RIP Twinkie…

Lettuce (bwahahahahaha… I always want to do that) take a moment of silence for my childhood pal, Hostess Cupcakes.

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
Okay, that’s enough.

It’s been years since I’ve had any sort of Hostess sweet treat, but I remember eating them regularly as a kid.  They were definitely a factorer into my gaining of 530 pounds of blobules.  I remember when I was 14 and 15 years old riding my bike to the Aggie Station just to buy a stash of them without my mom knowing.  She followed me in her car one time without me knowing because she knew I never voluntarily went for the exercise thing at that age, and I was grounded for days after that one.  I can still see her standing there as I walked out of the gas station, stash in hand, her teeth about to draw blood on her bottom lip.  That was her mad face… and boy was it scurry to me.

So, I guess it’s a good thing for me to put that part of my past away.  Goodbye ole Hostess Bakeries.  I’m sorry for the loss of jobs to those who had them and I hope they can all find work elsewhere.

***

I may or may not have had a blueberry theme for breakfast last week.  Frozen blueberries are always in season and for some strange reason they are also like double the cost of the frozen other fruit.  They must be an endangered species.  Or like the GOLD of the fruit world.

The muffins are a healthy version of a blueberry muffin… healthy because they are made with wheat flour and applesauce.  They were good.  I froze the suckers and took one out at a time each morning… and now I have enough left to eat for breakfast this week.   The link takes you to the recipe, which is only a single serving version.  I timesed everything by 12 and made 12 because that’s how many muffin tin holes I had available.  Also, Cuties… welcome back to my life.  This was a particularly delicious batch of the suckers… you can’t beat a good Cutie tangeriney thinger.

I’m sure I’ve blogged about Hawaiian Haystacks before?  Beuhler?  It’s amazing what things you can plop together into a bowl and it taste so dang good!  Fruit/vegetables… throw ’em in!  This particular haystack included tomatoes (duh), carrots, celery cheese, almond slivers, raisins, chow mein noodles, pineapple, rice, and cream of celery soup… Um… DELICIOUS!

Question of the Day:  What was your favorite Hostess/Wonder product?  Are you going to miss them? 

16 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Childhood, Recipes

16 responses to “RIP Twinkie…

  1. cl2

    My mother only did that to us if we tried to sneak to the store on Sundays–we got the same reaction as you did! I don’t think Twinkees taste as good now as they used to. I really didn’t think there would be a run on Hostess stuff here in little old Hyrum, but I would be wrong!

  2. LOUISA

    Question of the Day: What was your favorite Hostess/Wonder product? Are you going to miss them?

    I didn’t even know Hostess/Wonder was going out of business!
    I can’t remember the last time I had some of the things on this list.
    Matter of fact, looking at this list on the slide show
    ( http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/11/16/hostess-liquidation_n_2146045.html#slide=more263863)
    …there are several of the products I have NEVER tried.
    I think the Hostess Cupcake with the chocolate icing layer you could peel off and eat with the white swirly icing on top or the DingDong and the Apple Pie were probably my favorites as a kid.

    I have had Twinkies before but never was a big fan. I can only choke one down if it is frozen – weird. Twinkies were my Dad’s favorite though.
    I have never tried that that purple thing ( i think it might be some kind of Snoball) and that pink thing that looks kind of like a Twinkie ( the pic says it is a Zinger?).
    Never tried their MiniMuffins, HoHos, Donettes, Pudding Pie, Chocodiles, or SusieQs.
    They don’t even look good to me.

    • LOUISA

      Here is a low cal recipe for you to try, Whitney and super easy to make to boot.
      ~Take a box of Angel Food Cake mix (just the contents of the box, no need to follow the directions on the box), & combine it with a 20 ounce can of crushed pineapple in its own juice. (No need to use a mixer, just stir it by hand) When you do this, something magical happens. The mixture starts to froth & it turns into an amazingly airy, fluffy bowl of deliciousness right before your eyes. Once it’s all mixed up, simply pour it into a 9 x 13 cake pan & bake 350 for 30 minutes.~

      I am making one today to see if the family likes it.

    • It’s a wonder they lasted so long… pun intended! I think as a kid the chocolate cupcakes were my favs as well. Thank you for the recipe idea, Louisa. I have actually tried it with lemon pie filling and it turned out pretty good. I hear you can mix it with any pie filling and have a treat!

  3. Deanna

    Eh, they haven’t tasted good in years! Although, when I did find tasteless cake products appealing, I enjoyed either the cherry pie or the golden cake cupcakes.

    Your meals look super yummy!

    • LOL!!! Tasteless cake products about sums it up! I forgot about the golden cupcakes… they were another kid favorite. It’s amazing how are taste buds change as we age and get smart!

  4. Avster

    My favorite Hostess item was the Raspberry Zingers, but I can definitely live without them. The plain Twinkies were never my favorite, even growing up…
    And isn’t it a scary thought to know that the Twinkie will outlive the packaging?

    They won’t die though. Someone will buy them out.

  5. dessawade

    I won’t miss any of the Hostess products since I haven’t eaten any in years. Back in the day we visited the Hostess outlet store regularly to buy day old bread, etc but it’s been years since we’ve done that. I really enjoyed the raspberry filled powdered donuts alot and also the zingers. ByeBye!

  6. lemon pie , my favorite but will live without!!

  7. I hate haystacks!!! sorry they just dont turn my wheels!!

  8. Seth

    Jen told me about your funny story last night 🙂 love it…I’ll still sneak out and get my hostess fix

    Hostess, RIP my love 😦 I will forever miss thee.

    raspberry filled donuts and chocholate covered donettes!!!!!!!! the best

  9. Yummy looking food! I think maybe twinkies were my fav, but I haven’t had them for a decade or two–I’m sure that now they are not around, I will develop an insatiable craving for them 😉

Leave a Reply

