown Rice Taco recipe too, Whitney!

Leave a Reply

