Adjustment Period For Wusses…

Approximately 8 billion years ago when I was a teeny bopper of 15… all full of awkward teenager hormones and excessive zit cream (and the difference now would be?), I broke my left wrist whilst rescuing a baby pomegranate from a ravenous gildabeast (aka tripped when cross country skiing).  At that time it was my left arm and it did not require surgery, but even so I was sure that I never ever wanted it to happen to my right arm ever!  That was my worst possible nightmare for many years, that I would not be able to use my right hand and I thought of it often, horriblizing it before it ever happened…. because that’s what I do,  Whitney Worry Wart.  So, when I broke my right wrist 3 1/2 weeks ago, I was sure I couldn’t handle it.  There are a lot of things I won’t go into detail about that require the use of only my right hand.

I learned the lesson that anything can be handled and it isn’t as bad as I had horriblized it to be.  Don’t get me wrong, it ain’t a dream…but things are much better than they were 3 1/2 weeks ago.  I am able to do things with my left hand with a bit of modification.  It may not be my ideal way to do them…I am pretty particular and love my routine and hate straying from it…but I can do it and that’s the moral I have learned to this point.

I may forget this when my wrist is all better so I thought it would be a good idea to get it down in writing… kindof like a baseball bat to the head when I get Alzheimer’s.

Count down to pin removal is 4 days if all goes well.  I am convinced that 95% of my discomfort, irritation, and pain is due to the 3 gigantic metal rods sticking out of the skin on my wrist… rubbing against my bones, hitting nerves, and getting caught in the fibers of my cast and bandage wrapping so that will be a huge improvement in my opinion… BRING IT!  After that I will still have to wear a cast but I have convinced myself that it will be like living in Bermuda after living in Antactica for 4 weeks.

Hope all is well with all of you sweet friends.  Keep warm because I can’t in this below zero weather!

QUESTION OF THE DAY: Do you find yourself horribilizing situations? Or do you more go with the flow?

We get a lot of deer visitors throughout the year but these young fry decided to make themselves more at home.

Here they are sizing up their beds…maybe we should charge the going hotel room rate.

They sat there for a good hour in the snow in single digit temps…no thank you!

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Adjustment Period For Wusses…

  1. Oh Whit, you are such a trooper! I am glad the pins are coming out soon, and hope that makes things much better! I am a huge horribilizer too, and usually find that things are not as bad as I had made them out to be in my mind. I am sending all my good vibes your way. I’d send you some heat too, but we seem to be lacking it as well. I’m thinking about just hibernating for a while.

  2. cl2

    I’m still working–Sunday night–and took a break to read your blog. You made my queasy. You’d think with all we type–I wouldn’t get queasy! Keep us posted and we can all hope for double digit temperatures. We’ll feel like it is spring!

  3. Lindsay

    WOW time flies! 4 DAYS IS ALL! Rock on! Celebrate good times come on!

  4. Amy

    Oh man! Those pins will be your favorite things to never see again. Ouch! They have to be the worst. I do tend to horriblize things though I really try not to cuz somehow, those are the exact things I end up dealing with… no bueno. I have thought how horrible lately it would be to have one arm pinned, casted, n in pain. Since hitting a deer last year I can hardly drive freeway speeds for fear of something terrible will jump out n total my car &/or me. Speaking of which, it looks like your kitty wants to hunt some wildabeast for supper. Congrats on this upcoming improvement, I’m certainly excited for you.

  5. Avster

    Aw, cute lil’ deersies!

    Yay for the pins coming out this week! I don’t recall what my nephew thought of the pins in his wrist… but he doesn’t talk much so he probably didn’t say anything. :b

    I don’t generally horibilize a situation… I tend to go “whatever” and keep on trucking.

  6. Karen

    since I am functioning without a left hand I often reflect how much worse it would be if it had been my right hand. Do know how bad a broken right wrist is and was shocked the first time I used the bathroom. We do adjust! Found I could eat with my left hand if I used a spoon. Life!

  7. Louisa

    Love the pics & video of the deer. They are so pretty.

    I am glad you are doing better with using your left hand.

    Good that you will get the pins out soon. A friend of mine had a similar break & pins experience – no fun. She was glad to get the pins out too.

    QUESTION OF THE DAY: Do you find yourself horribilizing situations? Or do you more go with the flow?

    It depends on the situation with me. I don’t stress over much of anything and things have a way of working themselves out. I like to plan – being prepared helps me not to stress over the small stuff.
    Other things I stress too much about and can “horrible-ize” and my husband or kids will try and tell me to just relax about it….that I am making too big a deal about it. They are usually right too!

Leave a Reply

