Try…

If you would have told me in December that the “spring” semester (notice how spring has been quoted… more like winter, winter, winter, winter with a few days of spring nearish the end) would have taken me on such a fligflabbed roller coaster ride and I was expected to ride said roller coaster without barfing and still get good grades, I’d have told you you were insane… and I’d also have told you your zipper was down even if it wasn’t because on the inside I’m secretly like a 12-year-old boy.  I said secretly… shhhhhh…

I am pretty certain multi-tasking is not my strongest skillset.  Two things cannot be going on in my brain at the same time… it’s a known fact… obsessing about everything usually comes before anything sane.   And that’s the thing, I would have told you that about myself ALL the way back in December, which sitting from my perch of almost-May seems like 800000000 years ago… could it really have only been 4 months ago!?!?  Seriously!?!?  I could have told you that about myself because I’d never had to experience it… and I’m totes an expert when it comes to everything about myself.

I didn’t take into account the power of trying… and as I’m typing this, albeit before taking my Biology final this week, I am sitting here with an A in each class… Literature and Biology… that A in Biology could turn into a B if I totally mess up the comprehensive final… but knock on wood and try… okay!?  Gosh… negative newt!  And so my expert opinion about myself in December was wrong.  I tried and I came out alive on the other side… not too shabby for a self-proclaimed ADD OCD psychotic.

My theme song for this semester… my favorite song… love, love, love… P!nk’s Try… I’m sure there are 8 billion ways to interpret said song, but my interpretation is the best one… take my word for it…

Ever worried that it might be ruined
And does it make you wanna cry?
When you’re out there doing what you’re doing
Are you just getting by?
Tell me are you just getting by by by

Where there is desire
There is gonna be a flame
Where there is a flame
Someone’s bound to get burned
But just because it burns
Doesn’t mean you’re gonna die

You gotta get up and try try try
You gotta get up and try try try
You gotta get up and try try try

Basically, no matter what you want to accomplish comes with it’s hardships and unpleasant moments, etc., but that doesn’t mean you’re gonna die… so shut up, get up, and TRY!  Ignore this synopsis and listen to the music instead.

PS – P!nk is Lindser’s hairspiration on occasion… they could be like twins from anotha’ motha’, yo diggity.

PPS – Now that the semester is over, I aim to use this song to tackle my healthy lifestyle issue.  Just because work is busier don’t mean you don’t have time to exercise.  Seriously now.  Quit right there.

Question of the Day:  What’s been your favorite get-going song of late?  

12 Comments

Filed under School

12 responses to “Try…

  1. Deanna

    I love that photo, Whitney! I don’t have a favorite get-going song lately, simply because I haven’t been listening to much music. Even in the car, I am enjoying the silence.

    Good for you girl for juggling so much. I just started classes this quarter and wow! I am so busy, there isn’t time for much else. I know you can relate. I hope you are taking care of yourself! Much love!

  2. cl2

    Congratulations! I’m so glad you have done so well. I don’t have a song to keep me trying. I’m just out of my mind.

  3. Jen

    That is a good theme song. I don’t have a favorite song now but I really like the Les Miserables sound track. Congrats on the good grades as and enjoy the summer break.

  4. Avster

    You can do it, Whitters! 🙂

  5. Karen

    Are you going to the Pink concert in SLC in October? Good job for getting it all done and doing it well!

  6. dessawade

    Happy to see that you believe in yourself….I ALWAYS knew you could do whatever you put your mind too and now you have proved it to yourself!

  7. Kale

    Way to go, brainy smurf!

  8. Nice work, Whitney! Take pleasure in knowing you’ve done well. You deserve it!

  9. Alena

    Well said and well done!

  10. Lindsay

    CAN”T WAIT FOR THE PINK CONCERT IN OCTOBER! I read your blog tonight because I saw your title and I first thought of PINK! Can’t ever ever get enough of her! Keep tryin, there is no reason not to right?

  11. Anne Davis

    My current “GO” song is “CARRY-ON” by Fun!
    My usual “GO” song is “DONT STOP ME NOW” by Queen.
    I also like pink a lot!

  12. Louisa

    Proud of you sweetie! Great job on those grades.

    Question of the Day: What’s been your favorite get-going song of late?
    My daughter likes Pink’s song “Try” so we hear it a lot.
    My son likes FUN so “Carry On” is one of them that we hear a lot too.

Leave a Reply

