Naturally Buble…

We bought tickets to go to the Michael Buble concert in Salt Lake City wayyyyyyyyyyy back in May-ish.  I immediately forgot that it was coming up until I was reminded the night before (this past Monday night) that the concert was the next day.  WHAT!?  Where did that whole dang year go?  I probably ate it.

We had pretty good seats… except for the time when a few minutes after this pic was taken, a dude carrying a 5-billion pound backpack and a motorcycle helmet came and sat in front of me… and then proceeded to sit his stash on top of my foot space.  I can’t tell you how many times I kicked that bicycle helmet… in a friendly way, mind you.  It was more of a friendly pat than a kick… a hate love pat.

These were my concert-going compadres.  We’d arrived about half an hour early, so spent that half hour trying to get a decent picture.  Didn’t work… no matter which direction we took the picture in SOMEONE wasn’t happy.  Madre lost the battle on this one because the one who was closest to the camera ended up looking like one of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade gigantisized balloons while the folks in the background looked tiny in comparison.  Sorry, Madre… thanks for taking one for the team!  😛  Notice I didn’t put any of me in here.  I was rivaling the Snoopy balloon in all of mine.

I didn’t know what to expect as far as opening acts go, and honestly had no clue who his opening act would be.  By gosh these fellas were good!  It was an accapella group by the name of Naturally 7 but they were far and above any accapella group I’d ever heard.  They specialized in what they called “Vocal Play,” a “wall of sound.”  They made their voices sound like every instrument you could imagine, and it wasn’t the cheesy-sounding, like the people who think they sound like a trumpet but really sound like a duck being strangled.  I was busy looking for the guitar that must have been off stage!  My favorite song they sang was a version of Fix You by Coldplay.  Beautiful!

Naturally 7 you just made a new fan… naturally!  😛

Next up… the man of the hour… Michael Buble!  He was fun… and classic… and all that good stuff.  You really can’t go wrong with a big band/orchestra and standards… plus some of his original songs thrown in for good measure!

At one point he walked down the aisle right next to where we were sitting and I turned into a Bieber Fever teeny bopper fangirl or some such nonsense.  I don’t normally get star struck… they’re people… they just happen to have more money than I do and a better hair stylist.  But, when he walked down the aisle right past me, my hand automatically shot out so I could touch his sleeve… uber creepy, y’all!  It was like space aliens inhabited my body.

I captured the uber creepy moment on video… the body guards could have wrastled my alien self to the ground… mark my words on that one!

This was the point in the concert where it rained hearts and I almost had a heart attack… literally… hearts were attacking left and right.

‘Twas a fun way to spend a Tuesdee night.  The alien has left my body, friends.  I am now back to thinking Bieber Fever needs a shower and a good swift kick to the rear patookus.  The world will thank me!

Bonus videos:

The one where he sings some Jackson 5 with Naturally 7, would that make it Naturally 8?

The one where he sings one of my favorite songs, You Don’t Know Me.

 

16 Comments

Filed under Life

16 responses to “Naturally Buble…

  1. That must have been so fun. Michael Buble is definitely crush worthy.

  2. Louisa

    Looks like you all had a good time.
    Thanks for sharing all the pics and videos!
    What a nice night out!

    Louisa

  3. Oh awesome! I would definitely love to see him in concert. His voice definitely sends shivers up my spine and my heart melt… just a little bit! haha Great seats!

  4. Tia

    I bet the custodians love cleaning up after THAT concert! Another good read, half Whit! It’s high time we united with our other sidekick, the one whose name starts with a K. Name it.

  5. Avster

    Looks like fun, Whit!

  6. Dessawade

    That was so much fun. I thoroughly enjoyed that concert. He is a classy dude!

  7. Alena

    Wow! What a fun night!!!

  8. Lindsay

    One of my favorite posts of yours! To relive that moment in my life! AMAZING! Yes one of those hands in Whitney’s videos reaching out to Michael to touch him was my creepy hand! I was so proud to pull his jacket sleeve! LOVE HIM!

Leave a Reply

