3.14…

This will be on the quiz, y’all people who are in 2nd grade… PIE!  Madre found a coupon for a Kitchen Kneads cooking class, buy 1 get 1 free… and she soooo wanted to go to the pie making class.  Even though she’s already a famous pie maker… and by famous I mean familially famous.  I decided I would tag along because what says Thanksgiving more than Pie!?!?  Shush, you turkey people!  The chances of me ever having the desire to make a pie are pretty much negative 8 trillion and 45.  It just makes me want to marathon the series “Watching Paint Dry” for the millionth time thinking of all the crust -making steps (side note… there is no official series named “Watching Paint Dry,” but I do it regularly via a place called the wall in my room.)  The freezer section has pies… what’s the point!?

So, we went to the class.  The teacher was a lady who is the head pastry chef up at Deer Valley Resort in Park City, Utah… pretty much this fancy pancy place where rich people congregate and point and stare at the chic who can’t figure out why there are 13 forks next to her place setting.  Needless to say, I do better with plastic silverware at the taco joint.

Letty Flatt is her name and pastry making is her game.  On the menu for this particular class was 3 different items… the first was a Cranberry Pear Torte… SHUT THE FRONT DOOR, REGIS PHILBIN was that thing deliciousfull!

This isn’t the actual torte… I found this online because I was once again too embarrassed to stand up in the middle of the class and start taking pictures.  Let me preface this by saying, I’m not a huge pear fan.  I don’t like the gritty texture of a pear. but the combination of these flavors was dee-vine… oh Holy Night!  All she did was halve the pears, soak them in some briney thing with ginger, and put them in a circular fashion on the crust.  Easy and tastee!

Next up was a Maple Galette with an almond crust.  I can’t find a picture of that one, but it’s one of those baked custardy-type desserts… I call them contained mucusy phlegm.  It was delicious as well… despite my word painting of idiocy!

Last, but not least, a Letty Flatt invention… Orange-Pumpkin-Chocolate Pie.  Sounds disgusting right?  WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I thought it would be gross!  Who puts orange flavor with pumpkin flavor with chocolate!  That there is a sin to the chocolate people!  But it tasted like I was eating warmed up chocolate-covered orange sticks in a crust with pumpkin pie.  Does anyone know those jelly orange sticks covered in chocolate that are pretty much the best thing in the universe!?

Despite the class ending up being almost 3 hours long… (GILLIGAN!?!?!?!), it was worth it to finally get to taste test the things at the end of it all.  There were 2 older ladies sitting in front of us who were not fans of any of the pies and kept muttering about it under their breath, but I think it’s because the pie flavors were too new fangled dangled… where’s the apple pie, lady!!  Good Grief!  Sincerely, The Senior Citizen Brigade.

Question of the Day:  Do you have a favorite flavor of pie?  Do you make your own pies?  

HAPPY TURKEY-GIVING Y’ALL USA-ITES!  Because it is a national holiday tomorrow and national trample-the-weak-folk-in-a-store day on Friday, I will not be blogging Thursday and Friday… but should return on Monday to get week 3’s accountability for Operation:  No More FatMas!  Don’t y’all forget about it.   Enjoy the holiday and I’ll see you on the other side!

11 Comments

Filed under Food

11 responses to “3.14…

  1. LOUISA

    Love the Fall path picture!

    Question of the Day: Do you have a favorite flavor of pie? Do you make your own pies?

    I have lots of favorite pies. My ultimate favorite though is a chocolate cream pie. YUM! Not all are created equal though so I will have to be specific. I don’t like the cheap chocolate pie filling out of the can because the pie then has that tin-like metallic taste. I like the homemade chocolate cream pies and they don’t have to have the meringue on them. Actually I prefer the whipped topping instead.
    I do like a good homemade peach pie, homemade apple crisp, and crust-less pumpkin pie.
    Yes, I do make my own pies when I am making them for a holiday or special occasion or if my family just asks for one.
    I like to pick apples and peaches in season and make my pies up ahead of time and freeze them so we can enjoy them when the fruit is not in season ( like around the holidays or when someone makes a surprise visit).
    Same with the pumpkin. I like to work up pumpkins but since French Baking Pumpkins are getting hard to find ( i used to have a local source ), I just buy the 100% packed pumpkin by the case. ( only ingredient is pumpkin ) I don’t mess around with jack-o-lanterns because there is so little meat in them and so many seeds. French Baking Pumpkins are odd shaped but have a lot more pumpkin and a lot fewer seeds….and they are pink. I like mine right out of the field.

    • Faith

      I’m curious about your chocolate cream pie! Sounds divine! Do you have the recipe? I never made pies other than those with fruit or berries.

      • LOUISA

        Faith,

        I keep it simple and just get a box of chocolate pudding/pie filling, a graham cracker crust or chocolate crust and a tub of Kool Whip at the store. I have done more difficult ones in the past and although they have turned out good, this simple recipe turns out just as good and it takes a lot less time and it is inexpensive and no baking. SCORE!
        This is one of my family’s favorite pies now.

        Prepare the chocolate pudding/pie filling just the directions say on the box and pour it into the prepared crust of your choice and chill.
        A few minutes before you are ready to serve the pie, spread your Kool Whip on top or pipe it on with a big tip for a fancy look. You can even top it with chocolate sprinkles or shredded chocolate to make it look store-bought.

        http://www.Pinterest.com has a bunch of chocolate pie recipes if you are interested. Just type in chocolate pie at the top of the page and you will get a ton to choose from.

        Have fun with it and let us know how it turns out.
        ~Louisa

  2. Natalie

    Your pictures are fabulous!

  3. Avster

    Bwahahaha! Do I make pies. Is the sky green and the grass blue? :b

    I love making pie. It doesn’t matter what type of pie. I love it. If you need ten pies made for a function, let me know! I’m more than happy when I get to make a bunch of pies. I don’t care about getting to eat them either.

    Okay favorites… well, my favorite to eat would be the standard peach pie.
    But I love to make cream pies such as coconut and banana… peanut butter pie, oreo cookie pie, sweet potato pie, various apple pies, German chocolate pie, Tollhouse Cookie pie, French silk pie…. uh, lets just stop and say that any pie is my favorite.

    I can no longer bring myself to eat store-bought pies. They just aren’t real… and pie crusts have to be made from scratch too… there’s just no other way.

    Later today I’m going to make a “pumpkin” eggnog pie. Pumpkin in quotations because I use sweet potatoes as I don’t care for canned pumpkin and don’t care to cook down my own pumpkins.

  4. dessawade

    I really enjoy the process of making pies starting with the crusts. My favorite pie would be the Lemon Meringue that was my mom’s recipe. Second favorite – fresh peach. My mom was an excellent pie maker as well. Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

  5. Jen

    That’s funny the old ladies didn’t like it. They probably prefer more traditional pies. The orange one sounds very interesting….”never had a pie like that before”….HINT HINT…Maybe Whitney will make it for me 😉
    I like pie, but not sure of my absolute favorite. Lately I’ve been liking chocolate pies though.

  6. Pingback: Girlie Night In | The Curse Of The Single Parent

  7. Yummm! That sounds like a fun class! I really enjoy making pies and became the official pie maker in my family after Nedra taught the Mia Maids how to make crusts. My favorites are pumpkin and rhubarb. Hope your Thanksgiving is grand!

  8. Susan

    I’m more of a cake/cookie/brownie girl, but I LOVE pecan pie. It’s a staple at our Southern gatherings. My great-grandmother’s recipe involves butter, sugar and corn syrup. Just reading that makes my mouth water. My favorite pie to bake is an apple pie because I love the way it smells, but oddly, I don’t much care for fruit pies.

    Every once in a while I’ll get brave and make a crust from scratch. Then I remember that the nice people at Pillsbury have pre-made crusts so I use those.

Leave a Reply

