Shuffling Ice Syndrome and Breath of Heaven…

I couldn’t decide which title to use, so I inappropriately used both of them.  Shoot me.  Neither one goes with the other, but I have ADD… give me a break… oh look, a shiny penny!

Now that my favorite season of all the seasons is here full force, which is winter… NOT… I find myself adopting a new mechanism for walking outside… and by walking outside I mean literally in parking lots and/or from the car to the house… not like exercise walking.  You couldn’t pay me 8 billion dollars to get me out woggercising with ice on the ground!  AIN’T HAPPENING!  The reason being?  Almost a year ago to the very day is when I was standing out in the driveway, still as a dead, frozen mouse, when all of a sudden my feet slipped out from underneath me and I broke my right wrist.  What followed was one of the most miserable winters in all of existence… and now… I find myself shuffling like an old lady, approximately 2 feet per hour and grabbing anyone’s arm who happens to be walking near me.  I get anxiety when I think of having to walk on or near ice because ice is deceptive… you think you’re sure footed and before you know it you’re lying on your back seeing drunken dancing sugar plums in front of your eyeballs.

It’s quite entertaining to watch… for everyone but me… and I’ve adopted chanting how much I adore winter (opposite day) and how I’m going to move from winter as soon as I can afford to.  You best believe it.  Save me that shack in Arizona nearest the ocean!  😛   I even dug out the clutz Christmas present I got from my sister one year.  These rubber majiggies that you stretch over the bottom of your shoe that are supposed to provide traction.  I wore them into Kneaders on Saturday evening, got one of the spikes caught in the carpet, tripped, and the thing came flying off my shoe and some poor chic who was trying to eat a sandwich in peace had to stand up and show me where my flying rubber spike had landed.  Thank all that be holy it wasn’t on someone’s eyeball!

I best get over it.  I start classes again on January 6th and I will have to navigate the icy USU campus for at least 4 months.  Meanwhile… who has a spare spike-studded walker I could borrow for 4 months?  😛  Oh, and a Valium.

As for the 2nd title… Merry Christmas this week, friends.  I hope you all get to spend some time with family and friends and get to remember the real reason for the season amidst the Santa parts.  As my gift to you, here’s a practice recording of my Madre and I singing “Breath Of Heaven,” one of my favorite Christmas songs.  Mary’s point of view, but also a prayer we could all use for a trial we may be going through.  MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

As a side note… you can ignore in the background the TV being turned full blast because we were too loud.  Story of my life… my family is SO over me singing… moving on, folks… nothing to hear here!   Also, this isn’t meant to be a visual video… since the only thing you get to see is Mary’s stomach… I wasn’t so great at aiming the camera… or remembering the lyrics in the 3rd verse… or… eh well.

I have traveled many moonless nights
Cold and weary with a babe inside
And I wonder what I’ve done
Holy Father, You have come
And chosen me now to carry Your Son

I am waiting in a silent prayer
I am frightened by the load I bear
In a world as cold as stone
Must I walk this path alone?
Be with me now, be with me now

Breath of Heaven, hold me together
Be forever near me, Breath of Heaven
Breath of Heaven, lighten my darkness
Pour over me Your holiness for You are holy
Breath of Heaven

Do you wonder as you watch my face
If a wiser one should have had my place?
But I offer all I am
For the mercy of Your plan
Help me be strong, help me be, help me

Breath of Heaven, hold me together
Be forever near me, Breath of Heaven
Breath of Heaven, lighten my darkness
Pour over me Your holiness for You are holy

Breath of Heaven, hold me together
Be forever near me, breath of Heaven
Breath of Heaven, lighten my darkness
Pour over me Your holiness for You are holy
Breath of Heaven, Breath of Heaven
Breath of Heaven

 

9 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Life

9 responses to “Shuffling Ice Syndrome and Breath of Heaven…

  1. cl2

    Love it! And I love this song. It has personal meaning for me. I forgot you fell last year. I’ve been out walking in the snow and ice and frigid cold. I’ve fallen other years, but it always seems to be the sidewalks with little snow. They are rather deceptive.

  2. Oh Whitney you are too funny. Be careful. A broken right wrist is no fun. Thank you for the singing too. You know I love it.

  3. Louisa

    Stay safe out there!
    No more broken anythings.

    We have a good 1/2 inch of ice covering everything here in MO.
    Now it is snowing today….
    All that made it NOT fun to thaw out my vehicle this morning so I could buzz in to the grocery store.
    I have slipped but then my foot caught so I didn’t go down or anything.
    Our soon to be 16 yr old got to have her first snowball fight with her classmates on the 16th of this month. It was her last day before Holiday Break. They had a blast and the girls held their own against those boys.
    Today, I am cleaning house and wrapping the last of the gifts, baking, and doing the prep-work for the Christmas meal.
    Tonight is the dress rehearsal for the Christmas Eve program at our church. So, snowing or not we will have to go tonight.
    MERRY CHRISTMAS & HAPPY NEW YR!

  4. Lindsay

    I enjoyed it! Thanks!

  5. Alena

    Thank you Whitney & Dessa! What a beautiful Christmas gift–brought tears to my eyes. Thanks for the darling card as well! P.S. I always shuffle and hold on to other people while walking on the ice (my poor children, I figure if I hold on to them, they can at least break my fall-JK). Merry Christmas my dear friend!

    • Bwahahaha… that thought of your kids cushioning your fall made me laugh outloud!!! I keep having the thought that I shouldn’t be holding on to these poor people because if I go down, surely they will go down too! I guess the saying, “Misery loves company” is true! Merry Christmas to you and your beautiful family, sweet friend!

Leave a Reply

