Cabbage Baggage…

So, I guess when I made my menu last week I was suddenly obsessed with cabbage.  I don’t know what came over me, but it happened and I was sore afraid.  Who gets obsessed with cabbage?  There is not one ounce of chocolate on that sucker!  I’m an embarrassment to the choc-a-holics of the world… EMBARRASSMENT!  A few of last week’s dishes:

Tee hee hee hee heeeeeee… CABBAGE!!!  This was called Whole-Food Coleslaw with a Secret Ingredient… ooooo… the suspense!  It wasn’t so much secret since she told me outright right in the recipe what the dagnabbed ingredient was!!  Swiss cheese… shredded.  Glory glory hallelujah… teacher hit me with a ruler.  Very tastee, I might say.  I did some finagling with the recipe to cut down on the calories… halving the sauce ingredients… and it still turned out yummified… but I prefer my vegetations to crunch… not sog.

The next cabbage dish?  Thai Veggie Peanut Wraps…  As you can plainly see, mine didn’t so much make it into wrap form.  Whitney has no patience for wraps.  Get a life and call me in the morning, wrapping people!  Instead, mine is a pseudo-faux-salady-thingamajigger.  I think you could probably do away with the wrap part completely and this would still be as tastee as the weekday is long.  You could probably even add some chicken or beef or meese meat and go to town!  Let’s face it, the secret to this recipes success… the peanut sauce!!!  YUM!!!!!!  I halved the recipe on the peanut sauce to cut down on calories and it was still tastee.  Cabbage… who knew it had so many uses?  Next week I might try scrubbing the tile grout with the stuff.  I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Question of the Day:  Do you like cabbage?  Any favorite cabbage recipes?  

 

20 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Recipes

20 responses to “Cabbage Baggage…

  1. Suziq1023

    Love cabbage! Always put wedges in roast, wilt it in a skillet or slaw (with Marzetti’s dressing). Yum

  2. Amy

    Looks delicious! Your peanutty concoction looks much yummier than the recipe site pic. I have a guilty affinity for cabbage but I have only figured out sticking it in veggie soup. Now I’m gonna try these recipes. I never woulda thought of shredding Swiss cheese- seems too holey but wouldn’t that be a yummy lil transgression? Mmm (: home is looking gorgeous as usual.

  3. Lindsay

    Looks really good! I do love cabbage on corned beef sandwich’s weird I know!

  4. cl2

    No. Need I say more?

  5. Avster

    On the whole, no I don’t care for cabbage, but I do like sauerkraut. 🙂 I don’t like a lot of sauerkraut though… just enough to flavor the sandwich.

  6. jen

    Those recipes made me crave vegetables. That never happens so they must be good.

  7. LOUISA

    Looks really good, Whitney.

    Question of the Day: Do you like cabbage? Any favorite cabbage recipes?
    I like cabbage in the creamy cole slaw.
    Like this: http://penniesonaplatter.com/2012/03/21/memphis-style-coleslaw/

    I like it in the Asian cole slaw also – http://eastvillagekitchen.com/2009/05/24/crack-slaw-an-asian-cole-slaw-recipe/ ( but with the apple cider vinegar and the lime juice )

    I don’t like cabbage in sauerkraut or really any other way…

  8. Looks yummy, especially the peanut one! I do like cabbage–I like to put it in a nice minestrone soup or a salad.

Leave a Reply

