Dump and Fuhgettaboutit!

Totally channeling my inner Italian!  If I had one, but sadly I only have an inner hillbilly/redneck.  I reckon I ain’t never!  Short and sweet today… some favorite recipitas from the past few weeks!

This is my new favorite breakfast invention.  I’m serious right now!  It’s a modified version of a breakfast burrito eaten flat because then it feels like I’m eating more and it makes me convulse with excitement!   The recipe:

– An 80-calorie fiber Maya tortilla
– Half of an Ore Ida hashbrown patty, cut up
– Bean mixture (black beans, red peppers, and salsa) cooked in the same pan as the egg
– An egg (must be cooked hard and crusty… sue me… )
– Cheese (optional)

The key is to cook your bean mixture with the salsa and the red peppers (and you can probably add any other veggie-tables you want) in the same pan with the egg. YUM!!  I might have to have it again next week!  Warning:  May become addicting… Costa Vida agrees!

That ain’t a pretty picture (redneck holla, y’all), but it was so gosh durn easy to make this soup, I just had to let y’all in on the secret.  This is one of those dump ingredients into a crockpot and fuhgettaboutit recipes I so enjoy.  Potato Soup never was easier!

– One 30-ounce bag frozen hashbrowns (I used Ore Ida Country Style)
– Three 14-ounce cans of vegetable broth (reduced sodium) or chicken broth
– 1 can cream of celery soup (or cream of chicken)
– 1/2 cup chopped onion
– 1/4 tsp. black pepper
– 8-ounce package cream cheese (do not use fat free, it won’t melt!)

In a crockpot, combine everything EXCEPT for the cream cheese.  Cook for 6-8 hours on low heat.  About 1 hour before serving, add cream cheese and keep heated until thoroughly melted.  Serve with cheese, sour cream, bacon bits, green onions, or whatever else you think would be good!  My recipe was about 250 calories per serving when I broke it up into 7 good-sized servings.

Next time I make this I’m going to throw in some random vegetables and make it potato-vegetable soup!

TASTEE!  Possibly a good time to log your food whilst punching me in the face for your cardio session?  Why yes… I think I will!  I got in my lunch hour walk yesterday… it was a glorious escape into the fresh air because I then spent the rest of the day/night glued to my computer due to work and homework… 88 hours worth… at least (coughcoughgiveortake70hours).

Question of the Day:  What is your favorite go-to breakfast?   Day 2… what did you do to for points in NO MORE FATMAS yesterday?   

 

PS- News Flash half of the nation that is unhappy today… I just got word from Canada… they don’t want anyone from the US.  Stay put and carry on… respectfully.

12 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Food, Recipes

12 responses to “Dump and Fuhgettaboutit!

  1. LOUISA

    Your meal pics look good, Whitney.
    Keep on trying those recipes and modifying them to suit you.
    I remember it wasn’t long ago when you were just getting started with your cooking explorations. Looks like you are having more hits than misses and you are getting really good at substituting as well. SUCCESS

    Question of the Day: What is your favorite go-to breakfast? Day 2… what did you do to for points in NO MORE FATMAS yesterday?

    Breakfast is one of my favorite meals. I have a lot of favorites breakfast foods but many of them are not healthy. One of my favorite healthy favorites would have to be omelets.

    Day 2 – I got in over 800 calories burned with cardio & strength. I mucked stalls, and walked the pasture with my kids while they rode my horses.
    I also managed to corked my left shoulder muscle correcting my mare when she was giving my son some grief. It feels a little better this morning ( I have a bit more range of motion than I did last night ). I had my Dh give my shoulder deep-tissue massage this AM before he left for work so hopefully that will help…it usually does.
    I did log my food & exercise. – see MFP. ( check! )
    Mental Health – I did do my prayers/meditation (check! )
    I got in only about an hour of reading. ( check ! )
    I only got 7 hrs of sleep though. ( droopy check….lol )

  2. cl2

    Go to breakfast? McDonalds. I was just lucky to get my work done yesterday. I’m going to have to try the soup. Sounds really easy.

  3. Avster

    Uh, Whit? uh… if I ever visit could I make my own meals? The soup looks good, but the top one. :O

    ha Fat-free cream cheese doesn’t melt, huh? Makes one wonder what it does to the body!

    You’ve seen my favorite to-go breakfast. A S’mores granola bar. 😀

    • Nope… you can NOT fix your own meals… we tie you to a chair in the shed and force feed you cat food and wilted arugula. Haha!! It has been too long since I’ve had a S’mores granola bar! Now I want one.

  4. dessawade

    My fast breakfast is Oikos Blueberry on the bottom yogurt (delicious) with 1 tablespoon granola, a banana, and 1 slice of whole wheat bread and it’s only 335 calories.
    Burned 877 calories doing interval training.

  5. Looks delicious! Thanks for the food ideas 🙂

Leave a Reply

