El Zone-o de Comforto…

Spanglish is the best language said the gringo in the back of the class.

I’ve mentioned how much I adore my comfort zone.  It’s a beautiful place… in my imagination… all decked out in pillows made of pizza (except… no thanks… how uncomfortably gross would that be… wiping off marinara sauce every time you lay down)!  But it’s a pretty zone… somewhere in nature with waterfalls and sunny days chasing the clouds away (five points for whomever can name that song) and trees… gotta have some trees… except they’re birdless in my imagination… either that or the birds do not have a digestive system… because seriously!  There are a few people in my imaginative zone of comfort, but not a ton of people… gotta have some hyperventilating room up in that there joint.

On the edge of my comfort zone lives a mean ogre named Anxiet-eetodd.  He’s ogre-ish because if I happen to cross that line between the comfort and the not-so-comfort, he is waiting with a keg of sugar and an all-you-can-eat Italian smorgasbord.  Stupid ogre.  That’s what happens when you are an emotional eater… rather than deal with the emotion, you eat it away, which is only good for Anxiet-eetodd because he works on commission from the Pillsbury Doughboy… and all I get is a wagon full of lard sauce.

I’ve had a number of comfort zone-crushing moments the last several years.  It’s a good thing to get out of one’s comfort zone, and I need to think of it that way.  Not only will it get me to try new things, but it will also make me face what I hate to face… how to get through feeling an emotion without stuffing it down.

My latest challenge… dancing… in public… with people around!  Close your eyes and picture me dancing.  When you finish laughing your aspercreme off, I’ll let you know it’s exactly as you imagined it.  Somehow, I… Whitney of the Zumba In the Dark With The Blinds Closed… am dancing for the curtain call in the aforementioned Mary Poppins shindig.  I knew they’d rue the day they decided to invite me into their web of talent!  😛  It’s still not too late to back out, FSTC!  I hope there’s a particularly darkened corner somewhere on the stage with my name on it.  We learned part of the Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious dance this week, where-in Whitney nearly took out the whole back row with her skills.  I’ve been practicing it a little bit every single day since.  The steps aren’t that hard once you get them down, it’s the speed at which we have to do them.  If one of the cute smaller dancers twirls around, it’s like they’re walking around a pole.  If I twirl around, I’m at least walking around a block with change.  I’m leaving the dance moves below in the video for your perusal.  Someone who knows how to do the Mexican tequila bean dance on caffeine, jump inside my skin until July would ya’?  😛

Any tips, fellow dancers? (sorry, I couldn’t say that with a straight face… the “fellow dancers” part!)

T

8 Comments

Filed under Getting A Life, Mary Poppins

8 responses to “El Zone-o de Comforto…

  1. cl2

    Dancing is not my thing. I can’t believe all the things you do! I love the picture. Where is it?

    • Hi Colleen! It’s on the Logan River Trail south of town… the one that follows along the golf course. It’s a nice little walk. A mile one way and then I have to walk back to my car, so I can get 2 to 4 miles in on that thing.

  2. Dessa Wade

    You’ll get it Whitney – it will become second nature to you if you keep it up. Gosh, I already have it down after only one practice:) HAHAHA Good for you for pressing forward

  3. Alena

    Wowzers! I’ve been known to make aerobics into a contact sport, if that helps you feel better about your own dancing abilities. I’m super impressed with your jumping out of your comfort zone. And I love your picture!!!

    • You should be in this here play and we’d be great dance comrades… although I can guarantee your contact sport dancing is 12 times better looking than my zero coordination dancing! 😛

  4. You owe me $5.00 it’s Sesame Streeet…..TAKE THAT! You will nail those dance moves and next performance will be something in a swimsuit! 🙂 Who knows right?

Leave a Reply

