Extremes…

You know how when you have 8000000000 things to do, including 800000000 things of homework, but instead you sit in front of the computer staring at cute animal pictures for 3 hours and get nothing done!?  Welcome to my world… but darnit if that cat riding the donkey weren’t cute!

I’m in the midst of participating in the DietBet extravaganza, where I put money into a pot with a bunch of other participants and then work to lose 4% of my body weight in a month!  What was I thinking!?  Actually, I have to say… if you’re a cheap wad like I am, this is the best kind of motivation.  Ain’t no way I’m gonna be losing 50 precious bucks to some stranger in Maryland, so darn tootin’ I’m going to be sticking to that eating/exercise plan like Bieber Fever fans in front of the courthouse.  I will always refuse to call it a “die”t because those don’t work.  It’s calorizing… less calories in… more calories burned with exercise.  End of story.

I’ve been impressed at my willpower the last 2 weeks… it’s been as strong as a…. uhhhh… thing that is strong.  I’m having trouble stringing thoughts together in this brain of mine tonight… so pretend like I’m being all eloquent and queenly and such when in reality Beavis wrote this here post.  It pays to be frugal!

In the meantime, this is old news since it happened on Tuesday of this past week and in this day and age something’s old news before someone famous gets arrested.  Did anyone watch The Biggest Loser finale?  I have to admit I didn’t watch this season.  I watched the first episode and then I watched the finale because it’s always fun to see what the contestants look like after weight loss.  This particular season finale has been wrought with controversy!  The winner, Rachel, lost 60% of her body weight in just a few short months’ time.  She went from one extreme, overweight to the other extreme, underweight.

This was Bob and Jillian’s (2 of the 3 trainers) reactions when she first came out.

She admitted that all she did from the time she got home from the ranch until the day of the finale was do cardio exercise 24/7.  I guess no one can blame her, though.  The premise of this show is jacked up.  Some competetive people will go to all sorts of extremes to win a quarter of a million dollars when it’s dangled in front of them.  I can’t imagine, since her weight loss happened over the course of a few months, that it was in any way healthy weight loss, but she has her a quarter of a million dollars now… so that’s all that matters… right?

It’s kind of like they trade one addiction (food) for another (extreme exercise).  I wish her the best.  She seems like a sweet girl and I hope she has many years of happy in her new body.

Question of the Day:  Did anyone watch the Biggest Loser finale?  Thoughts?  

PS – If you are reading this, my friend, Audrey… I just wanted you to know that I am sending you thoughts and prayers and hugs during this difficult time.  I’m sorry for your loss and hope you will be surrounded by those you love.  Take care, sweet lady.

14 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Diet

14 responses to “Extremes…

  1. Louisa

    No, I didn’t watch EWL. I can’t say that I am a fan.

    Stay warm and keep movin’.

    Louisa

  2. Mama Tia

    I am not a TV watcher, but my husband is and just happened across that finale of TBL. We were shocked when that gal appeared and weighed in. She somehow dwindled away to nothing, especially her arms, and I am not sure she is the right role model for those watching and looking for inspiration. But that’s just my opinion!

    I wish you well with your money-in-the-pot endeavor. You deserve the big bucks half Whit!

  3. Jennifer Nelson

    I don’t watch that show but that is definitely extreme weight loss if you ask me. Hope she can maintain it in a healthy less extreme way. But it probably was worth it for the money.

  4. Avster

    You can do it, Whit! I’d be in the same exact boat as you too. I wouldn’t want to give up my money without a fight so it would be a huge motivator for me!

    As for TBL, no, I don’t watch it.

  5. Dessawade

    Tons of controversy over TBL girl – I don’t think that’s the picture TBL wants portrayed. YOU CAN DO THIS WHIT! Justin think you might win a quarter of a million dollars too:)

  6. Alena

    Sometimes it pays to be cheap 🙂 Way to look for a way to motivate yourself!

  7. Tara Spence

    My sister LOVES that show and we watched a few seasons with her. The show didn’t bother me until this past little while when my ten year old son started saying he is fat. He is a completely normal boy; I don’t see any fat on his body! But hearing him say that breaks my heart. I am not saying the show is to blame but part of me wonders if it is a factor. I love reading your stuff though! You are a true inspiration!!

    • I totally agree with you Tara! I don’t like the way the Biggest Loser does things… at all. I’ve blogged about it several times in the past. I don’t usually watch… just like to see what they look like at the end for motivation! I

Leave a Reply

