History 1010…

I ventured to the movie, Lincoln a couple of Fridays ago.  Lincoln is pretty much the only president that both parties like these days… that’s why I could stomach a political movie.  That, and the fact that he was instrumental in abolishing slavery… which was always the lamest, most preposterous idea in the history of the United States.  To make it clear since sentence structure was never my strong point, slavery was the most preposterous idea, not abolishing it.  I’m just sad it took so long to happen.

Lincoln has all sorts of Oscar buzz surrounding it.  I’m not exactly sure what buzz is… like a bee stuck in Mrs. Lincoln’s bonnet?  But if they mean talk about acting and awards and such, I’d have to agree.  Daniel Day Lewis plays Abraham Lincoln and not that I’ve ever met or seen the actual Lincoln in person, but I pretty much thought they had movie cameras back in the 1800s to capture the actual happenings… the earliest reality show?  Kind of like Jersey Shore, except with Abe.

In case you couldn’t tell, Honest Abe on the left, Daniel Day Lewis as Abe on the right… dead ringer… am I right!?

My only issue was recognizing all of the players.  I pretty much only know about Abe and his wife, Mary… but then there were like 8000000000000 other people roaming around playing important roles in getting the bill to pass by bribing people for their votes with the promise of jobs.  To think anyone had to bribe someone to have common sense and not be a jerkazoid is beyond me… but I guess even today we have a plethora of jerkazoids roaming the streets of town.  Can’t escape a good ole fashioned idiot party!

I’d give the movie 2 thumbs up… and a knee or two.  In hindsight, it would have been beneficial to have brushed up on my history so I knew the other guys in the movie, but I suppose that didn’t diminish the storyline any.

Question of the Day:  Have you seen Lincoln?  Thoughts?  

Happy Weekend!!  Stay strong FatMas peeps… I’m saying that to myself more than any of y’all!

4 Comments

Filed under Getting A Life

4 responses to “History 1010…

  1. cl2

    I saw Whitney at Lincoln. I had the same reaction as you did. My daughter is a history major and she made me go see it. I wasn’t so sure . . . If Daniel Day Lewis doesn’t get the Oscar, something is terribly wrong. It was one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long, long time.

  2. Avster

    Nope. Pretty bad since I live in the Land of Lincoln too. :b

    I find it hilarious that Illinois makes such a great claim to Lincoln… if he had been born in Illinois I could understand it better… however, he did indeed do some great things in Illinois…
    as I like to say… ever since Abe Illinois hasn’t had an honest politician. They all figure they can’t measure up to Abe so they don’t even try… which is why so many of our governors are in jail! ~laughs~

  3. Dessa wade

    Saw Lincoln and thought it was a great movie, one of those that will go down in history

  4. LOUISA

    Question of the Day: Have you seen Lincoln? Thoughts?

    I haven’t!
    I would like to though.
    My hubsters is interested in seeing it too and so is my soon-to-be-15yrold so I thought I might just buy it when it comes out on DVD.
    Both are history buffs and it would be right up their alley.

Leave a Reply

