Birthday Shenanigans…

This past Wednesday I turned 8 billion minus 7, 999,999,965… so basically nearing geezerhood.  To wallow in my self-pity, I decided to take the day off from work (thank you co-workers who don’t read this blog anyway) and do whatever the helium balloon I wanted to do for a day.  I was kind of spontaneous, well, as spontaneous as fork-up-her-britches girl can be.   The day started out early when we headed to Herm’s Inn for breakfast.  I ain’t gonna lie,  I had seen advertised via their Facebook page pumpkin pancakes with pecan brittle, so I was basically drooling out the side of my mouth holes for a bite of that concoction.  I was sorely disappointed when I arrived and found that had been a one-day special and I’d missed the day.  Eight days late and no-amount-of-money short.  How hard could it have been to whip up a pumpkin batter?  For serious!

MOVING ON!  Next, we started on our way to Salt Lake City, stopping at the newly-invented Amish store in Willard along the way.  Now, I’m not exactly sure why Willard, population 1750, was the ideal spot for a new store… but y’all need to shop there so that Whitney can have an Amish experience every few months!  You hear!?

They had all sorts of canned vegetables/fruit.  Like, stuff I would have never considered canning (let alone eating outside a can).  It reminded me of a quaint country store from Little House on the Prairie days… not that I was alive back in them days, but you’d never know to look at me.  I also discovered something about  buffaloes that totes evaded my knowledge base for all these years.

Well, crack me a bumbleberry, Amos… Buffaloes in the Amish country lay themselves some eggs!  Magical creatures if I’ve ever heard any.  I won’t be able to tell you what these taste like or if you find any horns inside of the eggs since I didn’t purchase any… but these are the kinds of things I can look forward to if you all SHOP AT THE AMISH STORE!  Thank you.  No excuse if you live states away… get yer hide on down here!

Meanwhile, I know that Amish folk drive horse and buggy, so I was a little a-feared about what kind of berry was used to make the following jam:

So, if horses are their traffic, is that like a horse berry!?  I don’t even want to know!

After perusing the Amish store for way too long, we finally made it down to Salt Lake City, minus stops at a few Kohl’s stores along the way.  Madre was trying to find her size in a sweater they didn’t have in the Logan Kohl’s.  She didn’t find her size at any of the Kohl’s we checked out either… then we went back home to Logan and the next day she found her size… because that is how it works.   Look and ye shan’t recieve!  Look again, and it kicks you in the mouth.

The rest of the day was spent stopping wherever we got the fancy to stop.  There were stops at some JoAnn’s crafing stores to purchase some crafting supplies I’m sure I’ll sit on for 10 years.  There was a stop at a Krispy Kreme for a pumpkin donut (you best believe I didn’t count calories this day… I think that’s a given on your birthday).   There was a stop at Trader Joe’s… I LOVE TRADER JOE’S!!!

Also, I’m starting a petition for them to build one in Logan… I have 2 signatures so far… who the heck is next!?  Trader Joe’s had like every pumpkiny thing you could ever imagine because it’s pumpkin season, and I learned that they switch out their stuff at the next holiday… consider me already down there the first part of December!

Trader Joe’s was where Madre found her one true love… brussel sprout bush, which she bought and swears she loves eating brussel sprouts!  We will see.

We also had our pictures taken in front of the fountain at City Hall (in case I ever do something illegal in the county, I’ll know where to go), except Madre kind of missed the fountain during my picture turn… and instead I got brown weeds!  😛

Imagine a fountain to your left!

We wrapped up the day by eating at the 2013 Award Winner for best Asian food according to SLC Magazine… J. Wong’s Asian Bistro where I had General Tao’s Tofu and Vegetables… and we shared some mango sticky rice!  Hallelujah!

Now, just waiting for my fortune to come to fruition, and my birthday wish will have come true!  Even if I missed out on the pumpkin pancakes!

 

It might have been a bad sign that on the way back to the car after getting said fortune, I passed this…

Pretty sure, hooded skeletore dude stole my fortune!  Let’s blame him for the pancakes too!

 

14 Comments

Filed under Life

14 responses to “Birthday Shenanigans…

  1. Deanna

    Sounds like such a fun day.

  2. Avster

    ha ha ha One of these years we will get to rock it together!

  3. what a fun birthday celebration. I love your story of the Amish store I can’t believe they sell Buffalo eggs and horse berry jam! So funny!

  4. Dessawade

    Very fun day! Thanks Whit!

  5. Amy

    So glad I ungrounded myself from fb today n got to read your fun day. Happy Birthday! Gotta come to the Amish joint. My mama was Amish in a past life I think… we have to stop n see all things horse-drawn n candle-lit, I swear. I wonder during this Halloween season, how the dentists feel about buffalo eggs… crunchy. Love seeing home. Keep up the pics n all. You can never take the mountains outta this gal. Add my autograph to the Trader Joe beggary.

    • Your mama and I would get along! I am an uber geek fan of all things old-fashioned and love to just peruse old-fashioned things! Now, actually living back then… I’ll pass… but I’ll visit for a day!

      Thanks, Amy! I hope that little angel of yours is making you smile every day! Take care!

  6. Alena

    Sounds like a great day! I’m so glad you got to party with your mom! P.S. Trader Joe’s is one of my most favoritest places too!!

  7. Louisa

    Sorry this is late –
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY WHITNEY!
    Looks like you had a really nice day.
    We have the Amish/Dutch country stores around us. Matter of fact, there is one 9 miles from my house…lol
    As for Trader Joes, I have heard good things but never been to one myself. In Missouri, they are only found close to St. Louis or Kansas City.

Leave a Reply

