Thankful…

Remember that time I mentioned I was thankful for something?  Approximately 8 years ago in January?  I usually do a Thanksgiving thankful post, which I failed to remember this year… FAIL!  Who says you can only be thankful on Thanksgiving… that’s just ludicrous!  I’m thankful on any day that doesn’t end in Y and most days that start with Z.  It’s about time I voiced my thankfulness outloud… even if most of the time I find something to bellyache about.

– I’m thankful for a family, immediate and extended; one who is whacky and zany and pain in the butts and forgiving and patient (well, some of the time).  I’m thankful I’m not here on this earth alone.  As an unmarried/childless individual… and most likely one for the rest of my life, I appreciate that more than anything.  Too often I get caught up in my “Lonely” spiel… all the while failing to recognize I’m surrounded by good family… so thank you, family for being my support.

– I’m thankful for the ability to learn.  I may complain to high heaven about the time it takes out of my free time to accomplish this school shindig, but the truth is, I have enjoyed learning again.  Not that I haven’t been learning whilst not in school.  Everyday is a new learning experience for me and I’ve learned a lot over the last few years about myself and about nutrition and weight loss and all manner of fungi, but actually learning about other subjects and topics has been interesting… frustrating too, yes… but interesting as well.  You take the bad with the good!

–  I’m thankful for my health.  At this point in my life I could still be bed ridden and there are times I think I’m headed back to that awful feeling, but I’m not and I have control over that aspect now.  I am thankful to be able to walk and wog like a walrus and bike and all manner of everyday activity without feeling like I’m going to die.  There was a time when physically getting out of bed was a chore… I never want that to be an issue again.

–  As much as I bellyache about the situation and the place, I am thankful for a roof over my head and a car to drive and a job and a kitty and the pomegranate I still have yet to cut into from 2 weeks ago.

–  I am thankful for nature and the beauty of the Earth and I will forgive you for being all cold and snowy and inversiony and wintery in January as long as you promise me by April I’ll see some budding flowerbeds.

–  I am thankful for friends who are patient and kind and who put up with my many issues and still like me.  That’s a task in and of itself right there.  You blog friends are included in this one as well.  I appreciate you all… all of you who take the time to read these ramblings and those of you who take the time to comment and those of you who have always been supportive.  We’re in this together and I hope you all know that I’m rooting and cheerleading you all along in your own lives and with your own issues.

Love and hugs and all that mushy crap!

Whitney

Question of the Day:  What are you most thankful for this year?  

16 Comments

Filed under Family, Little Things

16 responses to “Thankful…

  1. Deanna

    Nice post. It reminds us what is really is important. Thanks!,

  2. cl2

    It is too early to think. What am I most thankful for? First thing that comes to mind is that I chose to get a new dog. My dogs always get me through–though losing them is so very difficult. My little misshapen dog that I rescued out of that cage with his very dirty blanket has brought so much joy to all of us. Of course, I’m thankful for so many other things, but my kids and I could never have made it without our dogs.

  3. Avster

    Too bad. I’m eating your pomegranate for you. What’s that? You still see yours? Well, I *am* eating one.

    I’m thankful for where I am at now compared to where I was earlier this year. This year has been especially hard for me mentally and emotionally… I could have definitely done without the first five months of this year, but I am extremely grateful for the many things that I learned during those months.
    I know that due to the struggles my faith is much, much stronger than it was ever before.
    While the problem I was struggling with earlier this year still exists, I’ve learned how to live with it, though I think I still need to learn to be happy about it. ~laughs~ But still, I’ve learned how to live with it and I’ve really learned to rely on God. He’s in control and I need let patience have its perfect work. All things work together for good to those who love the Lord. 🙂

    • Avster

      Someday Whit we can live together and be crotchety spinsters with loads of cats. :b I guess I’d better brush up on my crocheting skills. :b

    • 2013 is going to be a good year… right!? And yes, patience is key to getting through this life… I believe that our paths were marked before we came to this earth, we just have to be patient and walk the road. As for the crocheting skillz… how many doilies have you made? I cannot have anything less than 300!

  4. Blythe S. Berger

    I’m so thankful for my amazing children and grandchildren. This year, with one son out of a job, the others came together with love and generosity for Christmas. I’ve never been happier to go without gifts from them because they know a better place to use it. And I’m thankful for the faith of the jobless one. AND my health and a very patient husband, who most times puts put with my craziness.

  5. LOUISA

    Nice Thankful post, Whitney.

    Question of the Day: What are you most thankful for this year?

    That is one of our traditions. We go around the table after the blessing and say what each one of us is thankful for.
    I love to hear what the kids are thankful for. Their beautiful hearts express the true meaning of the holidays and family.
    I tearfully told my husband and kids how very thankful I am for them and thanked them individually for helping me get through this past year since my Dad’s passing. My husband has been my rock and balance and he has cried with me many times. He misses my Dad a lot too.
    My beautiful teenage daughter has been my best friend and exercise companion.
    My sweet pure-hearted son has been my hugger whenever I needed one
    ( which is a lot)
    I couldn’t have made it through without them.

    • We do that tradition as well… saying what we’re thankful for after the prayer on the food. It’s a great tradition to pass down and it looks like your young’uns already have it ingrained!

  6. dessawade

    I am most thankful for two wonderful daughters that bring me alot of joy (a little bit of pain-in-the neck stuff too). I value the relationships I have with them above anything else. I am thankful for the knowledge I have of the plan of life that certainly helps put things in perspective. I am thankful for a husband who feel the same way I do. I am thankful for my siblings. I’ve always looked up to them.
    p.s. It took me awhile to write this because I was just too grumpy to think of what i am thankful for but it was worth it.

  7. Karen

    I think you are special. Appreciate the opportunity to be reminded of all we are thankful for–like another year of life. Need to avoid getting caught up in so much that does not matter.

Leave a Reply

