Amelia Bedelia’s In the House…

Who remembers those cute Amelia Bedelia children’s books?  The books about the unfortunate lady who happens to be a clutz and a disaster all rolled into one?  I think she might be my mother.  I had to get the genes from someone!  Tonight, within the space of 20 minutes, I managed to slice a chunk in my thumb whilst cutting onions with a crappy steak knife (useful instruments are my specialty); start a dried noodle that was sticking to the stove on fire; shake what I thought was a closed lid on a bottle of hot sauce which then squirted all over my neck, chin, and hair; and burn a sauteeing onion because I was too busy cleaning up my hot-sauced hair.  Twenty minutes… 52 disasters.  So, basically, the house almost burnt down, I smell like a burnt burrito joint, and I can see the bone in my thumb.  That right there is some TALENT with a capital all the letters!  When I’m done with all that, I think I might come to your house and help you collect some insurance money, yo!  Who’s first in line?

In unrelated news… yesterday, I wanted to make one last jaunt to my happy place to check out some fall leaves… turns out I was about 2 weeks late on the prettiest fall leaves, I guess the snow brought ’em down, instead I got to see some dead trees and trudge through mud, see snow, and brave the wind stinging my hands and nose at something like 35 degrees… with no coat… or socks… or shoes… or diamond-studded headband.  Fine… the socks and shoes were a lie, but the coat and diamond headband are totes the truth!  Eh well… better luck next year, chap.  I still got to see some beauty amidst the dead and cold.

 

The obligatory melting snow picture…

T

 

 

Meanwhile, Lucy-Fur sucks at hide-and-go-seek…

I hope this isn’t a reflection on my hide-and-go-seek skillz.  Seriously, Lucy-Fur!

 

11 Comments

Filed under Life, Lucy-Fur

11 responses to “Amelia Bedelia’s In the House…

  1. I thought those pictures were great. And Lucy is so cute! Hope you don’t need stitches on your thumb. Don’t worry, you are not the only one with clutz genes. Remember christmas 2 years ago? Well I am about to that point in pregnancy again where I lose all coordination and balance.

  2. Avster

    There’s always beauty; we just don’t always have the eyes we need to see it. 🙂

    As for the kitchen… sounds like stuff I’d do! I’m still trying to figure out what to do with my pumpkin mousse that’s more like pumpkin juice! :s

    • Pumpkin juice… now that there is a juice that does NOT sound appetizing! Maybe you can just stir some cream and sugar into it and put it in an ice cream freezer… pumpkin ice cream! 😛

  3. Dessawade

    Those pictures were gorgeous. I love the grove of Quakies!

  4. cl2

    Tony Grove? When? Saturday? I must have just missed you. We drove “the loop.” My dad always insisted on driving over Monte Cristo when we’d go to Bear Lake in the summer, so we drove to Bear Lake and down through Monte Cristo, Huntsville, North Ogden pass. There were wide varieties all along the way. Huntsville had the most variety. Did you check out he outhouses there? Oh my!!! I was desperate–but not that desperate. I’ve never seen anything like it.

    • Deja vu! I can honestly say I don’t think I’ve ever driven the “loop.” Usually when I go to Bear Lake, I just turn around and go right back through Logan Canyon. I bet there were some purty leaves on your drive. As for the outhouse! I can’t ever say I’ve been in it. I am sooooooooooooo not an outhouse girl!!! I try not to drink any water when I go to Tony Grove! 😛

  5. Alena

    Oh my! I admit that I find Amelia Bedelia a little too relatable 🙂 I hope your thumb is okay.
    What gorgeous pictures!!! And what a darling Lucy video!

  6. Lindsay

    That is the cutest video of LUCY! You should send it to Ellen and her cat week!

Leave a Reply

