Adult Status…

You wouldn’t know it to look at me… okay, you’ve looked enough… but I’d consider myself a fairly picky eater.  There are just some foods I haven’t acquired a taste for no matter how many times I’ve eaten them… meat (bloody STEAK gives me the willies), fish, smelly cheeses, weird mushy things like cooked squash, bananas that aren’t green, and most things that shouldn’t be eaten in public anyway (FISH EGGS, I’M LOOKING AT YOU RICH PEOPLE)!  That’s the short list.  If you want to the read the long list said no one ever, consult with my 5-year-old self.

Blue cheese and some greens (i.e., the ones that taste like dirt) were on that list until I discovered the wonder that is Wendy’s strawberry fields and chicken salad.  Um… what!?!?  Basically they put down a bed of weird lettuces (by weird I mean anything that isn’t considered iceburg or romaine lettuce) and then top it with grilled chicken pieces, blue cheese crumbles, strawberries, and an apple vinagrette dressing.  Take me to heaven, Nancy Sinatra!   Whitney’s now eating and enjoying mold and dirt!  STOP THE PRESSES, FANNY PACK MAKERS!

Pretty sure this means I’m entering into a sphere of adulthood.  Only took me 30-some-odd years to cross it but I have a feeling if I keep this up, pretty soon I’ll be dancing around an alter I’ve made of prunes and arugula whilst moo-ing with my cowly bloody-steak-providing ancesters.  If you need me, check the caviar aisle.  Grey Poupon my rear receptacle! 

It’s a “limited edition” salad and also costs more than I like to spend on meals, so I attempted to make my own version.  Eh… it wasn’t the same, but it will do as a substitute.  Wendy’s must have magical salad-making fairies… either that or by the time I got done making and cutting up everything I was too tired to care about my homemade salad.  I’m going with option B.

10 Comments

Filed under Life

10 responses to “Adult Status…

  1. Salads are one of those food items that always taste better if someone other then yourself makes them. Not sure why either, but it seems to be that way.

  2. cl2

    I’m going to have to try it. Rumbi’s has a strawberry salad that is really good and Kneader’s has a raspberry salad that is really good.

  3. Dessa

    DELICIOUS! A salad would be my first choice on the lunch menu any old day.

  4. Alena

    Mmmm… Looks yummy!

  5. Louisa

    I love salads – any kind!

Leave a Reply

