Happy Pumpkin Ween…

We have this annual tradition in the valley… every October we have what’s called the Pumpkin Walk.  A bunch of uber talented valley folk (what up all my favorite North Logan Pumpkin Walk Doers) make scenes using pumpkins and gourds, oh my!  This year’s theme was about games… whether it be board games or games in movies… just games.  Soooooooo many clever scenes up in that joint.  You’re usually supposed to attend at night when it’s dark because it’s totes about the ambience… scary boo boo!  I didn’t have a night, so went on a Saturday afternoon a couple of weeks ago instead.  Here are a few of my favorites:

Awwwww… the giraffe from Madagascar.  Super clever set up, right?

Look y’all!  An exact replica of Whitney!!  Or the blueberry girl from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory… fine!

Professor Plum in the Billiard Room with a Knife anyone?

LOL!  Has anyone ever seen that really quality show on ABC where idiot people run around a course getting thrown around and whapped in the head by swinging objects?  Wipeout!

This was by far one of the more impressive ones (great job MarLyn, Holly, et al.) because it encapsulated like 4 different scenes from the movie, Hunger Games.  Pictured is just one scene… it went on and on and on!

 This one just made me get all girly and squealy!  Super duper ca-ute, right!?

As did this one… all the seasons… see the super clever Christmas Tree in the back… and that turkey and scarecrow and snowman!

Alice In Wonderland!

 

Read the first picture and then look at the second one… it’s called Puppy’s Payback aka Revenge of the Dog!

Frankly, I could go on and on and on.  There were many more I took pictures of, but I’ll stop here!  You said it!

Question of the Day:  Do you carve/decorate pumpkins for Halloween?  If so, what did make this year?  Also, if you dressed up, what are you for Halloween today?  

 

 

11 Comments

Filed under Getting A Life

11 responses to “Happy Pumpkin Ween…

  1. Avster

    Fun, thanks for sharing! The snowmen were really cute! 🙂

    Nope, I’ve never carved or decorated a pumpkin. I don’t think I’d be too skilled at it… fine work with knives just doesn’t sound like something I’d be able to do well…

    I’m dressing up with a Peeps theme. Oh… wait…

    • I actually liked the snowmen because they weren’t made out of snow… how’s that for irony! :p

      You have a Peeps theme every day of the year. Maybe next year you should go as Psycho Peep!

  2. Deanna

    How super cute is that!!?? What fun! We did carve pumpkins this year, but just your traditional jack-o-lantern carving. I am not dressing up, but my 5 year old will be Darth Maul. Simply because he has a light saber. What boy doesn’t want a light saber!?

    • Carving Jack-O-Lanterns is a super way to make memories. I bet your son had a blast and will remember that time always! Darth Maul sounds super scary, but I can totally see how cool a light saber would be to wield.

  3. Blythe S. Berger

    My Ashton neighbor is originally from Logan, and her family was an integral part of the Pumpkin Walk for years. She still does a “sculpture” in her front yard – – which we all enjoy.The creativity is quite amazing! I always carved pumpkins with my kiddos, and loved it. Carved the pumpkins, roasted the seeds, the whole nine yards. I miss it.

    • It is a small world after all! How ironic is that. I always marvel at how creative these people are. I’ve never been too artsy, so to think that pumpkins could be made life like is like a foreign thing to my brain! How fun that you used the whole pumpkin!

  4. LOUISA

    Yes, we do the whole pumpkin and gourd thing.
    This year we decided to paint them instead of carving them.
    We even gave some decorated ones away as gifts to Gramma and my daughter decorated some little pumpkins for her choir director.
    We have a tiny pumpkin/fall scene ( straw bale etc ) in the front flower bed.

    The kids have been working on their Halloween costumes for weeks.
    My 14yo daughter is going to be a PEPSI soda can ( pop-top and all ) and her two best friends are going to be A&W Rootbeer and Dr. Pepper.
    My 11 yo son was going to be upside-down-man but we couldn’t come up with the right pants to pull it off so we will do that one next year and watch for the right pants at rummage sales this yr.
    He is going as a cowboy and he looks amazing ( he has the John Deere shirt under a western shirt that worn mostly open and partially tucked into his worn -looking blue jeans).
    His big belt buckle is bright and shiny but his jeans, gloves, cowboy hat, boots, and handkerchief are all worn looking. He has the worn out gloves and handkerchief hanging partially out of a front and back pocket so he looks like the type of cowboy that comes right out of the field.
    It will only be 41 degrees tonight so my daughter will be wearing a black long sleeve and black leggings and black boots under to soda can to keep warm.
    I don’t dress up much anymore ( i did more when they were smaller and i was smaller …lol ). I think I would if I wasn’t this big.
    HAPPY HALLOWEEN everyone!

    • What fun costumes for both your son and daughter! I bet your daughter and her 3 friends were a hit with their soda pop outfits. I saw the picture of the one you made and it looked awesome! Hope you all enjoyed the day!

  5. Love these! But, no, we didn’t carve pumpkins this year, and I’m not dressing up. But we did decorate the yard and we’ll have over a hundred kids coming by for candy. It’s crazy busy in this neighborhood. 🙂

    • HOLY COW!! Over 100 kids coming to trick or treat!?!? That’s crazy! For some reason we’ve never really gotten that many trick or treaters. Just the relations and close friends. I think it’s because the house is too much out of the way. Hope you all survived the trick or treater onslaught!

  6. I love the pumpkin walk!!! Looks like it was amazing as always 🙂

Leave a Reply

