Recommendations Of (In)Sanity…

Floor boy is no more.  Insert sadface.  However will I make it through the entire Spanish class without such entertainment!?  He didn’t go without parting words, though… which the teacher actually typed up and included in her lecture during the next class… apparently he had that much pull.  They were something to the effect:  Remember:  The word “burro” in Spanish means both donkey and ironing board.  Don’t be like me and picture ironing on a donkey during the test.  Also, don’t be like me and give up.  I think those words came too late for most of us burros.  We started the class with 20 students total.   As of this typing, we have a grand total of 7, including myself!  Either I need to take 3 showers a day because they can smell me all over the state of Utah or this class be too much work and studying for the state of Utah.  I’d tend to agree… Español es muy dificíl.  Tambíen Whitney no es muy inteligente.  I took my mid-term this past Monday and wracked my brain so hard for 2-1/2 hours I’m pretty sure all the cranium fluid is gone… never again to be replaced!  Whatever happened to open book tests for geezer college students?  Scientifically, I’ve been losing brain storage space since I was a baby… what with all the new things crammed in the thing.  I have a whole section of brain dedicated to jelly bean flavors, for crying outloud!

As a gift for completing my mid-term on the first day of spring break, the lovely parking police gave me a ticket and a bunch of attitude. Oh no you just didn’t!  Spring break usually means no students on campus and a lot fewer teachers who need parking spaces… and the lot I parked in was large and completely empty when I parked in it… with a total of 3 cars when I returned.  Of course I wore my stanky, I’m-so-annoyed-at-you face the whole time I was paying for the ticket.  See if they ever give me a ticket on spring break again!  Note to self:  Don’t tempt fates… park at home and walk 3 miles.

In other recommendations… I went to the movie, McFarland, USA this weekend!  What a charmingly, inspirational true story.  I’m a sucker for a true story.  Of course it was the predictable inspirational sports movie… hard-working dudes who no one thought could amount to anything, eventually win… blah, blah, blah… and the peasants rejoice!  But, those are the kinds of things that bring out the goose pimples and the rooting for the underdog in a person… or maybe it’s the swelling music that does it for me.  Go root for Danny Diaz, the slightly overweight runner who whooped the more fit boys on the hills… or Thomas Valles, the head-strong, overworked runner extraordinaire!  Your heart will swell three times larger that day!   All the burros in the land agree!

10 Comments

Filed under School

10 responses to “Recommendations Of (In)Sanity…

  1. Avster

    Well…. you know… there might be an advantage to walking to schoool…. like a broken back from carrying the books. :b

  2. Dessa Wade

    Ditto about the McFarland USA movie. You couldn’t help but root for Danny and it was a great feel good movie. You didn’t tell everyone what your grade was Whit, you should have bragged about that. Good job for sticking it out, you’ll be glad you did. Maybe you’ll get some kind of award for doing so.

  3. Louisa

    I am glad you made it through the mid-term. Good job!
    I want to see McFarland USA when it comes out on video.

  4. Too bad about floor boy. I’ll have to see that movie. It sounds good. Yay for being done with midterms.

  5. Alena

    Wowzers on the Spanish class! And it sounds like, according to your madre, that you did great too! Way to go, Idaho! I think my brain must be full with important info like jelly bean flavors too 🙂 Thanks for the movie recommendation–I’ll have to put it on my list.

Leave a Reply

