What I Need…

So, I lied… sue me.  This will be short because I promised I would tell myself to cork it before I hit 3 sentences.  On account of the fact that I went to the Collin Raye concert tonight and I was reminded of this song and how much I love it, I’m leaving this here for anyone else who may want to bask in the awesome of said song!  CORK IT, Whitney!  Have a fabulous Tuesday.

What I Need
by:  Collin Raye

I knew all the answers 
The way my life should go 
And when I used to say my prayers 
I would tell God so 
It seemed He wasn’t listening 
I thought He didn’t care 
But lookin’ back 
It’s plain to see 
He was always there 

‘Cause I prayed for strength 
And I got pain that made me strong 
I prayed for courage 
And got fear to overcome 
When I prayed for faith 
My empty heart brought me to my knees 
I don’t always get what I want 
I get what I need 

I’m not sayin’ that it’s easy 
Or that it doesn’t hurt 
When nothing seems to go my way 
Nothing seems to work 
These days I’m getting better 
At goin’ with the flow 
Accepting that sometimes the answer 
To a prayer is no 

‘Cause I prayed for strength 
And I got pain that made me strong 
I prayed for courage 
And got fear to overcome 
When I prayed for faith 
My empty heart brought me to my knees 
I don’t always get what I want 
I get what I need 

Every time I’ve had a door slammed in my face 
In time a better one was opened in it’s place 

I prayed for strength 
And I got pain that made me strong 
I prayed for courage 
And got fear to overcome 
When I prayed for faith 
My empty heart brought me to my knees 
I don’t always get what I want 
I get what I need 

Oh I don’t always get what I want 
I get what I need

8 Comments

Filed under Whitney's Playlist

8 responses to “What I Need…

  1. cl2

    Thanks, Whitney.

  2. Avster

    I don’t like your cork. :b

    Beautiful song with great words! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Louisa

    Love the song!
    Great lyrics.
    Know that I am thinking of you and sending good vibes for your finals ( I forgot to let you know that in yesterday’s post ).
    You will do fantabulous!

  4. Rachel Ellis

    I had never heard that song before last night and I LOVED it!! I bought that album on iTunes just for that song!

  5. What a great song!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

