Et Tu, Pillows?

I’m having a major pillow issue lately… it’s like pillow-ocalypse, except less interesting… and less ocalypsy.  So, basically it’s nothing like an apocalypse and more like a boring rendition of Monopoly on a Sunday night… except I’ve yet to pass go and collect my $200.  Follow me?  Me neither!  What the heck is up with that anyway!?

Back when I weighed 530 pounds, I had sleep apnea.  For those of you not enlightened by this fabulous disease, it basically means I stopped breathing briefly several times throughout the night… most likely because fat blobules were blocking my airway when I was lying down.  So, I had to sleep with a loud obnoxious-sounding oxygen machine in my room, wearing a nasal cannula and I had to prop pillows up at the head of my bed so that I could sleep at an incline.  I got used to sleeping that way because I slept that way for YEARS… and eventually it got to the point that if I didn’t have my inclining pillows, I wasn’t sleeping.  Fast forward 200 pounds lost and now I no longer have sleep apnea and no longer sleep with an annoying oxygen machine the size of a small galaxy in my room… but I can’t give up the pillows.  I just cannot get comfortable if I’m not at an incline and if I lie down flat, I have this irrational fear that I may suffocate during the night.  Work with me here, Pee Wee!

I’m also a germ-a-phobe, so I buy new pillows every 6 months (they usually are flattened out by that time anyway), and then have to spend a few weeks conditioning these new pillows to be comfortable in my pillow fort of psycho.  My current batch of pillows ain’t cutting it and I wake up every morning with a massive crick in my neck and a sore back.  Not to mention the pillow cuss out session I have every morning.  Lame pillows who don’t know how to do their jobs!

After several weeks of cricking necks and cussing ornery mornings, I finally gave in and was on a mission to find some new pillows.  I found some yesterday and so far… I hate them.  It’s still too early to tell but these buggers refuse to conform… kind of like Madonna during her cone brassiere phase… except less nasty.  I refuse to give up.  I may try beating these newbies with a baseball bat, see if that gets their attention… and if not, there are a bunch of rocks outside I’m sure would be a step up.

Question of the Day:  Pillows… any recommendations?  Are you a back sleeper, side sleeper, etc.?

Welcomed winter today… in the middle of fall.  I’m planning on buying the weather system a calendar for its birthday.  I’ll be sure to mark the correct snow dates with red marker.

Meanwhile, if you want to find where Lucy-Fur is, you just have to know where the latest sun patch is.  She literally follows the patch of sun all day.  I wish I was a cat… taking up all the room in my sun patches!

10 Comments

Filed under Life

10 responses to “Et Tu, Pillows?

  1. Louisa

    Question of the Day: Pillows… any recommendations?
    Here I thought I was picky about my pillows…lol
    Seriously, I love the pillow I have now. It is one of those king size pillows – not a short one that everyone has used at some point. It conforms during sleep but then bounces back when not in use. It is cool too. I hate a pillow that makes my head/face hot.
    It doesn’t get all weird and lumpy after a wash & fluff either.
    I use one of the short ones that we hated for between my knees….that is all those are good for anyhow.
    Are you a back sleeper, side sleeper, etc.?
    I am more of a belly and side sleeper.

    I have a cat that is a sun-patch-seeker also…lol.
    My daughter’s cat loves to go from the front door sun spot in the AM to the afternoon sun spot on the carpet in the living room to the afternoon sun spot by the deck door in among my potted plants.

    • Amen on the pillow that makes your head hot! I hate those too… I also hate sheets that are like that! I will have to check out the king size pillows. Thanks , Louisa! Haha… those cats and their sun spots. I tell you. I guess it’s cheaper than a heater, so you have to give that to them! Thanks for the b-day wishes, Louisa.

  2. Avster

    No pillow advise here. Mine is about as flat as can be… because I’m too cheap to buy a nice pillow. :b

    As for sleeping position… I honestly almost sleep like a cat. Any position works, even if it looks inanely uncomfortable.

  3. cl2

    These go flat–but I like them. I just discovered them by chance. Charisma. They are much cheaper at Costco than anywhere else. They are more like a down pillow. I use firmer pillow on the bottom and 2 of these on top. Yes, I use 3 pillows. If you can go to Costco, you can at least feel how they feel.

  4. Dessawade

    Nice new look to your blog Whit! I am mostly a side sleeper and I like down pillow that conform to your head.

  5. Lindsay

    Nice look! Yes I have a perfect pillow although you would HATE it, and it’s not that comfortable but i NEVER wake up with a sore neck anymore. It was like $75 I bought it from a chiropractor it is a Anatomy correct pillow and it is completely flat with a small ridge for your neck. I put a couple of germ proof covers over it and then my pillow case so that I can keep it extra germ free!

Leave a Reply

