All Hail The Whimp…

Seriously… bow to the masterful!  I just dropped a class because the teacher required the students to teach the class… aka I would have to give a 15-minute oral presentation EVERY single week… EVERY!  There were only a handful of us in the class on purpose so that we would get the honor of said oral presentations… the subject being pre-1900 world literary history.  Um… hello.  I was born in 1978 and I have nothing to say about post-1978 literary history… let alone pre-1900.

Also, public speaking is like my least favorite thing ever invented on this planet… LEAST!  I will eat off a public toilet seat before I’ll speak publicly (germ-a-phobe extraordinaire just offered to eat off a dagnabbed bathroom stall… you know that means something!)  So, I dropped the sucker… which brings me back to my more comfortable 2-class schedule.  You know that stuff about conquering fears and blah, blah, blah, blah, blah?  Fuhgetaboutit!  I would like to conquer my fears with another subject… like pastry eating… or chocolate bathing.  Hand me my Twix bar Loofa scrubber, Merle!

Since my computer crashed on Monday and after a hellish week of trying to figure out how to get a fully functioning work computer at home during my work pager week where I’m required to have a computer around me 24/7, I finally got me a new computer.  The only problem… it has Windows 8 and I think I’d be better at learning Mandarin Chinese than figuring out how to navigate this Windows 8 nonsense.  I guess there will be a lot of YouTube Windows 8 tutorials in my future.  As long as I don’t have to give a 15-minute oral presentation on the downfall of civilization after Windows 8 installation, I’ll be totally okay.

 

12 Comments

Filed under School

12 responses to “All Hail The Whimp…

  1. Probably a good idea to ease your schedule anyway. Odd request from a teacher though.

  2. That’s definitely saying something if you would rather eat off a toilet seat than speak. Good luck with the computer. When we got our new laptop I had a hard time with the new Windows too. Still have a hard time one year later. But I am technically challenged. Have a good day and good luck in the other two classes.

  3. Louisa

    I think dropping that class and taking it one step at a time is a smart one, actually.
    If you put on too much of a load too soon, you won’t do well at any of the classes or have enough time to take care of you. Especially if you are stressed out each week with the oral presentation. Two classes while working and getting in some good exercise is a very do-able schedule. Slow and steady wins the race.

    In our (now 16 yr old) daughter’s high school curriculum, she has to read a classic each week, do an essay on it, and read it in class. This years course load is pretty heavy but she has risen to the challenge and is ahead in all her classes so it must not be too much for her. Today, is their first day back from their holiday break. She didn’t even HAVE to go today ( it will be more like a review day for her ) but she wanted to go. Some of her classmates are struggling but they aren’t as internally motivated either.
    Her Shakespeare presentation was also done in front of the class and orally. She was going to do it alone but one of her classmates asked to do it with her. I wasn’t sure how that was going to work out. Skeptical, I know. They got together and hammered out the report together. Our daughter did the reference page and all the visual aids and was the only one to dress up in the era for the presentation though. It made the difference. They got all the points allowed.
    I think it is probably good to have them building their confidence now doing reports and presentations written & oral so they are prepared for college and careers.

    Now she is talking about studying for her driver’s permit and getting a party-time job.
    …sigh….
    ( growing up so fast )

    • I agree with you, Louisa. Very impressive that your daughter went all out for her presentation! She sounds like she’s a hard worker… and that will definitely only help her in her life! Sad that she’s growing up so fast, though! Enjoy these years!

  4. cl2

    I’m kind of curious who your professor was for the class you dropped. My daughter graduated in history and she had a professor she loved, but my daughter likes public speaking. She must take after her father. Have fun with the computer!!

    • His last name was Blackstock… this was an English class, but it could probably have counted as a history class too! I will have to hire your daughter to do any kind of public speaking I have to do if she enjoys it!!

  5. Dessawade

    Tough week but it’s behind you now and onward and upward!

  6. Alena

    I would totally have dropped that class too! Sounds awful! However, I would do any kind of public speaking before I would ever eat off of a toilet seat 🙂 Good luck with the new computer!

    • Haha!! I think if it actually came down to me choosing between the 2, I’d probably be with you in the public speaking thing… but it’s very effective to sell my aversion to all things public speaking! I keep remembering when we were teenagers and they had that speaking conference at the stake center and we all had to either give a prepared talk or an impromptu talk. I about wet myself!

Leave a Reply

