Change…

What’s that saying? The only thing that is constant is change? So, basically to sum it up be flexible and adapt. Not my strong suit, I admit. I’m more like the walrus at the edge of an iceberg who only moves because it melts and she falls into the ocean. That there is your morning imagery. Go out and pet you an unmovable walrus on this Monday morning!

About a week ago, I learned of something that will pretty well change my life as it has been now for the last about 13 years. We will be losing our biggest account at work (it’s going the way of technology and/or the big company is swallowing up the little company whole), so as of January I will have to find employment elsewhere. I knew it was coming. It was one of the big reasons I decided to go finish my bachelor’s degree, but it kind of hits you upside the head 3 ways when you actually hear it’s happening and now you have no choice but to move on. I’ve felt a gamut of emotions the last week; sadness, fear, and worry have been 3 of the biggest (stupid anxiety), but I’ve also felt tiny glimpses of curiosity at what my possibilities could be. There’s also been a lot of cluelessness about what my next step should be. I have one more semester before I graduate… so I feel like I have 6 months yet of feeling like I’m in limbo. I feel like it would just be a whole lot easier if God handed me a platter with a list of instructions and was like… here you go, your next life adventure… take off and hang on tight. But since he doesn’t do that so much, I’ll just take it one day at a time and figure things out as best I can as I go.

I’ve also had a strong worry that the prejudice some employers have over hiring a person who is overweight, stereotyping them as lazy and unhealthy, will make it much harder for me to secure something I can live on. I will pray God leads me to those who are open-minded and fair. I appreciate my boss who has tried hard for years to keep us all in work, and I know that has come with a lot of worry and hard work on her part. Thank you, Alene for these last 13 years!

In the meantime… if anyone hears of any possible job openings, y’all give me a holler… my specialty is chocolate and cheese tasting, but I can adapt to other things too… like cookies and cake. 😛 Weight problem jokes y’all… for the love of salad!


Hey erryone… I does some workouts!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Change…

  1. KK

    There is a job opening in my house for official baby diaper changer. 😀

  2. dessawade@gmail.com

    You’ve got this Whitney! God will put people in your way that will love you as much as we do.

  3. Louisa

    I think you have done a fantastic job of securing your future by going back to school. I will pray that God opens a new window for you to explore and that brings you even further out into the light. After all your light is bright and your blessings are many.

  4. Bourne is a fit little dude. I am sure the future will only get brighter for you. It may not be as soon as you want or how you want, but it will work out. Hang in there. I will pray for you. And let you know if I hear of anything her in the Burque.

  5. Alena

    Yikes–change can be so hard! We could just move to Hawaii and be beach bums! Of course, we’d have to talk Lindsay into letting us take Bourne with us, because he is so adorable. Well, that probably won’t work, so maybe you could look for a job here in outer Siberia–I’ll get the rocking chair rocking for you. I’m sure you could get a cheese tasting job here! 😊 I hope good things come your way! Hey and you are almost done with school! Woot woot!

    • I’m in on this Hawaii plan… and I can steal BoBo no issues… nobody will notice until morning and by then I’ll be at least to the end of the driveway. As for the cheese taster in outer Siberia… sign me up. The benefits have got to be cheesy! Thanks, Friend.

Leave a Reply

