Back in 1883…

… after the wedding ceremony of my parents.  Bwahahahahahaha… I slay myself!  Okay, maybe add a few years to that guesstimate.  My folks celebrated their 119th minus approximately 81 wedding anniversary this past Wednesday… and since I’m such a pain in the butt and yet very thoughtful daughter, I thought I’d walk y’all through a few of their engagement/wedding photos.  Get out your sunglasses.  I warned you!

This here would be a really bad quality engagement picture.  Back in them days they didn’t have no fangled dangled cameras.  A line of monkeys sat out in front of them and drew this here picture with crayons.  Do not adjust your screens.  That is an orange dress.  I hear it was this exact dress that was the inspiration for the prison orange jumpsuit.  That’s the truth!  Also, I guess my dad may or may not have been hungry for lamb chops on account of he just decided to grow them on his face.  Dark glasses and ringlets were big in them days too.

You can’t see them in this picture… the angle is bad… but there were EMTs standing in the rafters just in case the men got choked to death by them there ruffled shirt and bow tie combination.  That’s my gramps Bill, grams Ella, grams Adeline, and step-gramps Bill.  You wouldn’t know it to look at them but they were wondering where the nearest feeeeesshhh plates were.

In case you were wondering, I was not invited to the reception!  THE NERVE!!

I only recognize the one bridesmaid… wut up, Aunt D!?  The rest were hired from Craig’s List… which since they didn’t have computers back then was actually just a dude named Craig who lived in a house and had a list.  You’d go ring his doorbell.  Flouncy hats were apparently in fashion as well.  I seem to remember seeing a plant pot that looked like one of those flouncy hats when I was a youngster.  Who’s missing their flouncy hat?

Happy Anniversary, Madre and Padre!  I spent a lot of time wishing I was never born throughout my life… the faux-tragic-teenager years and the depressed hippo 500+-pound years, but I can honestly say that I’m glad to be alive today.  What a difference a few attitude adjustments make!

Question of the Day:  If you’re married, how long have you been married?  What were your wedding colors?  

24 Comments

Filed under Family

24 responses to “Back in 1883…

  1. deannawade@gmail.com

    That was fun!! We all look so YOUNG!! Happy Anniversary to your parents and my best friend in high school!! I’ve been married 41 years and my colors were pink. Your mom stood in my line. Fun, fun times.

  2. Natalie

    How very 70’s! I was married in the 80’s with the same yicky peachy bridesmaid dresses (My Mom picked them, I hated them). I was married 15 years, divorced, then this next May will be my 15 yr anniversary with Mr.Nammy-2. There’s never going to be a 3. It’s too exhausting!

  3. Katbaran

    Happy Anniversary to your folks!

    I’ve been married forever! Not really. For 31 years. We got married in 1981 and I had those same hats your parents did, only in periwinkle blue! Our colors were periwinkle–bridesmaid’s dresses and dove grey–for the tuxes–they also wore periwinkle shirts to match the bridesmaids’ dresses. Yup, classy. Both hubby and I wore white.

  4. Avster

    I’m happy you’re alive too. 🙂

    Happy Anniversary, madré and padré! 🙂

  5. cl2

    Well, you know about my marriage . . . Your parents have been married 48 years? They aren’t old enough to be married that long! Those hats on the bridesmaids!!!! I had to wear one of those hats for my friend’s wedding–I don’t do hats! My “color” was light blue. I didn’t have bridesmaids or a line–I’d stood in those lines enough times and shook hands of a zillion people I didn’t know–I wasn’t going there.

    • LOL, Colleen!! Remind me never to try to make up a math problem when I’m half asleep! Subtract 10 years from that 48 and you’ll have it right! another person who wore the flouncy hat! I am so with you on the lines… PASS!

  6. Lindsay

    Mom you look so pretty your skin is flawless and glowing and she still looks that good! And dad, really hasn’t changed that much either! Happy Anniversary to the greatest parents ever!

  7. Karen

    Loved the pictures and can’t wait to see you Mom! Fun ! First time the colors were blue, second time just took friends to lunch. Second time was far more mature!

  8. LOUISA

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!! I think the last pic is my favorite – so sweet!

    Question of the Day: If you’re married, how long have you been married? What were your wedding colors?

    Yes, married.
    Let’s see…(figuring in my head ) …it will be 17 yrs on Valentines day ( Feb. ).
    Our wedding was just us in my husband’s family church ( now our family church ) with the pastor and two witnesses ( some friends of ours ).
    I wore a white wedding type blouse and white slacks.
    My husband wore a dark blue dress shirt with pinstripes, a tie, and dark slacks.
    I had a red rose for my bouquet/Valentines.
    Friends had a surprise reception for us afterward with a white cake with red roses on it, showered us in red rose petals, red punch, and fun games.

    It was simple and still classy and that is all we wanted.
    We were in and out and on our way to a resort for our honeymoon…

  9. Blythe S. Berger

    Loved the photos!!! Thanks for sharing. I didn’t know your folks when they were that young, so they added to my “Berger education.” What fun!

  10. Dessa Wade

    Thanks Whit for the trip down memory lane. Why didn’t someone tell us that we looked stupid kneeling in the garden. That was dad’s backyard garden so we were trying to show it off. And why am I always looking the other direction? And why was Rex wearing sun glasses in the photos? Oh Boy, we must not have had a very professional photographer. Oh, to be that young again!

  11. I love your parents! What fabulous people–so fun to see their wedding shots!
    I have been married a whoppin’ 10 years now. I didn’t have “colors”–so non-traditional. But my mom and I were just talking the other day about you singing at my wedding breakfast thingy. Thanks again–that totally made it a party 🙂

    • Ditto that to your entire family, Alena! I totally remember your shindig and it was a great way to do it. I also remember singing at the breakfast thingy… I mostly remember wearing a silver parachute with a red face! I cannot believe it has been 10 years already! How old are we anyway!?

  12. Susan

    I’ve been married for 4 1/2 years – got married late in life. Because I got married so late in life, I didn’t subject my friends to any bridesmaid-y requirements. We had a small but formal wedding and no attendants. It was nice – cool spring evening as the sun went down. My colors were blush and bashful. Just kidding – throwing out a movie line. I didn’t really have a theme color. My flowers were cream roses and green hydrangeas. There were also a few pink roses put in at the insistence of the floral designer.

  13. Deanna

    Congrats to your parents! I love these old photos. My mom’s wedding photos are just as amusing. Her bridesmaids all had white umbrellas. HA!

    My husband and I have been married 6.5 years now. Our wedding color was a lilac purple. Very pretty, but who knows – years from now we will all probably laugh about that too.

Leave a Reply

