The Passion For Sprinter…

Y’all… it’s that time of year again, the time of year where the weather decides to go all apetastic trying to decide which season it’s going to be. Sprinter = Spring plus Winter… ta da. The beginning of the week last week there was snow and cold wind for several days in a row, by the weekend, we were pushing 50-60 and sunny… Tuesday it’s back down to 30-40 and rainy/snowy. It’s like weather whiplash, except with less involved necks and other body parts. I thought I could go out on my walks wearing a light jacket… and then the cold wind whipped me across the face like an angered hooker on the Jerry Spring show and told me a thing or twelve. THE HUMANITY! Yes, I do realize this happens every year and yes I do realize it’s nothing new, but each year it’s like a whole brand new surprise for me… kind of like my parents telling me every year (still) that there is no Santa Claus… WHAT!?!?!? You’ve got to be kidding me! I saw the reindeer tracks!!!!!

In other news, tonight we watched my-much-anticipated-even-if-everyone-else-was-making-fun-of-me, “The Passion: New Orleans Live”! What is The Passion: Live? It is a live musical telling the story of the happenings of Jesus days before his death and resurrection, but in modern times and using modern rock/pop music and clothes and hairstyles and… you get the picture. Some people said that telling this sacred story using modern things was disrespectful. My opinion… a story about love and kindness and selflessness, no matter how it’s portrayed, needs to be told… and often. This story juxtaposed amidst the 12,000 ranting political commercials where there was enough bashing and name-calling to fill a whole Jerry Springer season made the lame-bot political commercials 10 times more trivial and ridiculous and unnecessary! Have I mentioned how much I love election season!?!? Good… because I DON’T!

I bought the soundtrack on Friday when it came out and listened to it on my cold whipping wind walking session, and I teared up approximately 15 times walking down the road. I’m a sucker for those emotional lyrics, and even if these songs were modern songs, most written with no thought to the story of Jesus, the lyrics fit each situation perfectly… so perfectly that it made me wonder if the writers had subliminally written the song with The Passoin in mind… back in the 90s and 2000s. As an example, one of the songs sung by Trisha Yearwood who played Mary, Mother of Jesus was “Broken” originally written and sung by the band Lifehouse. She sang the song at the foot of the cross having to watch her son suffering…

I’m falling apart, I’m barely breathing
With a broken heart that’s still beating
In the pain there is healing
In your name I find meaning
So I’m holdin’ on, I’m holdin’ on, I’m holdin’ on
I’m barely holdin’ on to you

By the end of the song, having gotten caught up in the emotion of it all, Trisha’s voice was on the verge of breaking as she tried to hold back her tears.

There was the song “Bring Me To Life” originally sung by Evanescence taken on by American Idol alum, Chris Daughtery who was playing the betraying disciple Judas.

How can you see into my eyes like open doors?
Leading you down into my core where I’ve become so numb
Without a soul my spirit’s sleeping somewhere cold
Until you find it there and lead it back home

Wake me up inside
Wake me up inside
Call my name and save me from the dark
Bid my blood to run
Before I come undone
Save me from the nothing I’ve become

Perfectly portraying the struggle within himself.  Other standouts were Seal as Pontius Pilate singing “Mad World” after he washed his hands of the decision to have Christ put to death and Jencarlos Canela as Jesus singing the Katy Perry tune, “Unconditionally” after he was resurrected.

Unconditional, unconditionally
I will love you unconditionally
There is no fear now
Let go and just be free
I will love you unconditionally

My complaints… breaking away to commercial, breaking away to the reporter interviewing some of the group of people carrying the 300-pound cross through downtown New Orleans, and some of the narration took mew away from the story and the music some… but those are nitpicky things.  Anyway, before I wax more non-poetic, I’m shutting the trap.  Check out the soundtrack and/or watch the show when it comes out on NetFlix in a few days.

QUESTION OF THE DAY:  Did anyone else see The Passion?  If so, what are your thoughts on it all? 

***

Hi everybody… I BoBo… my mommy is a big nerd putting these curlers all over me… but they sure are tasty!

Now I eating prunes cause I have 2 teethins now!

Happy Sprinter friends!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The Passion For Sprinter…

  1. eee Prunes… about as bad as avocados! 😉

    Nope, never seen The Passion.

  2. Louisa

    Hi Whitney!
    Yes, we are having “Sprinter” here too in Missouri.
    We have gotten up in the 70’s on a few days and back down in the 30’s on others. My poor daffodils and crocus are blooming through it all and our grass is bright Spring green and needing to have its first cut this week. Our trees are budding out and leaving those little casings all over the driveway and our vehicles. The horses are losing their winter fuzz by the bucket-load and our daughter already gave her horse his Spring haircut.

    Yes, I watched The Passion – LIVE from New Orleans last night. It was terrific. I didn’t know what to expect. That presentation might not be for everyone…it wasn’t for my husband, who doesn’t like that kind of music but the message was for everyone. I thought it was very well done. The narration, the traveling Cross, and the performances all were amazing. I don’t know how they did it LIVE and it sounded so good.

    Love the pic of Bo and his curlers….lol

    • Ah… Sprinter… if you don’t like the weather one day, wait 10 minutes! I’m glad you got to see The Passion and enjoyed it, Louisa. I’m always glad to have something uplifting to watch… especially if it includes talented singers and good music!

  3. Dessa

    Enjoyed the Passion but ditto about the commercials and reporter girl. It took away from the spirit. Love my little baby even with curlers on his head and prunes on his face.

Leave a Reply

