Crockpotting Pasketti…

I’ve been sitting here for 12 minutes trying to figure out what the guy was thinking who invented a crockpot.  See here… let’s stick a cow, hide and all, in this here candle warmer, go to work, and when we get home dinner is served!  It slices, dices, diapers your baby, and slaps your grandma.  What an invention!  I want to invent some contraption that does the dishes for me.  I NEED one.  Dishes after cooking are my worst enemy… that and the Ebola virus.  Here are some pictures/ideas from last week’s menu:

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day… don’t you forget that!  This here was a piece of whole wheat toast with a slice of cheese , an apple straight from the orchard (the crunchier the better for Whitney), and greek yogurt with 2 Tblsp. of granola stirred in.  Pretty tastee!

Oh boy… I had issues with this sucker.  Mexican Rice and Bean Casserole…  My issue stemmed from the fact that I REALLY think that there recipe gave me the wrong instruction as to how much water to add so that the rice would cook all the way and not be crunchified.  It told me to put in 1/2 cup of water for 3/4 cup of rice… granted there was also a can of diced tomatoes in juice thrown in there, but seriously… still not enough water for that much rice.  I had to keep adding water.  It finally cooked, but it turned out mushier than I would have wanted it because I had to cook it for so long.  It was still tastee… if you get the water/rice issue sorted out first!

This here is my version of a relish tray!  I always love those little Tupperware things… the relish trays with the little compartments for the different foods and then you slap some dip in the middle (I meant like Ranch, not my sister… bwahahahahaha!).  Also, Rold Gold honey wheat pretzel rods are yummified!

This would be my Crockpot Marinara Pasketti Sauce!  I adapted the recipe to what I had on hand… but this stuff is packed with vegetables… green peppers, celery, carrots, onions, tomatoes… and I almost added mushrooms but then I didn’t have any… so scratch the “almost” comment.  What’s easier than dumping everything into a crockpot and turning it on for 10 hours?  Nothing!  On account of there was some vegetable dicing, this did take some prep work, but once that was done I didn’t have to babysit it… which is always a good thing… especially when it dirties it’s diaper!   Ew… INAPPROPRIATE FOR A FOOD POST, DISGUSTINGTON!

Question of the Day:  Do you have a favorite store-bought brand/recipe for marinara sauce?  

13 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Food

13 responses to “Crockpotting Pasketti…

  1. Natalie

    Food pictures always get me zero’d in!

  2. Karen

    must admit that you food pictures make food good enough to eat even when healthy!

  3. Avster

    Nope, can’t say that I do.

    This made me laugh. Poor Lindsay.
    “the relish trays with the little compartments for the different foods and then you slap some dip in the middle (I meant like Ranch, not my sister… bwahahahahaha!). “

  4. LOUISA

    Question of the Day: Do you have a favorite store-bought brand/recipe for marinara sauce?

    Yes, I love the Dei Fratelli Products but they are sometimes hard to find.
    http://www.deifratelli.com/product_pages/pastasauces.html
    If you scroll down this link – you will see the Marinara sauce and it even gives you the nutritional info too.
    Here is a homemade marinara sauce recipe in case you were interested – http://allrecipes.com/recipe/best-marinara-sauce-yet/
    A Quick Marinara sauce recipe too off SkinnyTaste.com : http://www.skinnytaste.com/2011/09/quick-marinara-sauce.html

    Come to think of it, I usually have the ingredients on hand, I should just make up a big batch and put it in 1 gallon freezer bags for when I need it, then it is there.
    {taps chin thoughtfully}

  5. jen

    Prego has always tasted good to me

Leave a Reply

