This and That and Jonah Days…

I’m feeling less than inspired to think of putting sentences together in an orderly fashion tonight… and there are zero coherent thoughts running through my brain right about now… unless you count the one about Mary’s little lamb joining the shearing club whilst carrying a machine gun.  That’s a normal day in my neighborhood.

If you follow me on Facebook, you can ignore this paragraph since I’ve already waxed something other than poetic about this particular topic.  Saturday the world learned that we lost Jonathan Crombie, aka Gilbert Blythe.  He was only 48.  As Anne would say, It was such a Jonah day!  This generation has Edward and Bella (or whatever their names are… I haven’t actually seen or read the Twilight books… shoot me).  My generation had Anne and Gilbert… a love story for the ages.  I’ve been a huge Anne of Green Gables fan since the age of 5 when my mom read me the abridged version of the first book.  It was love at first listen.  A few years later I watched the made-for-television movies and the characters I had grown to love in the books were brought to life, and I now had a face to put to each character.  Jonathan Crombie played Gilbert Blythe beautifully and a crush was born at the age of 7.  He portrayed the ideal man, and a throng-full of pre-teen/teen brace-wearers swooned into their Cheerios at the thought of him… or at least the character he played.  Rest in peace, Jonathan, my first movie boyfriend.

****

In other news… on Wednesday we got a foot of snow.  This winter has been mild.  We started out promising in December/early January but then the clouds dried up and we had very few snowstorms.  In an attempt to make up for the drought, came this lil’ gift on tax day… I told you no good comes from tax day!

But thank you for the water reserves!

***

Four Seasons Theatre Company put out some of their Mary Poppins advertising.  FYI:  If you were wondering who the perfect person to play Mary Poppins was, look no further… Sarah Huff won… She was born to play the part and you pretty much don’t want to miss her!  She even looks like Mary… see below.  I got to watch a very rough draft of most of the first act on Saturday whilst waiting for my scene’s turn… it was supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

Clickety Clack on over to like their Facebook page:  Four Seasons Theatre Company

Meanwhile… if anyone can give me a case of Jack Daniels I might be able to loosen the helium balloons up in the acting department.  I’m too self-conscious, but I do a great impression of a stiff, board-like boulder.  Any tips on how to get out of one’s head and become one with the character?

14 Comments

Filed under Life

14 responses to “This and That and Jonah Days…

  1. That’s very sad about Gilbert. He was very handsome and that was a good movie. I really want to see your show in Mary Poppins.

  2. Louisa

    WOW a foot of snow!
    We don’t usually get snow after Easter here in MO. Even then it isn’t a FOOT.
    We are green green green here and the daffodils, and tulips are blooming and a few early iris too. The trees are dropping all the casings and budding out. My 14 yr old son’s grass mowing business is in full swing.

    That is sad about actor Jonathon Crombie. The NY Times said the cause was a brain hemorrhage. My 17 yr old daugther loved the Anne of Green Gables movies and his character. She will be sad he passed.

    I saw your name on the Cast List! Bird Woman: Whitney Wade
    CONGRATULATIONS! That is awesome!
    So proud of you woman!

  3. She really does look like Mary Poppins!

  4. Avster

    Wish I could make it to the play!

    The foot of snow looks nice! Seems as though we’ve gotten about a foot of rain the past few days. :b

  5. Dessa Wade

    Sad about Gilbert Blythe. He really was handsome. You’ll have to access your inner bird I guess Whitney:)

  6. Alena

    So sorry to hear of Gil’s passing–he definitely was a childhood crush 🙂 You have made me want to watch the Anne movies again. Mary Poppins looks fabulous–I just need my magic umbrella to carry me there. Yuck on the snow–although your picture does make it look beautiful 🙂

  7. Karen Smith

    When and where do Audrey and I get tickets? We will be cheering you one at least one night. You go girl!

Leave a Reply

