Thanking My Lucky Clementines…

Y’all… run out to the nearest grocery bin and buy up all the Cutie clementines!  They are finally in season and mark my words when clementines are in season they are in season for approximately 52 minutes before the nastier Cutie mandarins come in and take their place.  I’ve held a grudge against the nastarins (nasty + mandarins = nastarins) since I figured out the sly trick they pull every year.  Right now I have 3 bags of clementines for me alone… will that be enough to last the whole winter?  NO!  I need more!  Someone check back with me in 2 weeks and ask me how many moldy rancid clementines I have.   Answer… at least 3 bags give or take how many more I buy between now and then in my panic to preserve clementine season.

***

It’s that time of year… the time of year I quit being crusty for 4-1/2 seconds and reminisce about the things I’m thankful for… this year and every year.  Again, broken record here, but I’m just going to point out that the things I’m thankful for every year rarely change.  Funny how that works.  I guess if I can continue being thankful for the same things year after year after year, that is only ever a good thing, and must mean that those things I’m thankful for every year are constants and not fleeting flash in the pan happinesses.  I’d say that requires another bag of clementines in celebration.  CLEMENTINES FOR EVERYONE!  Without further adieu, my thankfulnesses 2015 version, in no particular order.

I’m thankful for my family, for the people they are and the support they show me.  It’s nice to know that a group of wild hyenas have my back at all times… even if most of those times they may or may not want to stab me in it… understood… I’ve seen it all on 48 Hours: Mystery.  I’m thankful for my innocent sweet baby BoBo and his ability to bring us all together and make us all smile and remember what this life is all about.

 

Side note:  Madre is a serious baby BoBo hog and everyone on all sides of the family know what to do when she is around… tie her to the nearest chair and haul off to the next county with the baby in tow.

I’m thankful for sweet friends, those who I may not see or talk to on a regular basis, but when we do get together it’s like no time has passed at all.  I truly cherish the friendships I have made over the years and am thankful for all that you put up with to remain my pal.  CLEMENTINES FOR YOU ALL READING THIS!

I’m thankful for gifts and talents that I’ve been blessed with.  It’s easy for me to compare myself to others, and when I do I fall 8 billion miles short on all fronts, but I fail to remember that I’m here to be Whitney… unique in abilities and talents.  I’m a conglomeration of all the things God saw fit to bless me with, and to take those for granted would be doing a big disservice to my Heavenly Father and to myself.  I’m thankful for my ability to become one with a song, one with the lyrics and the music until it’s like I’m living whatever journey the song is taking me on.  I’m thankful for my interpretive skills and for the joy, peace, and comfort that singing brings me.  I recently did a 45-minute singing and nondancing program at the Maple Springs Assisted Living in Brigham City a week or so ago.  I found myself griping about feeling flustered trying to get off work, and drive the 30+ miles each way in the middle of a work day.  Madre asked why I always say yes, and it was only then it hit me… because that’s where I get my joy.  Those sweet assisted living folks aren’t the benefactors, I am.  So, thank  you for indulging me and letting me find my joy on occasion.  In the meantime, I’ll sit down and shut up on the griping front.

I am thankful for a God who is quite the painter of beauty.  The nature that he blesses us all with, ever changing with the seasons, is something that I never get tired of looking at… and attempting to photograph on my 0.000000555 pixel camera phone.  My majestic mountains that let me know I’m home… the trees like tall spindly kindred spirits.  One of my favorite things to do is to watch the clouds.  Those fluffy balls of cotton roaming amidst an ocean of blue sky bring me so much peace.

I’m thankful for my freedom and the ability I have to geezerify my way through college at the ripe old age of 20 plus 90.  I’m also grateful that there is now a light at the end of my neverending schooling tunnel.  When I first began 4 or 5 years ago now,  I was overwhelmed by how long it was going to take me to finish only going part time so that I could also work full time.  The thought of it made me want to quit on the spot, but I’ve stuck with it.  I’ve surpassed every negative “can’t do it” thought and busted my way through to near completion… me, the girl who is known for starting things but never finishing them.

I’m thankful for a job, a roof over my head (even if I daydream way too often about a place of my own), food on the table (too much of it most times, but food nonetheless), my best kitty Lucy-Fur (even if she’s annoying the heck out of me at nights now that it is getting cold and she wants in and out of the house 1200 times per night).  I’m grateful to live in a country where we have access to clean water and education and freedoms that some countries don’t even get to dream of.

I’m thankful for so many more things, but this is getting long and my eyes are getting heavy, so I’ll stop here for now.  I’m thankful for all of you!  Now, go out and buy you some dagnabbed clementines!

*****

Makayla and Corbin and I played a game of… uh… who knows?  Pretty sure there were no rules until I broke one, and then they made sure to announce the new rule on the spot!

I’d also like to introduce you to a special guest we had to dinner tonight.  An original cast member from the Ten Commandments movie wearing her costume and everything!!!  For those of you who consider my mom a fashionista, I’d like to introduce you to her Sunday evening attire…

 

I rest my case…

Baby BoBear has discovered hims cute tongues…

Happy THANKSGIVING this week y’all!  If you’re traveling, do it safely.  If you’re not traveling, eat some turkey wearing Madre’s Sundee finest in her honor!

9 Comments

Filed under Life, Little Things, Uncategorized

9 responses to “Thanking My Lucky Clementines…

  1. And I’m glad that I have a an awesome, crazy, sarcastic friend who is Whitty Woo.

  2. Louisa

    Awe BoBear is a cutie and I love his laugh and smile. Its funny when they stick out their tongue when they are babies and also when they make the motor noise with their lips. I love the stage when they find their feet.
    Yes, we all have a lot to be thankful for.
    HAPPY THANKSGIVING Y’ALL!!

  3. Alena

    Whitney, what a wonderful post! Thank you for your beautiful words and pictures–what a great way for me to start a Monday morning! Thank you for your friendship and sharing your amazing gifts of writing and photography and humor and music (whenever I am lucky enough to get to hear it😊)! You’re amazing friend! I had a hard time posting last week (sometimes I am challenged😜), but I have 2 couches and would love to adopt you!! Please!! Ok,I better go get me a bag of those Clementines☺Happiest of Thanksgivings, friend!

    • My sweet friend, ditto all that back to you. I hope they grow Clementines in Botswana where you live… if they don’t, you give me a holler and I’ll bring 10 cases up when I come to live on one of your couches!

  4. Dessa

    Lovely thoughts Whitney!

  5. Those are some awesome photos. Especially like Baby Bourne and his tongue. I’m surprised Dessa isn’t wearing her mumu. I guess it’s too cold.

Leave a Reply

