Turkey-Giving… Annual Thankful Post…

Well, it’s that time of year again… the time of year where I quit my negativity woe-is-me rampage and be publicly thankful for all of 12 seconds.  It’s my 12 seconds of fame, except without the fame and frankly this thing is going to take longer than 12 seconds to type so I have no earthly idea what the holy jib jab I’m talking about!  If you read my thankful post last year… you can stop reading now because I’m pretty much thankful for a lot of the same things.  I mean, wouldn’t you be?  I guess I could throw in some off-the-beaten-path thankfulnesses, like the fact that I’m thankful for my new owly owl sheets that I bought one night when my tooth root was burgeoning up through my skull and attacking my eyeballs from the outside.  I giggle like a 13-year-old psychopatient every time I climb into my owly owl sheets… it makes me glee with gleefulness!  No matter that I most likely bought them from the children’s section of the website.  Stop it… I’m practically a baby!

I could also be thankful for the fact that I do not live in Buffalo, New York this past week.  I’ve been to Buffalo, New York… it is a beautiful place with Niagara Falls falling all over the joint, but seven feet of snow and possible flooding whilst waving at Noah on his Ark!?  HECK TO THE N-O-P-E!  I mean Noah is a great guy, but I’ll wait to meet him.  Also, Buffalo… I just want to let you know that you are welcome to any snow Utah may get from now through July 2015.  Welcome to it!  My klutz gene will thank you.

I’m thankful for my family, immediate and extended and even the fact that we possibly drive each other crazy on a regular basis because seriously… how not fun would family dinners be without a little bit of psycho.  I’m thankful that they put up with me on occasions, even if they are happy to make it known to me and the world that they are over my 15,000 “issues”.  Join the club!

I am thankful for sweet friends, both old (old as in long ago and far away, not old as in geezery) and new.  If you are reading this… I’m talking to you!  I am thankful for the sweet and generous people you are and the great examples you are for me, a girl occasionally lost in the world of her own brainlessness.

I am thankful for this beautiful beautiful beautiful world we live in and the fact that I have been blessed with the ability to appreciate the nature surrounding me.  There are many moments where I’ve stood in front of a view that has taken my breath away… and I say a silent prayer of thanks to God, the ultimate painter extraordinare!

I am thankful for a job and the ability to go to school again.  I’d also be thankful if we could fast forward approximately 3 weeks and I could be done with finals and my 7 billion projects I’ve procrastinated all semester!  Stop it…

I am thankful for my health.  There are days where I feel like I’m a slug on the underside of a donkey hoof, but when I think of how so many others suffer with illnesses and issues that I have not had to face, I can only be grateful.

I am thankful for second chances… and third and fourth and oh heck… let’s face it… 5 millionth chances.

I am thankful for a knowledge of life after death and a sweet picture in my mind’s eye of all of my passed-on relations sitting around a dinner table together eating carrot Jell-O and chicken and noodles with French bread.  I’m thankful for the knowledge that we will all see each other again and I can whoop them all in a mean game of Heavenly Checkers.

I am thankful for music.  Music that soothes my soul… music that has lifted me up and soared me on the wings of a DoDo Bird (but before they were extinct).  I have been blessed with the ability to get lost in a melody… in a lyric… It has soothed me in times of trial and disappointment.  It has the power to make happy moments happier and sad moments more meaningful.  Ode to Joy!

Did I mention I was thankful for my owly owl sheets!?  Because seriously…

I could go on and on and on… but I’ve hit my limit of 12 seconds of fame and I really have an appointment to meet with my owly owl sheets.  So, carry on with your days my sweet friends.

Happy Thanksgiving!  Travel safe and eat pie… and most importantly, do not read the article I just read about turkeys being recalled this year because they are all infected with an avian flu virus epidemic.  Eight years I didn’t eat as much as a spec of turkey flesh… this past 2 weeks I’ve eaten it twice!  The odds are that I’ve jinxed the turkey population.  My apologies, turkey lovers!

11 Comments

Filed under Family, Life

11 responses to “Turkey-Giving… Annual Thankful Post…

  1. Jen

    Lots to be thankful for. I suppose Grams would be cooking everyone carrot jello and chicken noodles up in heaven. I hope I’m celiac free in heaven so I can eat it too. I’m jealous of your owl sheets by the way.

  2. Louisa

    We all have so much to be thankful for.
    Happy Thanksgiving, Whitney!

  3. Avster

    Given your live owly experience having owly sheets makes me giggle a bit. 🙂

  4. Alena

    Whit, thank you for your post. You have an amazing ability to make me both laugh and cry seconds apart! 🙂 Have a great Thanksgiving!

  5. march102006

    Great post! Recently in my Institute class our teach challenged me to buy a cheap Book of Mormon (the $3) one and read it by studying the Index and Topical Guide on the subject of Jesus Christ and mark each scripture. This has helped me to appreciate our Savior as well as help me to build a closer and better relationship with my Savior.

    The next challenge she gave was to buy another cheap Book of Mormon and listen to each him in the hymn book one by one and read the scriptures related to that hymn and mark them in the Book of Mormon. This will be a BIG challenge but I will take it on!

    I am grateful for the challenge to know my Savior for myself and be able to testify of Him while all around us the world is second guessing if “Mormons” believe in Jesus Christ or are Christians. I can know testify to this !

    Thanks for sharing this post.

Leave a Reply

