Burgeoning…

Complain, complain, complain, complain… you get the picture… or should I continue?  I feel like I’ve been very complainy lately… in all reality I’m a lucky gal and there are people who are dealing with far worse things than I ever have to imagine… and those people could teach me a lesson or 16 in how to keep it positive.  I met a lady tonight… sweetest lady… animated… smiling every time I glanced over at her from my post at the front of the room where I’d been singing… and my eyes kept finding her in the crowd (aka mini crowd… 20 tops), because she made me feel at ease.  It wasn’t until after I’d finished and was talking to some of the sweet folk in the crowd that I noticed she was in a wheelchair and had no legs.  I found myself so inspired by her.  I didn’t feel sorry for her… I wanted to be like her when I grew up… except that I’ve already grown up and I’m far from anywhere near her caliber of positive radiance.  I don’t know her… for all I know she’s someone else behind closed doors… but for some reason just witnessing her being for the few minutes that I did, I highly doubt it.

I’m like waxing poetic or some such nonsense.  Yo, Shakespeare… move over… WhitPeare be up in this here joint and she’s ready to move onto your turf, yo!  My newest complaint is the burgeoning (yes, that’s a word I enjoy using… especially out of context) shooting pains in my head, ear, and right side of my teeth.  It took me a long while to figure out what it was, and as it kept getting worse, I finally gave in and went to the doctor on Friday morning.  It seems I have 800 gallons of earwax (TMI TO THOSE OF YOU EATING LUNCH… ESPECIALLY TAPIOCA PUDDING) pushing up against my eardrum and causing this massive pressure-filled painfest in my head region.  I went to my primary care physician who stuck this lighted-up-stick down my ear and tried to scrape it out… and every time I flinched because he was whapping a light saber against my eardrum, he’d tell me, boy, you have sensitive ears.  Um… no… I’m thinking every person who has someone sticking something down their eardrum would do the exact same thing.  He sent me home with a home remedy of putting hydrogen peroxide in my ear twice a day for 3 days and then on the 3rd day try to flush it out with warm water in a syringe.  Yeah… that made it worse… it’s even more clogged up now and pain pills only help it for an hour… which is cool and all but then you have to wait 5 more hours to take another one.   I called an ENT this morning and begged them to get me in to suction it out tomorrow… I have never been more excited in my life to go to a doctor… just to be able to sleep more than 1 hour at a time will be like I done won the bacon-eating contest.    Bring it, Porky!

The moral of the story… Q-Tips… bad news… those headphones you stick in your ear… bad news… Whitney’s eardrums… more bad news…   To sum it up… don’t be a dope and hydrogen peroxide is the devil!

Question of the Day:   Do you use Q-tips?  DON’T… JUST DON’T DO IT! 

PS – Happy belated momma’s day to my sweet momma and also to all the mommas out there who may be reading these words.  Y’all deserve some sort of medal!  I hope your kids spoiled you.

PPS – Happy 40th Birthday (snicker) to my Padre tomorrow!!  Hopefully the folks at the assisted living center throw him a party like only they know how to… prune juice and Metamucil… bring it!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Burgeoning…

  1. cl2

    My ex has problems with ear wax buildup. He wears earplugs for work. He uses he hydrogen peroxide and syringe, but sometimes ends up in Work Med or ER and they flush his ears. I’ll have to ask him more and get back to you.

    • Such a bummer for your ex! Thanks for thinking to ask, Colleen… but I went to the ENT today and the wax isn’t the source of my pain… there was hardly any in there… back to the drawing board! Blugh!

  2. Lindsay

    MMMhhhhh You and your ear troubles!

  3. Dessawade

    If it’s not one thing it another for you lately Whit! You won’t have anything left to worry about soon.

  4. Louisa

    Ear wax build up problems here too!
    I grew up with regular visits to the doctor to get my ears flushed out because of the wax build up. I can really generate the stuff apparently.

    You ear tubes are supposed to drain on their own ( down the back of your throat ) but mine were narrow and twisty so they didn’t drain.

    When I was in college, I had to get my wisdom teeth removed. After that, my ear tubes straightened out and I no longer had the build up problem. My ears drain mostly at night and about once or twice a week.

    When my son was tiny he started having earaches and wax build up problems. Every summer he would get ‘swimmers ear’ in the same ear.
    I remembered what I went through as a kid and started doing some research.
    Turns out the simple things are the best.

    Mineral oil in the ear, several drops to help soften the wax. You have to leave it in there. I put it in my son’s ear when he starts to complain his inner ears itch or he can’t hear as well. The itchy inner ear is basically the dry flakes of ear wax build up scratching the inside of your canal, making it itch. I also do this to myself if my inner ear is itchy or clogged up I have found it is easiest to do right before bed so it can really soak in. You can always do the other ear the next night.
    Then when the wax is softened it will better drain on its own or if it is still clogged up, it will be easier to flush it out.
    I use a Hydrogen Peroxide and warm water flush. This is effective in getting out the clog and disinfecting and killing or flushing out any bacteria and build up.
    Try it. Once you do it a few times you will get the hang of it and you will start to see overall improvement.
    This has worked well for us and my son hasn’t had to go back to the doctor for this problem in years.
    The best news is mineral oil and hydrogen peroxide are inexpensive and can be purchased at Walgreens or even Dollar General in big bottles. I always have then in stock here.

    • Hi Louisa! That’s what I’d been using too… hydrogen peroxide. According to the ENT I saw today, that wasn’t my problem… so I guess I get to try other venues… like the neurologist or the dentist. I hope all is going well for you and yours! 🙂

  5. Ouch!! So sorry you are dealing with that! I do use Q-tips, everyday. And they sometimes hurt me even though I am being gentle, so my guess is I too have very sensitive ears! Anyway, I’ve never had a wax problem that I know of anyway, so I haven’t really experienced all that grief. hang in there! Know we are all thinking good thoughts your way!
    Julie

    • Hi Miss Julie! I am a Q-tip daily user too… and I’ll probably continue seeing as I found out the ear is not the source of my pain. Thanks for the thoughts. Hope all is well with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

