Oh Fall…

Now that I’m a year older in people years, but in my imaginary brain years I’m at least 10 years younger and wear a princess tiara, whoops… too many ibuprofen, I feel it is necessary that I become more adult like and start pulling out teeth more often.  So, on my actual birthday, I scheduled an appointment with a dentist to have a tooth root dug out.  I don’t know what I was thinking… in my head I was sure it would be a 10-minute event and then I’d be home eating a steak and par-taying to my geezer heart’s content.  Negative on the steak… I haven’t gone that far in my once-a-week-meat-eating adventures.  Keep the cowbells in the pasture, please!  The truth of the matter, the day before when I was dutifully brushing my teeth, the dead tooth that I knew I was supposed to have had pulled out for a couple of months before that just broke off.  Like literally broke all the way off down to the base, leaving three stems of roots stuck up in my gum.  Quality.  So, due to the fact that I had a horrid taste in my mouth from the rotting tooth and also the fact that we were heading into a weekend (apparently most dentist offices do not work on Friday… or Saturday or Sunday), I only had one choice for a day to get it pulled out… Thursday, my birthday.  But that didn’t matter because it would only be a 10-minute affair and unicorns and gumdrops would fall from the ceiling as I galloped out into the world at the completion.

Ninety minutes later, after enduring several drillings into my gum bones and digging with some doo hickey with a sharp tip, and after almost biting off the dentist’s fingers 12 times, I was crawling out of the dentist on hands and knees bleeding out the corners of my mouth.  See what a quality picture I paint for appetizing lunch hour purposes?  Who wants tomater soup for dinner!?  Blast you gum drop molar forest!  Blast you!  Also, Berger gene tooth issues… BLAST YOU!!  Meanwhile I’m pretty sure I’ve developed dry socket, having experienced the pleasantness of the dry socket when I got my wisdom teeth removed, I know the symptoms… which means packing the dried out socket with a nasty-tasting clove mixture and many months of severe pain are in my future.  BUT… on the bright side… if for Christmas I want hot Wassail… all I’d have to do is pour hot water into my mouth and swish it around with the clove mixture pack.  Voila!  Insta-nastiness!

But, back to the topic… Fall… Fall is my favorite!  It should just stay fall until March and then go directly to Spring… think about it Mother Nature… that’s all I ask!

Totes my deer friends…

10 Comments

Filed under Life

10 responses to “Oh Fall…

  1. deanna

    Your pictures are beautiful. How do you get just great color?

    • Aunt D… it is so easy. Google Picasa and then download it for free. All I do is use the Boost or saturation button and the sharpen button and that’s it. I’d be happy to walk you through it sometime.

  2. I love the picture with clouds. Your teeth experience sounds rough. Hopefully it gets better quick.

  3. Avster

    That stinks about your tooth, Whit! Love the photos! 🙂

  4. Karen

    Belated happy birthday. Lovely pictures, so many look as if they are out our back yard. I cringe at the description of the tooth. I am terrible about dentist. Do not even sit in a recliner because it reminds me of going to a dentist. Have a happy day!

  5. Alena

    Oh my gorgeous fall pictures! I just want to frame them all and put them on my walls!!! I am totally for having fall until March! So sorry about your tooth issues–that sounds absolutely awful!! Maybe next year for your birthday you can just get dentures 😉

    • HA!!! I keep seeing commercials for Clear Choice Dental and how happy these people with implanted teeth are. Makes me want to just get it all over with at once! We will have to do our road trip eat the states in the fall! How cool would that be?

Leave a Reply

